We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chateau room, bikes to ride, and great restaurant recommendations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Chateau des Tertres
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Onzain
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The folks here are really nice and helpful. The loaned bikes were great fun, and we had a nice long ride in the countryside, along the river, and into nearby villages. The hotel has menus of nearby restaurants, and gives recommendations, and makes bookings. Top notch. The grounds and surroundings are most pleasant. Our room was nice, with a view toward the front, but next time we would choose a larger more upscale room. What we had was good value for money. Breakfast was just fine for the price.
It is easy walking distance to the town and the road is quiet.

Room Tip: Choose an upscale room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oski80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvalois, Gérant at Hotel Chateau des Tertres, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at chateau des Tertres and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Yours Sincerely, Bernard & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 140 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

the hotel was beutiful and the people in the reception were very nice and helpful.the garden was beutiful.
the problam was the room. they gave us room in the pavilon- not in the chateau... the room was a big dissapoitment. we paid a lot in order to sleep in the chateau not to sleep in the service room!!!
the breakfast was poor. althogh they were nice, we took bicycles from the hotel and they gave us map for the trip which was great.
i recomand to visit the hotel but take care to order roon in the chateau and not in the pavilon.

Room Tip: take room in the chataeu and not in the pavilon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liron s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Lovely small Chateau in a rural setting within its own wooded grounds.Very peaceful. Ask for a room at the front with a view over the open countryside. Smallish room and a very small bathroom, but don't be put off, it's worth every Euro. Only 10 minutes or less to the International Garden Festival at The Chateau de Chaumont which is excellent and well worth the visit.
The hotel reception was friendly, and gave a warm welcome. Definately recommended.

Room Tip: Get a front facing room to have lovely open views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stationmastershouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvalois, Gérant at Hotel Chateau des Tertres, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at chateau des Tertres and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Yours Sincerely, Bernard & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed for 3 days in September. The chateau is beautifully decorated with wonderful antique furniture and really stunning specially commissioned silk and satin embroideries on the wall and as curtains. Floors are beautifully polished with big rugs. it is spotlessly clean. it is set in a large and charming garden and woodlands, with bicycles to borrow. There were little deer nibbling acorns under the trees during the evening while we were there. We were upgraded to a really lovely room. Bed was a good size, clean and comfortable. Sheets and towels are high quality fairtrade and lovely thick cotton. Toiletries are eco friendly. The breakfast is tasty and plentiful - cereal, croissants, baguettes, bio yoghurts, home made curd cheese ,cheese and ham, organic fruit and honey made at the chateau. It is a silence hotel, so really relaxing and a great base to tour the famous chateaus in the area as well as Tours, Amboise and Orleans. The staff were really lovely. We wanted to practice French and they entered into it with spirit, although they do have good English themselves. The welcome was really warm and friendly, and carried through all our visit. The breakfast lady was also cheery and friendly. I left my jumper in the garden (too relaxed!) and it was retrieved and waiting for me at reception with our room number on our return from our day out. They answered all our questions with patience and knowledge. The only drawback is that you can't eat dinner at the hotel, but they have a big selection of menus to peruse and are very obliging in calling to make reservations for guests. Really one of the best places we have ever stayed and would definitely return for longer. There is an enormous amount to see and do in the area.

Room Tip: Our silver and blue room 5 was simply gorgeous and really special. Overlooked the front entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glendalough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvalois, Gérant at Hotel Chateau des Tertres, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at chateau des Tertres and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Yours Sincerely, Bernard & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The grounds are beautiful. The chateau building - mounted on a small hill - is entangled with vines and surrounded by forest. During our September visit the lawns were literally carpeted with pink and white blooming cyclamens.
Unfortunately the standard room we booked was a let down. Bed was very uncomfortable, short and springy. Bathroom was tiny: the sink had 1 foot diameter (!); when one sat on the toilet, the knees touched the wall; and the shower had a serous fungus problem...
Breakfast is just OK, for protein only cheese and yogurt (no ham, no egg). It is served in a very charming and completely inefficient room. The tables are overly crowded, so you need to ask your neighbor to move if you want something from the buffet. The floor is very squeaky and on top of that the attending lady wears extremely noisy shoes, so you eat surrounded with constant noise!
Service was mediocre. Each time we needed something, (incl. check in and check out), the reception was empty, and we had to ring multiple times for someone to come. The gentleman who checked us in, would completely ignore us the flowing days; one would at least expect a "bonjour." Overall, a disappointment.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank basiaczek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We loved our stay so much, originally we booked for only one night but decided that wasn't enough. The Chateau is absolutely breath taking with a Traditional/Artsy charm to it. The ambiance is a very inviting, relaxing one. Also very clean. It sits on the hill of a large, beautiful piece of property with an exquisite view of the French country side. The location is great as we were able to bike to the town of Charmont. where there is an old Chateau surrounded by gardens and a small town. Also the town of Onzain has great restaurants, our favorite being La Charbonnette. Traditional French cuisine with a gourmet twist and VERY fair on the price. This was recommended to us by Christine (One of the owners). Which brings me to what probably is the best thing about this beautiful place, Christine and Bernard. We found them to be VERY accommodating. Really going above and beyond to make sure we were having a fantastic stay. All while remaining very personable and warm. We loved talking to Christine while having tea in the parlor. She has a very gentle, warm quality that can light up a room. Bernard was very courteous and went out of his way multiple times for us. He had a great sense of humor too ! Both of them are just golden people. I would also like to add that we really liked the lady who hosted breakfast every morning. She had a very sunny disposition and made our first meal of the day even more enjoyable. This place is very special and we hope to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCrutchley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvalois, Gérant at Hotel Chateau des Tertres, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Cesar & Jade,

It was a great pleasure to welcome you at chateau des Tertres. I thank you for your kind comments and wish to welcome you again at chateau des Tertres. Best Regards, Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I only stay at this hotel when traveling to the Loire Valley. I had tried many other hotels in the area over the years but finally came back to stay here for good on all trips! Christine and Bernard Valois are fabulous owners and there is a lot of pride of ownership here. Customer service is paramount to them, and it shows in the way they warmly welcome guests, and are always available to assist guests with any detail of their stay. They are very knowledgeable of the region and offer lots of good touring advice to guests. The rooms in both the chateau and the pavilion are beautifully and tastefully decorated. The beds are comfortable (not hard like in a lot of French hotels). There is always plenty of hot water and good water pressure in the shower. Rooms are clean, the bed linens are of very high quality (feels almost like silk), bath linens too are very high quality (nice plush towels). Lots of extra pillows in the rooms. The breakfast is a nice, traditional Loire Valley buffet breakfast including hot drinks and fresh pastries in addition to yoghurt, fresh fruit, from age blanc, cereal, jams and juices etc. On a nice day it is very relaxing to sit out on the terrace and enjoy a tea or nice glass of wine. Location of this property is perfect for visiting the castles of the Loire Valley such as Chambord, Blois, Amboise, Chenonceau and Chaumont-sur-Loire and many smaller ones scattered between these.

I always recommend this hotel to family and friends, because it is by far the best hotel with the best rooms and excellent service, and will continue to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: For couples, I love room #5 and for families, the family suite in the pavilion is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OTBPGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onzain
1.1 mi away
Domaine des Hauts de Loire
5.3 mi away
Auberge de la Caillere
Auberge de la Caillere
#1 of 1 in Cande-sur-Beuvron
279 reviews
1.8 mi away
L'Hostellerie du Chateau
L'Hostellerie du Chateau
#1 of 1 in Chaumont-sur-Loire
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Chateau de La Rozelle
Chateau de La Rozelle
#1 of 1 in Cellettes
172 reviews
4.0 mi away
Relais du Silence Domaine des Thomeaux
11.1 mi away
Chateau de Chissay
Chateau de Chissay
#1 of 2 in Chissay-en-Touraine
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau des Tertres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau des Tertres

Address: 11 B rue de Meuves, 41150 Onzain, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loir-et-Cher > Onzain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Onzain
Price Range: $104 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chateau des Tertres 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Loire Valley castles country. Located only 5 Km from the International Garden Festival of Chaumont-sur-Loire and nearby the royal châteaux of Blois, Amboise, Chambord. Château des Tertres is an exceptional spot for tourism and leisure. Perfectly located to discover the Loire Valley by bike. We propose numerous circle tours starting our hotel. Our classic mid 19th-century nobleman's house surrounded by a wooded park welcomes you in a peaceful and quiet environment. We propose 14 beautifully appointed rooms in the chateau plus 4 extra confortable family rooms in a pavillion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Chateau des Tertres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Des Tertres Onzain
Chateau Des Tertres Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing