We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A petite gem.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Logis A La Villa Boucicaut
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Chalon-sur-Saone
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This was my first stay at A La Villa Boucicaut and I hope isn't the last time. The hotel staff are extremely helpful and courteous. The hotel is conveniently located about 3 blocks from the train station and about 7 blocks from the river docking points for the river cruise ships. One thing to note is that you can't check into your rooms until 4PM, so drop off your bags and walk a few minutes into the town and have a glass of wine.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank larryell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 145 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

This place deserves it's #1 spot. There is always trepidation with an unknown locale, but this hotel lived up to my hopes and then some. I'd go back just to see Laure, her husband and Ena (the boxer) again.

So, lets start at the station. Don't be startled it some young person offers to help with your bag - those stairs can be a little tough. Once you're out of the station, just follow the sidewalk to the left as it loops and then heads straight for the motorway. You'll make another left on Boucicaut (just before the motorway) and then it's just a couple of blocks - very do-able. We all had 24" bags and bad knees.

The hotel is set back from the street, so it is very quiet. Every effort has been made to provide a pleasing entrance and Ena will announce your arrival. However, that will be the last time she barks - you are now her friend and she'll remember you. We arrived early and anticipated that we'd only be able to drop our luggage, but Laure had rushed to get our rooms ready for us. That was so kind. Evidence of personal touches are everywhere and be sure to ask where she acquired things - the stories are worth hearing. After spending the afternoon exploring the town, we had a lovely sit on the terrace and a glass of delicious wine, while chatting with other guests.

We had a lovely, large room. I was concerned about Aug. and no air conditioning, but the rooms have roller shades that keep the sun out while still allow for ventilation. There was lovely free wi-fi (something that is not to be taken for granted!) a comfortable, large bed with great pillows, flat-screen, and brochures with area info. The bathroom was quite large with the typical tub/shower/no enclosure that is so common. There was every effort to make sure there were those special touches and wonderful toiletries. There is a hair dryer as well. I think all the rooms were full, but you never heard anyone.

The breakfast was lovely. There was attention to detail and Laure seems to enjoy having just the right dish to serve in. There were pastries, cheese, meat, cereal, several kinds of yogurt, fruit, toast and eggs.

After breakfast it was an easy walk down to the boat for our river cruise.I hope we can find a way to include this hotel in our future plans.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patio53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

On May 11, 2011, a friend and I booked 2 rooms at Logis A La Villa Boucicaut for 1 night, Sept. 3, 2011. We gave a credit card for deposit for the rooms and we received confirmations. We were going to stay at the hotel the night before we departured on a river barge trip in Burgundy. Imagine our surprise when last week we received an email from the hotel saying that they had overbooked and that they had no rooms for us! This email arrived more than THREE MONTHS AFTER we booked and less than a month before we were to stay with them. We reserved through www.booking.com and they, too, confirmed that the hotel overbooked and we needed to find other reservations. I will not use www.booking.com again for a foreign trip and will never book at Logis A La Villa Boucicaut. Very disappointing to have this occur. There were no explanations and no apologies..................

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
3  Thank Swede62141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We are always looking for the perfect stop as we head south from CGD airport. This hotel offered comfortable, quiet clean rooms, nice staff, and walking distance to good restaurants. A nice asy stop off the autoroute in a charming riverfront town.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank newfydog400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We stayed in Chalon because we arrived one day early for our Uniworld cruise on the Saone and Rhone Rivers .We took a chance and booked La Villa based on the fact that it had no negative reviews. We are so happy with our choice! La Villa is within easy walking distance from the train station and to the beautiful centre ville of Chalon. There are only 13 rooms and the best ones are on the second floor overlooking a quiet garden. Our room/suite was large (by French standards) and was very comfortable. The bed was nearly the size of an American king bed and was not too hard (like many French beds) or too soft. The best thing about La Villa is the personal service from the husband and wife owners . They even took our luggage to the ship while we explored Chalon. The only concern we had was that the hotel, like so many smaller hotels in France, had no air conditioning. However, at night in July the temperature was 68 degrees F. We opened the window to the cool breeze and no bugs. They serve breakfast only (not included), but they can suggest some of the many great restaurants in Chalon for lunch and dinner. La Villa Boucicaut was beautiful start to our French adventure.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2Dox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We arrived on a very hot day via the railway station which is a short walk away so not too bad with smaller suitcases. No taxis seen. We were staying in Chalon 1 night prior to a Viking river cruise the next day as were 2 other couples staying here. The owners were very friendly and informative. Nothing too much trouble. We had a comfortable bright ground floor room which was adapted for disabled guests so was very spacious. The shower could do with a higher setting for standing under as well as the lower setting for seated guests. There was no air conditioning in the room and just a door to the garden, no window. We were very tired after a long train journey so asked for a restaurant recommendation nearby. The hotel is linked with The Sphinx a few minutes walk away. You take a voucher that the hotel gives you and for 12 euros get a 2 course meal. No English is spoken at The Sphinx and although we speak a bit of French we were not exactly sure what the offer was ,but it seemed limited ,and we didn't really enjoy what we had. I can't comment on the a la carte menu which may have been OK. There is a road with many restaurants together on the island near the Viking dock which would have been a better bet if we had had the energy for a slightly longer walk into town.
Breakfast was a lovely buffet of croissants,bread,ham,cheese,yoghurts etc. The dining room has indoor and outdoor seating.
Free Wifi is provided but we were unable to access it for some reason. We were OK on our ship.
Check in for our cruise was after 1500 so the hotel owners suggested we walk around town which has a Sunday market and they would take our bags to the ship for us. This was a marvellous bonus and so kind of them. We were able to have a spot of lunch on our ship and found our bags tucked away waiting for us.
I would recommend this hotel as a good start or finish of a Viking cruise.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lignum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We did a stopover on our way home from Meribel. It really added to our hoiday, and we shall return.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hazel16uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chalon-sur-Saone hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Saint-Georges
Hotel Le Saint-Georges
#1 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
566 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saint Jean
Hotel Saint Jean
#7 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kyriad Chalon Sur Saone Centre
Kyriad Chalon Sur Saone Centre
#5 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Chalon Sur Saone Europe
Ibis Chalon Sur Saone Europe
#2 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saint Regis
Saint Regis
#13 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
61 reviews
0.8 mi away
Campanile Chalon-Sur-Saone
Campanile Chalon-Sur-Saone
#8 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logis A La Villa Boucicaut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis A La Villa Boucicaut

Address: 33 B avenue Boucicaut, 71100 Chalon-sur-Saone, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Chalon-sur-Saone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Chalon-sur-Saone
Price Range: $105 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Logis A La Villa Boucicaut 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Chalon sur Saône, there is a place withdrawn from the “brouhaha” of the city… A la Villa Boucicaut ***Within a few steps of the centre of the historical town, of the TGV station, easy access to the motorway north exit and the beautiful Saône, at the end of a charming green alley, you will find yourself in a calm and peaceful environment where tradition and art of living are combined… You will find it to be the perfect place to rest.The quiet, sunny and very comfortable rooms, the garden and the wood fire in the living room, they all will invite you to true relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Logis A La Villa Boucicaut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Hotel Boucicaut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing