We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buyer BEWARE: If you like extremely noisy crowds with yelling children 20 hours per day, this is your hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Le Roof
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Vannes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2012

What a horrible experience! Beware: this hotel looks great on the internet and has some positive reviews which led us here deceptively. What the hotel information doesn't tell is that this hotel is butted up next to a busy pedestrian walkway and public beach which has non-stop noise, including yelling children and teenagers and barking dogs well into the early morning hours. When we could finally not sleep at 1 a.m. I made my way to the front desk and was told they could not control the public paths all around the hotel and they had to call the police in order to get the teenagers on the public path and beach just outside our room to stop yelling. Since there is no A/C in the rooms, you have to keep your windows open so there is no escape from this non-stop noise. To add to this nightmare, we made our reservations through Best Western 4 months in advance but were met at the front desk with a very hard denial: the room we had booked 4 months prior for our dream vacation was suddenly closed for repairs! In other words, our seaside view, large room was not available and we were put in a tiny attic-sized room for 1 night and sent across town to the Mercure hotel for the other nights. I was not allowed to view the room we had booked which was supposedly being repaired from a water leak. I am a 35 year customer of Best Western and have NEVER had such a horrible experience in my life, Caveat Emptor: Buyer Beware!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bustravelpro77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 547 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

We drove up from La Rochelle to Vannes and stayed at Le Roof Hotel. It's in a lovely setting on the coast, lots of boats on the water, there's a small beach and swimming area to one side of the hotel and another contained swimming pool to the other side which is tidel, it's a good idea.
The hotel itself is somewhat dated in style and decor, but comfortable. The sea views are great, there are seats and tables outside, you can get lost in your thoughts just sitting there admiring.
The rooms are not very big, the bathroom is quite small but adequate, very clean. We had a balcony with plastic chairs, but our room overlooked the car park.
The staff, friendly and efficient.
We just had breakfast at the hotel, it was good, self service, whatever your choice.
This would be a lovely place to escape to now and then.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the sea! And chairs on the balcony. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StellaNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is located at a peninsula, which hosts birds and some inhabitants, and attracts visitors of the small beach and the natural pool, joggers, restaurant visitors, guests of this hotel and people attending meetings in the hotel. Sometimes it feels as if the latter category dominates the other, judging from the usually full parking lot and the groups using the terrace and garden until late. For me, that takes away part of the vacation experience, as it confronts me with the business setting I'm used to in daily life.

Nevertheless, its location is extremely peaceful, with a nice view over the gulf. We enjoyed the comfortable superior room with seaview, balcony, minibar. The room lacks airco, but was not needed during our stay; temperatures where moderate and there was plenty of fresh air coming from the gulf. Breakfast was good and pleasant. The hotel hosts 2 restaurants: one busy bistro (café Le Conceau) with OK-ish food and one more quiet and a bit more expensive restaurant with better food (although I assume they share the same kitchen). It was very nice to have a drink at the garden terrace with some complimentary bites, in the late afternoon.

From the hotel it is a nice stroll the center of Vannes, along the gulf with some very nice views. Walking slowly, taking pictures, etc, this took about an hour. Vannes is a nice town with some small museums and an aquarium for rainy days. More known tourist attractions as the prehistoric fields surrounding Carnac or the peninsula of Quiberon are well doable by car from here. Next to the hotel is a small beach and a natural swimming pool and a crepe-restaurant, so on hot sunny days one could stay near the hotel as well.

Besides the presence of the business people one more critical aspect: paying with the new Best Western unit cards while not having a code with us (our fault) caused a check-out procedure of an hour (which could have been much shorter if the staff would have been more helpful). But overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcel_Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Really nice location and views, the food was nice. There was a power cut in the night that carried over to the morning, unfortunate and no doubt unavoidable.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Room clean and comfortable, average sized, not large. The room we had gave a pleasant view of the beach, but no seats on the balcony. The brasserie was very good, it can become busy so you may want to book.

Wifi was intermittent in the room we stayed in (first floor east wing) but OK in the main lounge. Parking is off-street and easy, plenty of spaces when we stayed.

If we were in the area, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: If WiFi is essential, specify you need a room with a good connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I was travelling with a friend and we stayed at Le Roof (3* Best Western) in Vannes for 3 nights in August . We found it to be very comfortable, our room overlooked the water sea estuary and had a balcony.
The hotel is located about 3kms from the main old town area. There is a free shuttle bus that takes you to the port/old town area that leaves every 20mins or so. We chose to walk in and back one day and the well-travelled paths meandered through some bush area and then followed the estuary to the port. This took us about 1 hour.
We ate each evening meal at the brasserie that is attached to the hotel and thought the seafood, their speciality, was delicious. There is a small bar, creperie and café (open through the day) located near the hotel.
There is a giant pool, filled by the tides and there were many families using this and the sea estuary as a swimming area. There was also a large camping ground located nearby.
We found the staff to be very helpful and would recommend the hotel to others who would like a peaceful break away.

Room Tip: get a room with 'sea' view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ms62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Comfortable, clean no frills hotel in "L'Ile de Conleau" in Vannes South. Located on the water, next to a park, golf course, down the street from a huge public bathing beach/"pool", and a 10 minute drive to city center. Continental breakfast is pricey, so we went to another hotel up the street where there was a complete buffet breakfast for less money. Food at the restaurant was reasonable and good. While in Vannes, see the old city by taking the "train" , an hour tour of all the important sites/sights.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vannes hotels
2.9 mi away
Qualys Hotel & Spa Vannes
2.4 mi away
Escale Oceania Vannes
Escale Oceania Vannes
#1 of 32 in Vannes
603 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Vannes Centre Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Mercure Vannes Le Port
Mercure Vannes Le Port
#12 of 32 in Vannes
589 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kyriad Vannes Centre Ville
2.8 mi away
Villa Kerasy Hotel Spa
Villa Kerasy Hotel Spa
#6 of 32 in Vannes
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Le Roof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Le Roof

Address: 10 allee des Freres Cadoret, 56000, Vannes, France
Location: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Vannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vannes
#3 Business Hotel in Vannes
Price Range: $87 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Le Roof 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Le Roof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Roof Hotel Vannes
Best Western Vannes
Vannes Best Western
Best Western Hotel Vannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing