We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Way to End our Journey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Domaine des Hauts de Loire
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Onzain
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Way to End our Journey”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This was by far the most superb property we stayed in (and we went 3-5 star the whole way) at the end our a three week diving tour of France. The staff was exactly what you would hope for in such a property; efficient, helpful, formal, thorough and mostly invisible unless you need something. The grounds were dreamy and like having your own private hunting forest complete with swan pond, swimming pool, tennis and garden. The food was excellent and there was a true cocktail hour. I felt like a civilized human being just relaxed and in the moment. Our room was "family room" which was really a 2 bedroom suite with 2 bathrooms complete with two patios one front and one back. A great place to stay. All that said however, I would only go back there if it were just with my spouse sans our two children.

It is definitely a honeymoon/lovers destination or a retiree retreat. I was on constant watch to make sure my children (2 boys) would not disturb the tranquility of the place for the other quests. While mine were swimming in the pool there were several couples relaxing and or swimming laps so we made sure our kids stayed at one end of the pool, no splashing etc.. They still had a great time climbing the look out tower and admiring the swans and cruising the gardens, but this was most definitely a PsAndQs kind of place. (Which in my opinion, is a good lesson for all kids to know how to behave in a truly adult environment).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwgarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    79
    25
    10
    5
See reviews for
108
334
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Beautiful property. Stayed in a junior suite that was dated with very small windows . I had to ask if this was indeed a suite. Bed linens were average, no bottled water was supplied...though it was available for purchase in the mini bar. I find this is an important point as all most always 5 star properties offer bottled water supplied daily. Breakfast was relaxing and very simple. Dinners are lovely. We were there for many nights and though we enjoyed our stay, we were a bit disappointed in our accommodation, especially since I requested an updated room...and to have windows that were basically useless, well......
Would I recommend? Yes, but only with the information that it is much less than a 5 star except for the prices. Note: staff were exceptionally friendly and happy. Always a positive!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maruska c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Not much to add that other reviews have already stated. Bathroom was lovely although it took some time for us to get use to having the toilet in a separate room from the rest of the bathroom. Room was lovely - I personally prefer more modern decor but the room decor goes well with the rest of charm of the hotel. Also, very clean. I had to sit on the floor to do something so I know. We ate at the restaurant the first night and dinner was amazing. Portions are small but with 7 courses and the rich food, we couldn't finish everything! Loved, loved, loved the cheese selection.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

During two weeks in June we explored Loire Valley, staying three different places. This was my favorite: the most beautiful, comfortable and relaxing place. We stayed in the newer building, and we loved the large bedroom and pretty sitting room. Breakfast in the room was delightful, with a table by the window, and reading in the evening was comfortable in the sitting room. We ate in the gourmet restaurant the first night and loved it. It was closed our second and third evenings, Monday & Tuesday, but the desk clerk gave good recommendations for local restaurants. During the days we drove to chateaux and explored nearby towns, finding our location to be very convenient for what we wanted to do. This inn left lovely memories, well worth it!

Room Tip: Suites are well worth the added cost, and we enjoyed the privacy of the newer building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhyNotPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is a lovely setting an nice country manor house. Th staff are friendly and efficient. The rooms have been modernized. The kitchen is certified by Relais & Chateau, yet the portions are exceedingly small. The menu is challenging if you do not like foie gras. There is a "prim and proper" attitude throughout. I found an ant on my raspberry this morning; when I showed the waitress, she took it and said nothing. This is a place for older people to come and read, or take car trips to the area chateaux. There is very little to do here. No gym, no spa. If you love French food, and want a quiet rest, this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bostonian80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We enjoyed a lovely 4 nights at this very well maintained former hunting lodge which is situated in lovely grounds, 5 minutes away from the Loire. Very friendly and professional staff. An excellent 2 star restaurant (closed Monday and Tuesday). Perfectly quiet at night and just the sound of birds in the morning. Privately owned the establishment has been running for at least 20 years and it runs in a well oiled way.
Only disadvantage we found was the noise of the occassional car passing down a lane close to the swimming pool - but a disadvantage easily over come by the pleasure of drinking a bottle of cool white wine in such idylic surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IntrepidVenturer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed for one night in May 2012. Booked via the Relais & Chateaux website and got a week end deal. The hotel is situated in the middle of an enormous park with a beautiful forest, a couple of large ponds, an antique windmill you can climb up... the hotel is split in two: the old manor and the new houses. We stayed in the new part, the room was very comfortable but the style was a bit dated (late 80s). It was very quiet. The breakfast, very expensive, but absolutely worth it if you're into continental breakfasts. Service was outstanding and the staff is here to help. Strongly recommended just for the park. We did not eat at the 2 star michelin restaurant, we prefered going into Blois.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onzain
24.8 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
9.7 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
8.3 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
#1 of 5 in Chenonceaux
852 reviews
10.0 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
607 reviews
6.0 mi away
Auberge de la Caillere
Auberge de la Caillere
#1 of 1 in Cande-sur-Beuvron
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine des Hauts de Loire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine des Hauts de Loire

Property: Domaine des Hauts de Loire
Address: Domaine des Hauts de Loire 79 rue Gilbert Navard Onzain, 41150 Onzain, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loir-et-Cher > Onzain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Onzain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine des Hauts de Loire 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the wine road and at the heart of Loire castles in the midst of greenery, the Domaine des Hauts de Loire welcomes nature lovers that dream of retiring in a haven where a cosy and warm atmosphere dominates. A four star establishment, this Relais & Chateaux has become a true institution of French tourism. The Domaine des Hauts de Loire’s restaurant welcomes you around a prestigious table. The Chef Remy Giraud, 2 Michelin Stars, offers a new menu several times a year in line with the seasons and in accordance with the region. “L’Art Des Mets” cooking school In his school, Chef Remy Giraud dreams of initiating students to the fulfillment of a recipe or a preparation technique, so many opportunities to discover the characteristics of a product, its gustative qualities and the pairings that can be made with it. On Wednesdays and Fridays, the Chef passes on his know-how through private classes (1 to 2 people) or in groups (3 to 8 people). Each student discovers a recipe, prepares it under the Chef’s supervision to finally taste his own hard work. Sunday is kept for sweet pleasures with the hearty classes of Pastry Chef Cedric Noel. Once a month, the kitchen is left to the young future pastry chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Domaine des Hauts de Loire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Des Hauts De Loire Hotel Onzain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing