We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel ibis budget Macon sud
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Macon
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here as a convenient overnight stop travelling to Languedoc region. Rooms were basic, but very clean and free wifi. Don't expect any frills - no shower gel, shampoo, etc. but very adequate for our needs. Good value for money. We also paid extra for the cafeteria style breakfast which was excellent value. Help yourself to various foods and a drinks machine where you could have as many cups of coffee as you wanted. This again was very clean. The previous night we ate in the attached restaurant and had the "plat de jour" - 3 courses - and again excellent value. The owner spoke very little English and we not enough French to understand her and so had a nice surprise when the food arrived!! Drinks also were very reasonable. Would certainly return to this hotel if we needed to again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alibear_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 483 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a very basic hotel, reminded me of my college dormitory! Don't come here if you need space to spread out and cushy amenities, but do stop here if you just need a VERY clean, easy in and out, for very little money. The staff is friendly and helpful, there is a breakfast area (additional charge) and an attached restaurant if you are really looking for convenience. We came up from Provence for two days of wine tasting in the area and just wanted a place to crash for the overnight. It was perfect. There were several older traveling couples and a lot of young business people.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JGinA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Very simple, clean hotel right off the autoroute, south of Macon which is very accessible if you're wanting to drive along the Rue du Vin. I was pleasantly surprised at how immaculate yet comfortable and spacious the room was. There's very little to the room in terms of extras (e.g. no tea or coffee), but what is there is well done.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful; I had car trouble and had to make a few local phone calls which they did for me since my French was not up to par.

Breakfast is buffet style and includes a few cereals, different kinds of breads, yogurts, cheeses, mixed fruit, and the coffee/tea which all suited me just fine. If you're looking for a spread of meats and eggs, too, then this is not the place for you.

Parking is ample and free. Wifi is also free but can be a bit spotty, yet reliable enough.

Room Tip: Avoid the low numbered rooms ex) 102, 202, etc because they are right next to the stairwell which ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Travelling back from a ski trip found this ideal for the family. Ensuite facilities set it above other brands, noting this hotel in itself has been recently re-branded and upgraded. All facilities have been renovated. Also a quirky good value restaurant attached, or an alternative 5mins across road.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinou
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel was basic but clean and well organised. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location is good (just off the autoroute) and close enough to Macon to have a quick look around. Overall, this was very good value for money at about €50 for a tripple room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciaran F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeroen219
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macon hotels
6 mi away
Ibis Budget Macon Nord
Ibis Budget Macon Nord
#13 of 30 in Macon
461 reviews
2 mi away
Ibis Macon Sud
Ibis Macon Sud
#1 of 3 in Creches-sur-Saone
619 reviews
1.9 mi away
Macon Sud Hotel
Macon Sud Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chaintre
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fasthotel Well inn
Fasthotel Well inn
#3 of 3 in Charnay-les-Macon
39 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel D'Europe Et D'Angleterre
0 mi away
Campanile Macon Nord - Sennece
Campanile Macon Nord - Sennece
#4 of 4 in Sennece-les-Macon
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Macon sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Macon sud

Address: 509 rue Jacquard | Rn 6, 71000, Macon, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Macon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Macon
Price Range: $45 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Macon sud 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Paris and Marseille, Ibis Budget Macon Sud is the ideal place for trips summer or winter holidays . Accessible by train , the hotel is at only 1h30 from Paris , 2h30 from Marseille and 55 minutes from Lyon . Enjoy the wealth of this region , with the discovery of the wine road , the numerous golf courses, the Abbey of Cluny and Solutré which are a few kilometers away. The hotel has 73 rooms for 1 , 2 or 3 people. The rooms are all equipped with new bedding , flat screen TV and free wifi. The hotel has private parking, free, secure and an adjoining restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Macon sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing