We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly welcome and nice food at democratic prices”

Pizzeria Villa Romana
Ranked #72 of 274 Restaurants in Vannes
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Leuven, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very friendly welcome and nice food at democratic prices”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Very friendly owner. The terrace overlooking the castle gardens are a major added value. However, only a limited number of tables (for 2 only) on the terrace can offer that view. That did not bother us. There was a very warm atmosphere, the food was good (would recommend the pizza's: they baked in the wood oven) and the prices are very democratic, so you can afford to have a nice dessert to conclude your meal. Really enjoyed our visit to this restaurant!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank RiaLaenen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    56
    25
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Best terrace view in Vannes”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Another excellent meal at our favourite Italian restaurant in Vannes. The view from the terrace over the gardens below is wonderful. Their three cheese pizza is superb: freshly made base hand shaped and wood burning oven cooked produces a lovely thin and crispy pizza that is perfect.

Helpful?
1 Thank Martin_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Panoramic Pizzeria”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We found a quiet side street as a reprieve from the bustling Vannes weekly market. The restaurant looked fairly average on the outside, but it was empty and tranquil looking at the start of lunchtime so we entered. The dining area was pleasantly decorated with the wood fire for pizzas prominent inside. We decided to try the terrace at the back. This terraced dining area was a revelation and is possibly unique in Vannes. The terrace is on the wide medieval ramparts of the town has a lovely view of the gardens that stretch round the previously moated area outside the walls. The terrace has sun shades to grant some protection from the midday glare. It is a delightful venue in which to dine. Shades of some cafes at M'dina, Malta. The restaurant even had a stack of sun hats available for clientele!

The service was efficient and friendly, even when I sent a glass of water flying (luckily no breakages). Further, food was very good and not expensive. I had a pizza from their wide ranging list of choices. It was thin, crispy and very tasty. My wife had a scallop tagliatelle, creamy and flavoursome. We were too full for desserts so we cannot comment on the qualities of that course. We recommend this peaceful terrace for a good lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SHShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were looking for a good Italian restaurant in Vannes, and researched trip advisor, but there were none in the top 30 restaurants listed. We picked this one only because it was the closest really. But what a good choice it turned out to be. The pizza was the best I have had in a long time, just perfect, both in texture and taste. The cafe gourmand for desert is not to be missed. I didnt know what it was and ordered it just to try something different, and got a tray with a small chocolate mousse, a small pannacotta, a medium sized bowl of strawberries and cream, a biscuit, and an expresso coffee. What a way to finish a meal! ! Add in a very reasonable red wine at 10 euros a litre (honestly) and you are getting really good food and drink at an excellent price. Deserves to be much higher up the rankings in my opinion.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A return visit to Villa Romana, and we found the service and food excellent, as usual.
We arrived at 12 prompt as we needed a table for 6. A weekday lunchtime saw the usual mix of tourists and locals at this popular pizzeria. The service is best described as laid back and friendly. We had a variety of pizzas, and all 6 arrived at the same time, cooked to perfection in the wood oven. We could not resist the cafe gourmand, which was a small coffee, strawberries & cream, panna cotta, and chocolate mouse... delicious!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Villa Romana also viewed

 

Been to Pizzeria Villa Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing