We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - Well Situated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Vannes Centre Ville
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Vannes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good Hotel - Well Situated”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and I recently toured Brittany and the Loire, departing and arriving at Roscoff. During our 7 day tour, we stayed at Le Challonge Hotel at Dinan, the Mercure Borde de Loire at Saumur and the Best Western Central at Vannes. We have no hesitation in recommending all 3 hotels.
It is hard to add much to the previous good reviews. All the staff very friendly, professional and attentive to our needs. We had a room with a balcony at the front of the hotel, nevertheless there was very little noise. The room was well appointed/maintained and very clean - WiFi a bit slow.
We did not eat in the hotel, but the restaurant was well frequented which would seem to be a good recommend.
The hotel is ideally situated for access to the old streets of Vannes which in turn provide for a pleasant walk down to the quay.
Parking in France can often be a problem and so we found that the underground car park to be quite good value at 9 Euros per day, especially for protecting our car which was groaning under the weight of copious bottles of wine. The French seem to believe that a car bumper is used for literally for locating adjacent cars.
We eat at Brasserie des Halles and Le Sinagot Bar-Brasserie - see reviews.
The aquarium and butterfly farm are a pleasant 20 minute walk along the quay, but it is debatable whether the 18 Euro entry fee is reasonable.

Room Tip: There are quite a permutation of rooms - front or back - with or without balcony or patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onlymybumf238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    217
    56
    12
    5
See reviews for
80
224
26
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights while my husband had a conference nearby. In a good location to walk to the old town. There are buses near here, but it was fun to walk.

The hotel had typical Best Western amenities. Large room with balcony, good sized bathroom with tub/shower.
Breakfast, although not included in the room rate, was very nice. There is free parking across the street and underground parking for a fee.

The staff was very professional and willing to help me with my sightseeing pans.

This is a good place to stay when visiting Vannes.

We did not have dinner here, but some people that we met said the food was very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yupoarist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Used this hotel as our base for 3 days while looking to buy a House in the region.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone for a staying in Vannes.
The room was very nice with a double level and the room rate vary good value for money.
We only had used the restaurant in the Hotel once but the service was good and food was very good.We used the free car park in front of the Hotel also.
A 10 min walk from the Port but lots to see on the way down.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappell Hill, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel. The first time, we just happened upon it and decided to stay. This year we booked in advance, bringing another couple. It's even better than we remembered.

Average size, clean, comfortable rooms with fast, free wifi. Modern bathrooms with good ventilation and a balcony/patio off the bedroom. Flat screen TV offering CNN in English. Good location near center of town and free parking adjacent to the hotel or covered, secured parking for €9/night. Excellent, helpful staff.

We rarely utilize hotel restaurants but make an exception when staying at this hotel. The bar and restaurant staff are especially helpful, offering alternative suggestions to enrich your Breton experience while keeping your costs down.

I highly recommend the Best Western City Centre for your stay in Vannes.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms to the rear of the hotel have a patio and higher rooms have a balcony, overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rexaboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Really modern hotel with friendly staff and excellent space allocation/decor (had a double and twin with balcony). Twin room could have done with some black out blinds on the velux window. Only down side was that it was a brisk 10 mins walk to the port, but it is very near some shops. Free public car park opposite.

Room Tip: Worth paying for the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Arrived here not expecting a lot but were pleasantly surprised. Hotel was clean. Staff very friendly. Got an upgrade to a larger room as a Best Western member. Vannes itself was very pretty. Wifi good and air conditioning was good. Parking was In the hotel car park which is just on the side of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcjctrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We recently stayed at the Best Western Hotel Vannes. We booked a superior room which was quite large and very clean.The second day of our stay was hot and we could not get the airconditioning to work. When we contacted they staff they appeared disinterested, but did say they were aware of the problem and it would be fixed by the next day. When the problem was eventually rectified it only helped a bit, because the airconditioning was totally inadequate - the room was far too hot for sleeping.
We also had problems with the internet which kept dropping out and our jug was broken. When replaced the next jug didn't work properly either.
I think this hotel needs to pay more attention to detail because we did not particularly enjoy our stay there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vannes hotels
0.2 mi away
Escale Oceania Vannes
Escale Oceania Vannes
#1 of 32 in Vannes
550 reviews
1.4 mi away
Qualys Hotel & Spa Vannes
0.0 mi away
Kyriad Vannes Centre Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Vannes Centre - Palais des Arts
2.3 mi away
Best Western Le Roof
Best Western Le Roof
#2 of 32 in Vannes
508 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Vannes Le Port
Mercure Vannes Le Port
#11 of 32 in Vannes
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Vannes Centre Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Vannes Centre Ville

Property: Best Western Plus Vannes Centre Ville
Address: 6 Place de la Liberation, 56000, Vannes, France (Formerly Best Western Plus Centre Vannes)
Location: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Vannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Vannes
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vannes
#4 Business Hotel in Vannes
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Vannes Centre Ville 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened at spring 2007, the BEST WESTERN hotel PLUS Center Vannes is ideally located at the doors Vannes center area.At two steps of the medieval city, from its port and its shops, you will benefit from the comfort and the discrete luxury of our hotel resolutely turned towards modernity.Located at a hundred meters from the convention centre and the theater, not far from the train station or the harbor station to embark in destination of the islands, our hotel in downtown area of Vannes is the ideal place for tourism, relaxation or business.Our hotel in Vannes has 58 rooms with contemporary style, in which the majority are equipped with a balcony or a terrace. Duplex rooms with a refined and cozy style offer space and comfort for your family trips or between friends.All our rooms are equipped with air-conditioning, free wifi access, a flat screen television, a courtesy plate, an electronic lock and a safe. During your stay in Vannes, benefit from our fitness space free of access or from our private and safe underground car park.The restaurant "Cote Patio", with its aromatic garden, an innovating "cuisine" with a regional accent is proposed to you. For your late arrivals, copious snacks can be served at any hour in your room or at the bar.3 Modern and comfortable seminar rooms are at your disposal for meetings and professional events always successful in Southern Brittany.Our hotel is the ideal starting point to go to discover the Gulf of Morbihan, the port of Vannes or to stroll along the ramparts of the old city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Vannes Centre Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vannes
Vannes Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing