We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel as good as its lovely restaurant”
Review of Hotel Lameloise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lameloise
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Chagny
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A hotel as good as its lovely restaurant”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed two nights at this establishment on the way back from skiing in the Alps. Although we and our two boys stayed in what were the hotel's least expensive rooms, they were absolutely lovely- very comfortable, marble bathrooms, maid service twice daily, double paned windows, complimentary minibar. We were treated royally and made to feel extremely special.

The breakfast was frankly the best breakfast I have had at a French hotel: basket of pastries, several types of organic juices, smoked salmon, various yogurts, rice pudding with mango topping, little goat cheeses with raisin-nut bread, marble cake, pata negra ham sliced to order, eggs any way... We jogged in the morning after sour extraordinary meal the previous evening and enjoyed a leisurely breakfast just before 10am. Perfect brunch which satisfied us until dinner!

The most important aspect of the hotel is, of course, the fact that it houses its unbelievable three star restaurant which was truly a memorable experience. The staff is worthy of quite high praise. We would certainly stay and eat here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ParisGrandeVoyageuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    35
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
122
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yokohama, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Having arrived directly from Paris airport, our family had a diner in this promenent restaurant in Burgandy and stayed at the hotel. We could not appreciate the dinner very much despite our expetation. We found the cuisine too salty and lacked varieties of fravours or tastes. Presentation of food was not as sofisticated and skillful as other three stars restaurants in France. This is why we wonder whether the restaurant is worth special journey as defined in Michelin guide.
Moreover breakfast was a little disappointing due to lukeworm coffee served only one cup by person. I have never had such experience in this class hotels. Wi Fi internet was not efficient. The management should seriously review the details of food, services and accomodations.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fabio3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moehlin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Simply beautifull lives up to relais chateau standards by all means lovely stay

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephyannis02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Stayed with my wife for one night last week. Hotel is smart and nice. Room and en-suite generous proportions. Very much a place for couples. But the hotel is a mere adjunct to the restaurant. My first experience of a 3 star Michelin "Theatre" ( I use the word with deliberation). The service is whisper quiet and flawless - one waiter is an Aussie (of indian extraction) and we did manage to have a more relaxed conversation with him. The maitre d was smooth as silk. Ah, and the food - well top drawer, of course. The presentation of everything was of mini-works of art. The food was delicate, flavoursome and immensely pleasing. And the breakfast was exactly the same. You were waited on hand and foot. This is how a billionaire lives his whole life. Can I find any criticism? Well one could quibble with the price, but not me - it will live in the memory for a very long time. If you want a special stay, dig deep and go! We will return.

Room Tip: Forget manouevering and just go for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank timbo1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We were fortunate enough to get a room at Lameloise on a last-minute whim, and could find no fault with the place. From the extremely friendly and helpful reception, to the well-appointed room with complimentary mini-bar items, to the free parking, we felt like we were actually getting value for the high price we were paying. Unfortunately, we were really only there long enough to eat dinner and sleep, but the town of Chagny itself seemed quite nice as well, and we would have enjoyed the opportunity to explore it a bit. The restaurant was superb and every bit deserving of its 3 Michelin stars. I hope that I am fortunate enough to be able to return one day.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequent_Flier07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarratt
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

An excellent stopping place in Burgundy with a truly outstanding Gourmet restaurant but there is also a Bistro round the corner.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuirSSarratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgware, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Many years ago we had dinner at Lameloise and were somewhat underwhelmed but having arranged a short business trip in Burgundy we decided to give it another go and try a one night stay with dinner.

Ownership and personnel have changed since then and this time we were not disappointed this time and we now whole heartedly recommend this lovely small hotel with 3 well deserved Michelin stars.

Much of what we feel has already been expressed in recent reviews here but we thought our room (one of the lowest priced) was spacious, comfortable and very good value for money.

The meal (we had the gastronimc menu at 160 Euros) was truly amazing and everything you would expect at this level of establishment, excellent presentation and flavours with first class service throughout.

I am sure we will revisit sometime.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfranks911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagny
2.5 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
421 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau de Bellecroix
4.9 mi away
Chateau de Citeaux La Cueillette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
322 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
819 reviews
8.3 mi away
Relais & Chateaux - Hostellerie de Levernois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lameloise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lameloise

Property: Hotel Lameloise
Address: 36 Place D Armes, 71150, Chagny, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Chagny
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Chagny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lameloise 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three generations of the Lameloise family have brought life to this former post house renowned for the quality of its hospitality but above all for its unique restaurant. Jacques Lameloise perpetuates the talent and culinary excellence of his father Jean and his grand-father Pierre. Today Eric Pras clearly expresses his ambition: “To continue the success story of the property and uphold the current level of excellence.” Faithful to the spirit of a place with a harmonious blend of tradition and modernity, Jacques Lameloise has prepared his succession… the encounter of desires at the right moment. The perfect balance between Eric Pras, his cuisine and the Lameloise heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lameloise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lameloise Hotel Chagny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing