We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary to Remember”

Domaine des Hauts de Loire
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Onzain
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $55 - $273
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Detroit
Level Contributor
288 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Anniversary to Remember”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The setting is bucolic, the decor is charming, the service attentive but not condescending, and the repast is presented beautifully with interesting taste combinations - the beetroot chips were a delight. The amuse bouche were complicated and surprisingly yummy. All in all a real treat for all the senses.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PointerDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    36
    16
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reston
Level Contributor
129 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“beautiful setting - spectacular food”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

What can I say - service was flawless - food was great - wines chosen were phenomenal. Arrived early to have a drink on the terrace - lovely champagne. The staff answered all of our questions about the menu very knowledgeably. I had the 3 course and my husband the 4th so we were able to get different dishes. I do not think there was a single misstep with anything. Would cheerfully go back. We just ate dinner at the hotel - we were not staying there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VATLC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY NY USA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Houston Texas a La Loire”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

A restaurant of this rank, two Michelin stars, undoubtedly earns its two stars, not only from the food itself, but from the ambiance of the hotel in which it resides and that hotel's high rating, as well as the other accouterments deemed necessary: fine china, stemware, silver and original art on the walls.
There is no question about the cuisine. It is very good indeed.

But when the characteristics of an exquisitely rated restaurant are nullified, how can one enjoy the ambiance and exquisite setting if all one hears is patois des Etats-Unis? We thought we were in Houston or in Darien. Two plasticized Nancy Pelosi look-alikes squawked. Another couple, one of which looked like Paul Getty resurrected with a younger female companion, filled the space flamboyantly at decimal level 80 with braggadocio about their high school French (in English). More Americans tripped in, loudly, totally distracting from the salon wherein one takes an aperitif whilst ordering from the menu prior to being escorted into the dining rooms.
Once seated, how disappointing to be shown to the room with only the same loud, untamed voices. Upon exiting for the evening we could not but notice that the large main room appeared, based upon language and the sotto voce level, to be reserved for those other than those of whom I speak.
This would have been an utterly fantastic experience if one thought one were in France, not the States.
But I guess the French don't want to hear us either.
I would rather dine less grandly, locally.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Superb Choice in Loire Valley”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Well deserves its two Michelin stars. Service is impeccable and nothing on the menu disappointed. Good use of local vegetables and meats/fish, excellent wine list and very impressive sommelier, just don't expect to drive long distances after dinner!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, Nc
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“dinner at our hotel”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Everything....service, menu, wines....all perfect. I will say that dinner here, as in many French restaurants, is a more protracted affair than we are used to in the US but it is a lovely way to dine once you get used to it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChathamR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domaine des Hauts de Loire also viewed

Chaumont-sur-Loire, Loir-et-Cher
Cande-sur-Beuvron, Blois
 
Chaumont-sur-Loire, Loir-et-Cher
Chaumont-sur-Loire, Loir-et-Cher
 

Been to Domaine des Hauts de Loire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing