We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Chefs Do Not always make Good Hotelliers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Cote Saint Jacques
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Joigny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We enjoyed Wonderfull, imaginative food here well worth the 3 Michelin Stars and in my opinion the price. We were shown the Kitchens and introduced to the Chef before Dinner which was a wonderfull "touch" and much appreciated.
The Hotel was not however worth the money ! We had a large Bedroom with a Terrace overlooking the River, but our terrace was also completely overlooked by the rooms above whose occupants could also hear all that we said , it also had an unswept floor and dirty table & chairs! The television suspended on a bracket from high up on the wall smacked of a cheap US Motel . The Hotel Car park is too small and the street outside can get busy. The approach to the front of the Hotel is a little down at heel and the whole place is in need of a makeover considering the room prices.In all there is very little atmosphere in this place so it never feels "special"
We would recommend The restaurant here as it is a special experience, but stay over the River (short 5 minutes walk) at RIve Gauche ..a hotel run by the same family but with a lot more ground and space at one third of the price.

Room Tip: Hotel: No. Restaurant: Yes (Stay accross the Rive)
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j_worrall3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
There are newer reviews for La Cote Saint Jacques
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 544 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2011

We booked an all inclusive packet, including a gourmet dinner. The rooms were comfortable but outdated. The view was wonderful & we had our own balcony.
The down side was the incredible disillusion of our 5 course dinner. As a 3 star Michelin Restaurant we did have great expectations. All the first 3 courses were incredibly salted, so bad that we could not
finish them. We couldn't taste anything. We also complained 3 times, but had no response. We also
noticed that another couple were also complaining. Luckily the dessert was edible. I have never felt so cheated after having an extremely expensive dinner. We were also not allowed on the heated
terrace after dinner as the other guests who had complained were sitting there. Such a shame as it
was the last night of our holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vriesdesmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

I had the opportunity to go to the Cote Saint Jacques restaurant in October 2010. There’s no doubt that I will go there again if I ever get the chance to go to Auxerre again. I was on a professional trip and was looking for a real “restaurant gastronomique” not far from the city. Joigny is a small town full of charms and treasures and the restaurant is very well located, with a direct view on the Yonne river.

I had a great time at the Cote Saint Jacques restaurant, and so did my guest. Menus are based on vegetables and fruits in season. As being more of a fish amateur, I had the sea fresh terrine of oysters : truly delectable. Needless to say products are chosen with great care.

Also, the place is perfect for business lunches: waiters are friendly and discreet. There’s also a private room if you need more comfort, but I guess there’s an additional fee for that.

Choosing wine was a tough one. There are literally hundreds and hundreds of entries in that wine list. Simply amazing. If you do not know what to choose, I recommend you let the wine steward pick it up for you.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_andrews39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed here en route to south of France. It was not cheap but I couldn't find fault with anything, staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful. It is right on river Yonne and our room overlooked the river. Our car which was loaded with 3 bikes was parked safely and securely for the night and we had a most delicious dinner in the 3 star restaurant with the desserts being out of this world, a wonderful start to our holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kme98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

We booked the room with one day in advance and we were offered only the the-luxe room, really expensive. Well, the room was spacious but absolutely ordinary. The bathroom had problems with the hot water (according to the personnel, to have hot water we had to open SIMOULTANEOUSELY the bath, the shower! It is not acceptable.
The swimming pool was small and the spa was not working on tuesday, the day in which I was there.
But the dinner was a really fantastic experience.
So, I'd suggest to go there only for the restaurant, choose another hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kriluzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

This hotel has everything, situated on the banks of the river Yonne, it has a table gourmande with chef Jean-Michel Lorain, fabulous bedrooms overlooking the river with private terraces,equipped with sun loungers and a table and chairs, an indoor swimming pool, garden overlooking the river , a spa, very comfortable bar with fire burning in grate (october visit ) and a little gift shop. Across the road is a wine cellar selling local wines. There are regular cooking schools held. All situated on the edge of the small town of Joigny.
The food was delicious and the wine selection superb. The staff were excellent and made you feel very welcome. Our room was very modern and the bathroom huge. A lovely place to stay, look forward to staying there again.

Stayed: October 2008
2  Thank ladygourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We stayed at La Cote Saint Jacques for one night on our way home (South East UK) from Decize (Loire). The primary purpose of our visit was to try the restaurant so we selected the lowest tarrif rate for a double room at 200 Euros.

The hotel is on the opposite side of the river a little away from the main part of the town and the town itself doesn't look anything special, at least based on our short drive through it. We were able to park right outside on a Saturday daytime and a porter immediately arrived to take our luggage, park our car and show us to our room. From start to finish we cannot fault the service form any of the staff.

Our room - Number 10 on the first floor of the part of the building that is away from the river - was spacious but rather dated. Furniture and decoration was of poor quality (think early nineties Hilton). The bathroom, however, although a little dated in style was sparkly clean with a big deep bath and shower over the bath. The TV was small. Large windows on the bedroom side overlooked a rather grotty rooftop of part of the hotel below and there was no view. The window to the front of the room (by the wardrobe and bathroom) overlooked the road. The bed itself was king size and very comfortable. Additional pillows were provided. So overall not bad. We've had much better rooms for the same price, but for the convenience of bring right by the restaurant, it was fine.

The restaurant itself was fabulous. We had the Menu Gourmand and, at around £500 for two including a champagne apperetif and some nice wines by the glass, it certainly isn't something we'd do often, but as a treat meal for the end of our holiday, it was definitely an experience worthy of its awarded three MIchelin stars. The chef is not 'safe traditional' (like Waterside Inn) neither is he a gastro-physicist (like Blumenthal) but pleasantly in-between the two so you have some truly interesting dishes like the lobster with liquorice sauce (absolutely stunning) and the skate with coconut milk and kaffir lime (to die for). The only issue with the meal ... being so full by the pre-dessert that I could only have small amounts of the two main desserts that followed! But goodness me it was worth trying!

I would definitely recommend the restaurant for those that like to dine at that level and don't mind paying the price-tag that comes with it. The hotel, at least for the room we had, was definitely only average for the price, but not unpleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PennyPurples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joigny
10.4 mi away
Domaine et golf du Roncemay
Domaine et golf du Roncemay
#1 of 1 in Aillant-sur-Tholon
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant le Rive Gauche
22.6 mi away
L'Hostellerie des Clos
L'Hostellerie des Clos
#1 of 4 in Chablis
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Le Parc des Marechaux
Le Parc des Marechaux
#4 of 21 in Auxerre
255 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hotel Normandie Auxerre
Hotel Normandie Auxerre
#1 of 21 in Auxerre
347 reviews
11.6 mi away
Mercure Auxerre
Mercure Auxerre
#1 of 3 in Appoigny
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cote Saint Jacques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cote Saint Jacques

Address: 14 Faubourg de Paris, 89300 Joigny, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Joigny
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Joigny
Price Range: $176 - $576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Cote Saint Jacques 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our enchanting hotel in Burgundy awaits you in Joigny, just 90 minutes from Paris. Come and visit for a bit of leisure time or a romantic interlude in the heart of one of the most beautiful wine growing regions in France. In a setting that is both decidedly modern and indelibly marked by refinement, the Cote Saint Jacques, our luxury, 5-star hotel, opens the doors of its Relais & Chateaux establishment to you . We invite you to the stay of your dreams, during which our team will be at your beck and call. Fitted out with 32 rooms and suites, the Cote Saint Jacques hotel offers top line services, such as a magnificent 6 x 12 m indoor pool overlooking a garden, a luxurious spa, a winter lounge with a fireplace, a summer lounge with a terrace, and a boat for rides on the Yonne. Enjoy all the services of our enchanting, luxuriously equipped hotel, along with our gastronomic restaurant, directed by the masterful hand of Jean-Michel Lorain and his team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Cote Saint Jacques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cote Saint Jacques Hotel Joigny
La Cote Saint Jacques Joigny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing