We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great decor, good service, good pizzas”
Review of La Scala

La Scala
Ranked #16 of 83 Restaurants in Chateauroux
Price range: $15 - $28
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
105 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great decor, good service, good pizzas”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Scala decor is pretty amazing. All kinds of masks and knick knacs as well as interesting interior architecture making it look more or less like an Italian city street.

We typically have (been there a few times) a pizza + desert + wine dinner.
Service has always been courteous and very efficient a few times when we were trying to catch a movie on a schedule.

Pizzas are both generous and good (no idea what the rest of the dishes taste like).
Wine is ok and traditional deserts (like Café Liégeois) are quite good.

Prices very reasonable so overall good value.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank transnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis d, Responsable commercial at La Scala, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for having left a so pleasant message. Our restaurant works every day to propose an impeccable service to the customers, we notice that it is made a success.
We hope see you again soon in France
La Scala Chateauroux's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    116
    45
    29
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Safe bet!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

If you are hungry and in Chateauroux then this is a pleasant Italian with decent food, drink and service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P68B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Mantua, Italy
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Better than most”
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

I found in this restaurant a decent pizza. Fairly close to a real italian pizza, as long as you stick to the classics.
Nice atmosphere and good prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank im1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton Lancs
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ialian in France”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Never thought I would eat Italian in France but on a wet Saturday night this place was nearest our hotel and it was a revelation.Very buzzy with eclectic decor making the place like the exit from a theatre into the street.We had a marvellous anti pasta of salamis ,cheese, vegetables and olives then my wife had a pizza which she thought was fabulous with a good crispy base an plenty of topping I had veal in a cream and cheese sauce with pasta which was delicious .We couldn't manage desserts as we were full but from what went past they looked very interesting with aperitifs a bottle of red and 2 grappa the bill was bout 70 euros went to bed replete

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank pensionerBoltonLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian in the Centre of Town”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Excellent Italian Restaurant in the centre of town.
Caution the portions are large and may leave surprisingly full!
Pizzas were excellent!
Staff friendly and helpful.
Wine list excellent value.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyAsbestos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Scala also viewed

 
Chateauroux, Indre
 
Chateauroux, Indre
 

Been to La Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing