We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Accident”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Cote Saint Jacques
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Joigny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2007

December 2006 was our fourth winter holiday at La Cote and it was, as usual, incredible. The first year we were stranded on Christmas Eve (which is also my husband's birthday, and the reason for our visit) and so the hotel kindly put us up in a beautiful room at the top of a winding stair with an unparalleled view of the River Yonne. The food is surprising, imaginative and consistently excellent, and Jean-Michel and his staff make it feel like a second home. We're looking forward to returning this year, and for as many years as we are able to make the trip.

The surrounding town is great for shutterbugs, with some of the structures of the old walled portion of the village dating back to the 12th century. Truly something special and highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBugLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 563 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2007

Wonderful large room with magnificent view out across the river.

We had the Degustation menu which is incredible, although there was a Mr Creosote moment when the waiter stated he was bringing the "first dessert".

Breakfast wonderful.

Monster bill, monster food. Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank millgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2006

After reading raving reviews about this hotel in many French guides, including Relais and Chateau, and The Michilin guide, we booked for 2 nights during the middle of August.

On arrival the staff were helpful and showed us to our room. I have to say, I have seen better and cleaner dog kennels. The room was something like a 70's throw back. The carpets were all stained, the bathroom dirty and the room had a damp smell.

We instantly cancelled the 2nd night.

Their only hope would be a good dinner. We have never ever been so ripped off, such poor quality, tiny meals and a snooty service. The starter cost £45 for 3 pieces of smoked salmon, £70 for a piece of beef the size of a stamp, and £30 for a chocolate pudding that I couldnt eat.

The waiters mocked us, smirked and made comments when we asked for cheese and my dessert to be brought at the same time. We simply wanted to be out there ASAP.

Our bill came to over £600, and we have never ever felt so dissapointed by a hotel.

We drove an hour down the road and stayed at Georges Blanch, which was simply AMAZING!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank teacherhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2005

Every year, my wife and I drive down through France and plan at least one gastronomic treat en route. This August we booked at the Cote St Jacques, largely on the strength of the Gault Millau 19/20 review. In previous years we have tried many top restaurants in the Burgundy/Champagne area - Les Crayeres; L'Esperance at Vezelay; Lameloise; Bernard Loiseau to name but a few. All these were in our view excellent, and so we looked forward to our 2005 Cote St Jacques overnight stay with high expectations.

We hadn't realised that the hotel is on a busy road, and is not particularly special to look at. Not in itself a major problem for the more expensive bedrooms have a charming view over the river Yonne at the rear. But it was the lack of welcome, and the 'we are doing you a favour' attitude of the staff which was disappointing. The decor generally looks dated and 1980's, but our room was clean and comfortable, if a bit anonymous, and had been recently redecorated. Lovely outlook and most of the road noise inaudible.

But we had come here to eat; everything else was secondary, yet it was the dinner which was the disappointment.We had the eye-wateringly expensive Menu Degustation. The fois gras was ordinary and the sole was frankly poor: over-salted, and lacking finesse. The langoustines were overcooked, although the pigeon main course was good. Then a selection of local cheeses which were fine but frankly nothing memorable. The dessert was a summer trio of a strawberry milk shake, a raspberry sorbet, and a mango and banana dish. The wine - a Condrieu - was in poor condition and we sent it back. The sommelier then advised a mid-priced Merseult which was ordinary and bland.

If we sound fussy, let's just say that the dinner would have been absolutely fine if La Cote St Jacques had not been rated as one of the best tables in France. But for a dinner costing not far off £300, it was remarkably ordinary, with only one course out of five really worthy of its reputation.

Interestingly, the dining room was only half full on a Friday night in August, so maybe other have had similar experiences. This restaurant has a good name, but is clearly resting on its laurels and there are many far better and more welcoming places to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LukeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2004

My husband & I stayed at this hotel on our way back from participating in the Rallye des Alpes in July this year. Everything about the place is perfect. The setting is lovely, the food is exquisite, the service very good. The sommelier deserves special mention for his knowledge & friendliness. Our deluxe room was fantastic with a private balcony, which came with 2 sun-loungers. The bathroom was huge with gorgeous toiletries. The price was what we expected at a 3 star michelin restaurant. Definitely worth another visit!

6  Thank Jilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Privilégier les chambres avec vue sur l'Yonne (bâtiment principal) plutôt que l'annexe de l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hammer48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Laurent69003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csj89, Responsable relations clients at La Cote Saint Jacques, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joigny
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant le Rive Gauche
22.6 mi away
L'Hostellerie des Clos
L'Hostellerie des Clos
#1 of 4 in Chablis
573 reviews
15.3 mi away
Le Parc des Marechaux
Le Parc des Marechaux
#4 of 21 in Auxerre
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Domaine et golf du Roncemay
Domaine et golf du Roncemay
#1 of 1 in Aillant-sur-Tholon
237 reviews
11.6 mi away
Mercure Auxerre
Mercure Auxerre
#1 of 3 in Appoigny
411 reviews
22.5 mi away
Hotel du Vieux Moulin
Hotel du Vieux Moulin
#2 of 4 in Chablis
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cote Saint Jacques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cote Saint Jacques

Address: 14 Faubourg de Paris, 89300 Joigny, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Joigny
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Joigny
Price Range: $175 - $599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Cote Saint Jacques 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our enchanting hotel in Burgundy awaits you in Joigny, just 90 minutes from Paris. Come and visit for a bit of leisure time or a romantic interlude in the heart of one of the most beautiful wine growing regions in France. In a setting that is both decidedly modern and indelibly marked by refinement, the Cote Saint Jacques, our luxury, 5-star hotel, opens the doors of its Relais & Chateaux establishment to you . We invite you to the stay of your dreams, during which our team will be at your beck and call. Fitted out with 32 rooms and suites, the Cote Saint Jacques hotel offers top line services, such as a magnificent 6 x 12 m indoor pool overlooking a garden, a luxurious spa, a winter lounge with a fireplace, a summer lounge with a terrace, and a boat for rides on the Yonne. Enjoy all the services of our enchanting, luxuriously equipped hotel, along with our gastronomic restaurant, directed by the masterful hand of Jean-Michel Lorain and his team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Otel, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Cote Saint Jacques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cote Saint Jacques Hotel Joigny
La Cote Saint Jacques Joigny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing