We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel accommodation but poor restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Colbert
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Chateauroux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel and the accommodation was excellent and good value for money. What let it down was the restaurant - tiny portions, poor choices on the set menus and very overpriced for what it was. However, the breakfast was excellent - wish they served it 24 hours which would be better than the dinner!

Room Tip: stayed in a junior suite which was very modern, clean and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 289 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

I'm going to keep this brief. The hotel is fine, it's clean, about 5 mins walk from town. Breakfast is comprehensive. Rooms comfortable. If you find yourself in Chateauroux this is as good a place to stay as any. I will assume if you do find yourself in Chateauroux you have come there on purpose as it is not somewhere I would wish to find myself by accident. I was looking for a nice stop over from Calais to South of France. If you are too, keep looking. There are dozens, nay, hundreds of nicer places to stay than Chateauroux. My mistake, lesson learned. The place has no charm. no old quarter to speak of. A handful of half decent restaurants and bars to sit at but it's just not a nice place. It seems quite 'rough'. This is not the place to stop on the way south. Apparently Blois is nice, so is Saumur and Chinon. Everywhere/Anywhere else will be nicer than here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank sandysviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed for one night on way thorugh France with wife and toddler, a good sized room (advertised as a suite) with modern decor. Unfortunately missed dinner , but had a very good breakfast. Secure car parking and very helpful staff. Would recmommend it to all.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nickademus30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I stayed here for one night as part of a cycling tour with Bikestyle Tours. Quite a nice hotel and possibly one of the best 3 stars I have stayed at in France. Modern, very comfortable and well maintained. The restaurant meal was good, if not outstanding. The reception staff were very helpul, although the bar staff a bit disinterested.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hdontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The quality of this hotel exceeded my expectations. We stopped off here for a night as we headed towards Bordeaux. An ample secured parking compound faces this little gem. The hotel occupies a wing of a former factory. The whole site has been restored and looks really nice.

I had booked a reasonably priced superior room with queen sized bed. The immaculate room was on two levels, with a bathroom and excellent shower, sitting area and tea/coffee making facilities on the lower floor; a wooden stair lead up past a full height window to a mezzanine containg the bed and bathroom (shower over bath). Not bad for £114.

The restaurant had a small but well considered menu. Our Pintard was excellent. As was the 'cheese chariot'. All washed down with a well priced regional red.

The breakfast buffet in the small bar was varied and good.

All in all an excellent, clearly recently updated, hotel. If I'm passing this way again I'll definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apgaylard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We broke down while travelling through France on one of the busiest weekends of the year and our breakdown assistance service struggled to find somewhere that would accept us with three cats and two dogs. We were expecting a grotty hotel, but when we finally arrived, we were impressed with the standard and cleanliness of the rooms and the helpfulness of the staff, who went out of their way to make us comfortable. They even let us eat in the restaurant at ten in the evening! They were amazing and we can't thank them enough for trying to help us turn a nightmare into an enjoyable experience. We can't wait to stay there again in less stressful circumstances.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donnahambleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We used this hotel as a stop-over driving from South-West France to the UK. We wanted a change to the usual stop in Orleans. The hotel's not exactly close to the motorway, but it's near enough. It's located in a pretty charmless area (Chateauroux itself is pretty limited). Bearing in mind we were there on a Saturday night at the beginning of August, there wasn't much going on to enliven the evening. The hotel staff are attentive and helpful and the two rooms were well equipped (free wi-fi), modern and clean - if not a bit on the small side given the size of the actual building. Although we were happy enough with the stay, for 223 Euros, we could have probably had a better night in Orleans - or maybe in one of the smaller villages.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFPNLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chateauroux
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Chateauroux
Hotel Ibis Chateauroux
#4 of 12 in Chateauroux
311 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elysee Hotel
Elysee Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chateauroux
55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#5 of 12 in Chateauroux
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kyriad Chateauroux
Kyriad Chateauroux
#7 of 12 in Chateauroux
106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Continental Logis
Hotel Le Continental Logis
#2 of 12 in Chateauroux
77 reviews
3.8 mi away
Relais Saint Jacques Chateauroux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Colbert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Colbert

Address: 4 Rue Colbert, Avenue De La Chatre, 36000, Chateauroux, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Colbert)
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Berry > Indre > Chateauroux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Chateauroux
Price Range: $102 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Colbert 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Colbert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chateauroux
Chateauroux Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing