We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby Chic and out of this world... :)”
Review of Hotel Saint Jean

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Saint Jean
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Chalon-sur-Saone
Reviewed September 24, 2013

What an amazing place, I felt a little like I'd stepped back in time and I loved it.
Sylvie and Stanislas were very friendly hosts, I was made very welcome
Be aware there is no lift and I was on the top floor but the stairs are beautiful with doors in the panelling and little corridors all over.
My room was front facing and quaint is not the word I loved this place
My one criticism was the WiFi didn't reach my room...but who cares I'd go back again and again

Room Tip: WiFi doesn't reach all the rooms but the lounge is very comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 137 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is sort of old-world French mansion style. It is well worn in places but has many charming characteristics. The Owner, Sylvie gave us good advice on places to eat. We ended up having a delicious meal at Chez Jules. Chalon-Sur-Saone has a pretty town centre. The hotel is very typically French.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim_Nadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is an old fashioned French hotel in a beautiful old building. Rooms are full of character with high ceilings. No air conditioning. The hotel is right next to the river where the Viking River Cruise boats berth. Good location easy to get to from motorway and within walking distance of the town centre, shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed here for two nights prior to boarding a Viking River Cruise ship. We knew tht we wouldn't be in the "ritz," but the price was reasonable and we were close to where the river boat would leave from. We had no idea that the boat would dock right across from the hotel! It was a quick walk, less than 5 minutes including waiting for any traffic.

The hotel is old and worn, but the room was clean and the bathroom huge by European standards (ours included a tub with shower). Our room had two twins which we pushed together to make what we call a "traveler's king." The window coverings were a little weak. We used clothe pins from our traveling laundry supplies to hold them closed.

Breakfast was typical: croissants, bread, juice, cheese, yogurt, cereal. More than enough to satisfy and get you ready to go. It was a short walk to the old part of the city and about a 10-15 minute walk to the train station. We took a taxi to the hotel, but walked to the train station for a day trip to Dijon.

Staff was friendly and helpful. They even let us know that we could take our luggage to the boat at 10:00 a.m., and we wouldn't have to go through the procedure they had outlined for us to retrieve our luggage when the hotel is closed on Sunday afternoons.

If we return to Chalon sur Saone, we would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeandMarsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Excellent location. Not a plush modern hotel with lots of facilities but really pleasant traditional French hotel with lots of charm and character. Would certainly use again. Very friendly and helpful staff. I would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JustinBlakebrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We went on our way to and on our way back on our ski holiday. Staff very good. On booking I got a personal email. Very attentive without being annoying. One of the few hotels that can provide a quad room. Internet not really work if you are at the top of the hotel but nice lounge. Breakfast is fine as well although on our return went into town as cheaper for a family. Great location, clean and good service.

Room Tip: Very good base for families. Lovely town with good restaurants near by and a top class chocolatier n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinBlakebrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is the result of the transformation of an old, middle-class home with no ostentatious features, but with undeniable charm and an obvious comfort. Located close to the old city center of Chalon-sur-Saône and in front of the river Saône, this wealthy 19th-century residence is also near to the street where we find all excellent restaurant of the city in a pedestrian street located on a small island on Saône River.
This quiet hotel provided me at a reasonable price (I paid 74 Euros for a double room including breakfast) the needed accommodation.
It is also close to a wine market where Burgondy producers sell there bottles of wine.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auribeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chalon-sur-Saone hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Saint-Georges
Hotel Le Saint-Georges
#1 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
550 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kyriad Chalon Sur Saone Centre
Kyriad Chalon Sur Saone Centre
#5 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
153 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Chalon Sur Saone Europe
Ibis Chalon Sur Saone Europe
#2 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ibis Chalon Sur Saone Nord
Ibis Chalon Sur Saone Nord
#4 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
183 reviews
1.3 mi away
Campanile Chalon-Sur-Saone
Campanile Chalon-Sur-Saone
#9 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
249 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Chalon sur Saone
Ibis Styles Chalon sur Saone
#3 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Jean

Address: 24 Quai Gambetta, 71100 Chalon-sur-Saone, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Chalon-sur-Saone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Chalon-sur-Saone
Price Range: $87 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Saint Jean 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an>, center city, peaceful environment, by the river. We have 25 rooms available, from 1 to 5 persons, all personalised and equipped with (bath or shower, WC, TV, phone) with vu to the river or to the yard. You will like the stone stairs and the breakfast room located under the glass roof in the yard. And the size of the rooms. In add to the garage, you will find easily free parking places. Next to the hotel, many restaurants in the center city will answer to our> waiting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Saint Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing