We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good family base”
Review of Hotel Saint Jean

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Saint Jean
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Chalon-sur-Saone
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We went on our way to and on our way back on our ski holiday. Staff very good. On booking I got a personal email. Very attentive without being annoying. One of the few hotels that can provide a quad room. Internet not really work if you are at the top of the hotel but nice lounge. Breakfast is fine as well although on our return went into town as cheaper for a family. Great location, clean and good service.

Room Tip: Very good base for families. Lovely town with good restaurants near by and a top class chocolatier n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinBlakebrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 136 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is the result of the transformation of an old, middle-class home with no ostentatious features, but with undeniable charm and an obvious comfort. Located close to the old city center of Chalon-sur-Saône and in front of the river Saône, this wealthy 19th-century residence is also near to the street where we find all excellent restaurant of the city in a pedestrian street located on a small island on Saône River.
This quiet hotel provided me at a reasonable price (I paid 74 Euros for a double room including breakfast) the needed accommodation.
It is also close to a wine market where Burgondy producers sell there bottles of wine.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auribeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

i stayed in this hotel with my 14-yr-old teenage son for one night en route home from ski trip. I LOVED IT! For me this was a delight - the traditional French hotel and a million miles from the modern characterless shoe-boxes that predominate at budget level and which i personally would prefer to avoid. The room we stayed in (3-pers) was large, practical and comfortable. The beds were with modern mattresses and extremely comfortable. The hotel was full of character, great central location and easy to find just minutes from motorway. The staff were excellent.
To cap it all, an hour after leaving i received a call on my mobile. They had found my washbag in the bathroom and volunteered to post it to my home in UK.
I recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRotht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Rounding out our 8 days in Burgundy, we drove from Cluny via the wine route through pretty berze le chatel , puisee and its smaller neighbor fouilly. In Pouisee visit Domain Luquet Roger in an old large mansion for a free wine tasting and buy a bottle of their Macon Villages for 8E. and stayed the last night at this small hotel adjacent to the quai and central to downtown. Our first floor twin ensuite room was clean, twin beds were comfortable, and room had a river view. Just right./fine for an comfortable overnight stay. The hotel is in an 19th c former mansion, traces of which can be seen in the curving stairway and the room's ceiling molding. Hotel has secured parking but manger encouraged us to park on the quai or street just in front of the hotel which was free parking and safe. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Hotel location is an easy 10 minute walk to Rue Stasburg restaurants where we had a very enjoyable and well presented dinner/ reasonably priced menu at Chez Jules.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had a full day's travelling from Bayonvillers on the Somme region with a stopover to check out the Rue de Champagne so we were quite weary when we arrived. We were greeted by Sylvie who was concerned about us leaving most of our luggage in our car in the front of the hotel so she said we could store it downstairs. I didn't realise until later that it was in her room. She was a real delight. The hotel is old and the furnishings are a little tired but we really enjoyed out night stay. Hotel St Jean is in a great location overlooking the river Saone and close to the Hotel de Ville and the main part of town. We had a very pleasant meal in a local restaurant (Italian) that night. I walked out to the island in the morning and into the square where there were the most fabulous markets. I really enjoyed staying at Hotel St Jean and thought that Chalon-sur-saone was a delightful town

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were given a spacious third floor room overlooking the Soane. The manager, Sylvie couldn't be more helpful, and we enjoyed our overnight stay in Chalon. Hotel looks a bit tired from the outside, but inside is clean and pleasant. Being so clpse to the river, its an easy location to find heading into town from the motorway.

We can't speak for the breakfast, as having been disappointed elsewhere on overnight stops, we didn't book one and stopped off at the local hypermarket outlet when we refueled the car before heading southwards.

Chalon itself seems a pleasant town. We stopped here on a previous trip (at a less pleasant hotel) and were keen to have another visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnandAdele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I must say I enjoyed my visit to this hotel and town in August of 2012.
Chalon-sur-Saône is a charming little city, with medieval buildings, friendly people, great pubs and restaurants.
I found this hotel charming, quaint, very reasonably priced and well located with good local parking. Myself and my wife were so impressed by Chalon-sur-Saône and the hotel St. Jean that we hope to visit it again in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: The rooms facing out to the front are excellent as the view of the quays and the Saône is very easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ithought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chalon-sur-Saone hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Saint-Georges
Hotel Le Saint-Georges
#1 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kyriad Chalon Sur Saone Centre
Kyriad Chalon Sur Saone Centre
#5 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
152 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Chalon sur Saone
Ibis Styles Chalon sur Saone
#3 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ibis Chalon Sur Saone Europe
Ibis Chalon Sur Saone Europe
#2 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
493 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Chalon Sur Saone Nord
Ibis Chalon Sur Saone Nord
#4 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
180 reviews
1.3 mi away
Campanile Chalon-Sur-Saone
Campanile Chalon-Sur-Saone
#10 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Jean

Address: 24 Quai Gambetta, 71100 Chalon-sur-Saone, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Chalon-sur-Saone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Chalon-sur-Saone
Price Range: $85 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Saint Jean 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an>, center city, peaceful environment, by the river. We have 25 rooms available, from 1 to 5 persons, all personalised and equipped with (bath or shower, WC, TV, phone) with vu to the river or to the yard. You will like the stone stairs and the breakfast room located under the glass roof in the yard. And the size of the rooms. In add to the garage, you will find easily free parking places. Next to the hotel, many restaurants in the center city will answer to our> waiting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Saint Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing