We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Chateau des Tertres
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Onzain
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed May 5, 2011

I stayed here for two nights. My room overlooked the front yard (beautiful view) and was very clean and comfortable. Everything seemed new. Having free WiFi was a bonus. The only thing I did not like were the pillows. Too flat. The breakfast was very good. The fromage blanc was the best i have ever had. The owners were very personable and helpful. They recommended a restaurant that was very good and reasonable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank France0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    41
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
19
74
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Upon arriving we were warmly greeted and shown to our room. We were given great advice and directions about the area. When we go back to Loire we will be staying here again, only this time it will be longer.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleandChrisR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan USA
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

The Chateau was a choice from a book with unusual places to stay while in France, and it was a good choice. Because the book was slightly out of date, we had some problems finding the Chateau, but thanks to helpful locals we did get there. It was just beautiful to drive up the winding road into the woods behind the chateau and look at all the wild cyclamen growing there! The chateau has been transformed into a charming place to stay, beautiful view from the terrace, comfortable rooms, although rather spartan for some maybe, but the beds are confortable, the bathrooms are modern and do have a hair-dryer. Breakfast is not included, but since the chateau is some distance from the village it is well worth the price to stay there and enjoy the freshly baked croissants, baguettes and petit pain au chocolat. We did and we loved it. Parking on the premises is a plus, as is the elevator. Drawback is that there is no restaurant on the premises, but there is a large choice of restaurants in the nearby village and the hostess was more than helpful in finding us a delightful place to dine.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Euronaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

If you want to breathe the old classical Europe, you might be well placed there. A nice driveway up a small hill brings you you to an old building that hosts small, but nicely decorated rooms. The elegant lobby rooms are probably the main attraction of the hotel. What is also worth mentioning is the location of the hotels itself: not far from the town center but quite isolated for its huge garden around and the distance from the road (some 100 meter up the hill).
No comments on the breakfast quality for we did not take it. Just one negative remark about the double room we were given: no TV set inside was not a problem for us, at all, but some more space in the room would definitely keep up the overall impression.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vannegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piermont, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

This hotel is just lovely. The hosts are warm and welcoming. The property is beautiful - a lovely old manor with a big lawn in front and woods in back. The decor is charming. The hosts are also very helpful in recommending activities in the area. The area is chock full of wonderful things to do - the best one as far as we were concerned was a visit to the Chateau du Clos Luce in Amboise, which was Leonardo Da Vinci's home for the last three years of his life and which is now an amazing museum to all of his work, including his visionary inventions.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSNY10968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

This beautiful little hotel offers travellers an opportunity to live for a short time in the past - but with all the comforts of today (other than TV, unless one is absolutely desperate, in which case one can request that the set in the living-room downstairs be switched on).
But it is so special to experience, in such a beautiful setting, the serenity and peace of yesteryear, why would anyone want today's noise and distractions to intrude?
If you are exploring the Loire Valley and would like to enter further into the spirit of the area, don't miss an opportunity to spend a couple of days (at least) at the Hotel Chateau des Tertres! And if you can reserve a room with a view across the chateau's grounds and the surrounding area, you will certainly not be sorry.
Oh, the breakfast - lovely, and the cause of me being forever lost to the joys of fromage blanc with apricot puree.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowraven_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

I recently stayed at the chateau with my Mum and thought it was lovely. You will need to get there by car, and it's essential that you buy a road map of the region before you try to get there! The village of Onzain is very sweet, it's such a quiet, relaxing, peaceful place. It's not far from Chaumont sur Loire, where you must visit the chateau. Amboise is a gorgeous place, as is Blois - all just a short drive from Onzain. Sit out on the patio of the chateau in the evenings and enjoy a glass of wine and enjoy the view and the serenity. It's truly unforgettable.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat79_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onzain
1.1 mi away
Domaine des Hauts de Loire
5.3 mi away
Auberge de la Caillere
Auberge de la Caillere
#1 of 1 in Cande-sur-Beuvron
252 reviews
4.0 mi away
Relais du Silence Domaine des Thomeaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Golf Hotel de la Carte
Golf Hotel de la Carte
#1 of 1 in Chouzy-sur-Cisse
53 reviews
1.8 mi away
L'Hostellerie du Chateau
L'Hostellerie du Chateau
#1 of 1 in Chaumont-sur-Loire
144 reviews
11.1 mi away
Chateau de La Rozelle
Chateau de La Rozelle
#1 of 1 in Cellettes
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau des Tertres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau des Tertres

Property: Hotel Chateau des Tertres
Address: 11 B rue de Meuves, 41150 Onzain, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loir-et-Cher > Onzain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Onzain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chateau des Tertres 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Loire Valley castles country. Located only 5 Km from the International Garden Festival of Chaumont-sur-Loire and nearby the royal châteaux of Blois, Amboise, Chambord. Château des Tertres is an exceptional spot for tourism and leisure. Perfectly located to discover the Loire Valley by bike. We propose numerous circle tours starting our hotel. Our classic mid 19th-century nobleman's house surrounded by a wooded park welcomes you in a peaceful and quiet environment. We propose 14 beautifully appointed rooms in the chateau plus 4 extra confortable family rooms in a pavillion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Chateau des Tertres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Des Tertres Onzain
Chateau Des Tertres Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing