We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth more than its star rating”
Review of Hotel de Bourgogne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Bourgogne
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Macon
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“worth more than its star rating”
Reviewed April 23, 2009

very clean - nice room - pleasant staff. Hotel restaurant not to our choice but fantastic restaurant next door. Breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niceniceScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    86
    67
    14
    13
See reviews for
42
85
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2009

Stayed here for a night on our way to the Alps. 2 adults & 3 kids in 2 rooms. Bed in our room was big enough to lose our 4 year old in & she is very fidgety & clingy. Basic but clean & lovely hot shower. Staff were friendly, hotel a bit quirky in a nice, French sort of way. Town seemed pleasant enough & good pizza place 5 minutes walk away close to the bridge on the river. Lots of boulangeries etc nearby for nice, cheap breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ORACLE_TOAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2009

I stayed here for one night in June '06. I took a standard room which was small, but okay, bed comfortable, bathroom fine. The hotel is nicer outside the rooms than in (stylish lobby, stairs, hallway). The staff were friendly.
The location is convenient, 5-7 minute from the train station, and easy walking through the city.
I didn't like Macon, so I probably won't return. The hotel is just okay.

  • Liked — Convenient location between gare and city
  • Disliked — Mediocre (but comfortable) room for the price.
  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike-Wiesner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2008

We spent a night in hotel de Bourgogne on our way down to southern France, thinking it might be nice not to have to do the long journey by car in one, plus having a chance to have a nice burgundy dinner ...

Thought wrong.

Hotel looks nicer from the outside than the inside, but the location is convenient enough, close to city centre and river.

Rooms are small - that's fine - and were not very well cleaned, same applies to the bath rooms. Rooms smelled unventilated, but you could not open the windows to leave fresh air on. It was not even possible to open the shutters!

The airconditioning worked - but automatically turned off during the night, which was not appropriate given the temparatures...

The reserved (and paid) parking consisted of a chaos of cluttered cars, you had to leave your car keys with the
receptionist who did some car shuffling once a new car arrived. You have to leave it to them, the planned the parking of the cars (depending on departure times) with military decision. But still, if your car is not a 1988 French Renault which survived several accidents in Charles de Gaulle Etoile anyway you did not feel very comfortable at the thought of that. And please note, I am not a car crazy person...

Breakfast, though, was okay for French standards (buffet at EUR 9 offering boiled eggs, yoghurt, cheese, viennoiserie, fruit, canned juice and several sorts of bread).

Above all, the hotel wasn't very nice, but tolerable for a night on the way down to south (not very cheap, though).

But the restaurant - utterly horrible. Let's ignore the decoration - plastic cats and flowers, christmas elks and other awful things.
Let's ignore the service - rarely have seen a waitress this unfriendly and grumpy.
The food was not NOT acceptable. Appetizer for a three course meal was a scrambled egg (savour that!), mains - we had four out of five - all bad to inedible. Cheese was tolerable if you did not go for the fromage blanc and dessert again close to crimes against humanity. The restaurant made a TOP 2 on our families list of bad restaurant around the world.

So, if you decide to stay: eat out.

  • Liked — At least I could sleep
  • Disliked — Lack of cleanliness, restaurant
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AC_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Macon hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macon hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel D'Europe Et D'Angleterre
0.2 mi away
ibis Styles Macon Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel Du Nord
Hotel Du Nord
#8 of 30 in Macon
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Ibis Macon Sud
Ibis Macon Sud
#1 of 3 in Creches-sur-Saone
574 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brit Hotel Macon Centre Gare
0.3 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#10 of 30 in Macon
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Bourgogne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Bourgogne

Property: Hotel de Bourgogne
Address: 6 Rue Victor Hugo | Place De La Barre, 71000, Macon, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Macon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Macon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Bourgogne 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de Bourgogne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inter Hotel De Bourgogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing