We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth a Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Saint-Georges
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Chalon-sur-Saone
Certificate of Excellence
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Close to the station, this is in fact the old “Terminus” hotel that the new owners refurbished two years ago. It has private parking at the rear and a bright, cheerful exterior. Inside it is tastefully contemporary; the rooms are modern, elegant and spacious, with quality bathrooms. The restaurant is simply excellent, with a small menu of creative dishes, all perfectly prepared. The wine list is top-class and service is formal yet good-humoured. (Possibly a Michelin * contender one day?) Even breakfast was good value, especially for a provincial French hotel. Charming, and trying hard.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    217
    36
    5
    5
See reviews for
91
265
15
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Very nice hotel with friendly staff. Rooms are big and the beds very comfortable. It was very hot during our stay but the air-conditioner kept room very cool. The front desk girls even gave us glasses of ice with a smile everyday. Free internet that worked great. Their restaurant was good as is the pub across the street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rde_dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We didn't expect to find such a chic hotel so close to the train station but it was boutique in every sense of the word. More importantly, it was very clean, quiet and comfortable and only 10 mins walk from a range of restaurants as advised by the pleasant and efficient receptionist, Public car park right across the road.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crabby061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Nice hotel located next to the main station but very quiet. Modern clean rooms with spacious bathroom incl. hair dryer. We asked for a baby bed and we got a brand new one. Free wi-fi and secure parking. Very nice staff. We haven't tried the restaurant though but according to the locals it used to be one of the best in town. We stayed there for one night only but we would definitely come back to this hotel if we had to stay again in Chalon-sur-Saone. Good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cchampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We were really just passing through Chalon- cycled in and stayed overnight before an early train next morning. So it was a wonderful surprise to stay in such a lovely hotel. Staff were welcoming; lovely spacious and clean room with great shower and comfy bed; fabulous location right on station square with lovely wee bars and restaurants; great value for money. Also, cyclist friendly- less than one mile to start of voie vert and secure bike shed at back of hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We only stayed one night on the way to our canal boat trip. The rooms were very nice with enjoyable breakfasts. Chalon sur Saone is a very nice place to stay and the rooms were very reasonable. We could have stayed longer as the town was very nice with some great food and easy to get around. Staff were helpful when I needed to see a Doctor and booked me in and gave directions.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris581953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Im writting this review from the hotel laptop. One of the fantastic facilities included on the room price. Could choose better. Got one room just to front to the square. Great. I wish i can repeat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joaquim Andre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chalon-sur-Saone
0.9 mi away
Ibis Chalon Sur Saone Europe
Ibis Chalon Sur Saone Europe
#2 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
469 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Chalon sur Saone
Ibis Styles Chalon sur Saone
#3 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Saint Jean
Hotel Saint Jean
#5 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ibis Chalon Sur Saone Nord
Ibis Chalon Sur Saone Nord
#4 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
167 reviews
16.6 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
836 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Le Dracy
Hotel Le Dracy
#1 of 1 in Dracy-le-Fort
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Saint-Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Saint-Georges

Property: Hotel Le Saint-Georges
Address: 32 avenue Jean Jaures, 71100 Chalon-sur-Saone, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Chalon-sur-Saone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Chalon-sur-Saone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Saint-Georges 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Burgundy, our entirely renovated hotel is located opposite to the Gare de Chalon sur Saone, and only two steps away from the historic center of the city. Our hotel rooms all come with a contemporary yet comfortable design, and our team ensure all services required for a successful business trip, or a short getaway in one of the most beautiful regions of France. Our famous restaurant proposes a menu composed by the three-star chef Georges Blanc, and performed masterfully by our own talented chef Christopher Crotet, in a "bistrot" spirit focusing primarily on the product quality. You will discover a contemporary food, with roots planted deep in the land of Burgundy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Le Saint-Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Chalon Sur Saone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing