We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original and restful”
Review of Les Brions

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Les Brions
Ranked #3 of 5 Tonnerre B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We first stayed here in 2009 and have been back a few times since. We have seen all of the bedrooms (apart from a couple which have been renovated since we were last there) and each one is superb. What makes this bed and breakfast so much fun is that it is full of originalities like the different decoration in each of the bedrooms and the open log fire in the dining room. Something that we really appreciated was the space in the bedroom and also in general in the house which is huge. Eric and Véronique are wonderful hosts and the evening meal contains local dishes and wine with lots of lively conversations. They are also excellent at putting you in touch with local wine producers so that you can go and try out the wines from the surrounding area. You won't find your average hotel here (there is no TV-no hardship for us!) but you will find a unique place which is full of charm.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cloumich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Propriétaire at Les Brions, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

What a nice message.
Hope that we will still se you a lot of times in Les Brions.
Every year will be new improvement of the house to sgare.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Les Brions
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 28 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2011

It took us a while to find more so as we arrived early evening...signs are needed more so as it is in a lane.
It would be nice to be offered a drink upon arrival as this we have encountered at other places we visited.
Our room was rather basic and so minimalist; a nice bed a lovely wardrobe couple of chairs...a very pleasant room though. A rug, a mirror some books (regional) or brochure on what to do, a painting to make it more homely.
The bathroom was nice big bath and view. There is no TV which is fine for some but would be nice to have it there or Internet at least in the room.
Breakfast was also minimalist, we expected nice French bread,croissants....but got some White bread..no other choice just plain bread. The jam was tasty but would be nice to know what kind of jam before spreading it. Lovely plain yogurt nevertheless.
Although the coffee was fab it was poured out of a thermos. A cafetiere would be nice. Little details they might be but make big difference.
Maybe the hosts want to retain a certain country feel about Les Brions which is great but still need to make it even more appealing.
Thank you to Eric for showing us some of the other rooms, magnificent as they stand but once they all be "tidied up" and refurbished they ll be absolutely fantastic.
We enjoyed our stay, we are not criticising but simply putting down various ideas, that we have seen around our travels. The bastide in itself has a WOW factor, the hosts are friendly, and you have peace and quiet.
I d recommend for sure.
All the best to the owners for the future.....hopefully if we are in your area we ll pop in to say hello.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladyejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We had problems finding this B&B outside Tonnerre, as it was not in our navigation system. But when we finally arrived we were shown our nice big room with period furniture and an open fire place. The bathroom had a funny washbasin which you had to empty by turining the tub - it must have been nearly 100 years old. But the rest of the bathroom and shower were modern.

In the evening we went to a restaurant approx. 7 km by car from Les Brions. The St. Pierre was a typical French country restaurant with good quality French Food and wine at moderate prices - this was a recommendation from our hosts.

Breakfast the next morning in the dining room with open chimney, nice painted glass windows and homemade bread & jams was very interesting. The host spent some time with us explaing about the house and gave us very good tips on Chablis wineries.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fernweh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Naia M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fred-cinquantequatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Christophe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
Thank gilles l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Les Brions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Brions

Address: 89700 Tonnerre, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Tonnerre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tonnerre
Price Range: $99 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Les Brions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing