We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite a 10 minute walk!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Vannes Le Port
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Vannes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel is actually a very good hotel and I would recommend it to anyone - as long as they like a good walk. the information said that it was very near the town of Vannes and the receptionist said that it was a 10 minute walk. I can only say that the people striding past us doing Nordic walking in a race were taking 10 minutes - we took 25 minutes!
Other than that, however, it was perfectly fine, with friendly staff and a comfortable room. The air-conditioning didn't work which made the room pretty hot at night but we took our own fan - thank goodness. Parking was free and it was easy to find. And Vannes was wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reviewer23_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 590 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

my wife and I stayed here on 17/5/2013. Nice hotel..2km walk to Vannes. We parked our car at the rear of the hotel as advised at reception, On returning to the car the following morning the rear of the car had been struck by another vehicle causing damage to the cost of 450E. Hotel staff inspected the damage and then refused to get further involved trying to say that the car was parked near the disco, which was not even on the previous night. There is no signage cautioning about restricted parking nor was I advised as such while checking in....disappointed and costly!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Mercure, Vannes for two nights recently. Hotel was clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was particularly good. BUT BEWARE THIS HOTEL IS NEXT DOOR TO A NIGHTCLUB and on the second night we were interrupted and had no sleep from midnight onwards. Constant noise from outside, cars racing round the hotel car park, fights and ambulances – a nightmare. We attempted to shut windows only to find that air con was not turned on in the hotel DESPITE BEING ADVERTISED AS A ROOM WITH AIR CONDITIONING. We did receive some compensation but not enough for a complete lost night of rest. Believe me not for the faint hearted on club nights !

Room Tip: I don't think there are any good rooms if you want a nights sleep and the club is open next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smileymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardM55
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

easy to find, not far from the city center (you need a car to get around)
clean and spacious rooms with a very large bed
bistrot availabile inhouse in case you don't want to leave the hotel for dinner

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easytraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Just arrived back from Brittany, stayed at the Mercure. Good points: Very clean, Nice size rooms, Friendly staff, Great Parking. Bad points: Location ( 15-20 min walk to main town )There is nothing near this Hotel, no Bars, Restaurants, shops etc. The Mercure has its own Restaurant but a little pricey and food very "French" ( some may love this, I found very little choice ), many agree as restaurant was quiet every evening we stayed. What the Hotel does have close by, is a Bus station. This became noisey with late night revellers at the small hours of the weekend, waking me and my wife up several times, ( not the Hotel's fault but it is a problem ). The Hotel bar was deserted most evenings with no customers or staff. Breakfast was not included in the price. We had to pay 15 euros per person per day for a basic continental, which, again, I consider a little pricey but had little choice because of location. Vannes itself is beautiful, lovely harbour, lots of restaurants (avoid Don Camillo, worst Pizza's ever!), bars and shops. We travelled around Brittany alot over the weeks stay and found Vannes and Carnac to be our favourite places. Will be going back again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D5UTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Good value on the prepay package, 20 minute walk to town but free navette available.
Clean, well equipped air conditioned rooms, friendly staff and brilliant breakfast.
Surroundings a bit dull with views over the car parks and boat builders but good walks available.
Round the World catamaran builders nearby, the sheer size of the boats is amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicciB44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vannes hotels
2.5 mi away
Qualys Hotel & Spa Vannes
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Vannes Centre Ville
1 mi away
Best Western Le Roof
Best Western Le Roof
#3 of 32 in Vannes
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Escale Oceania Vannes
Escale Oceania Vannes
#1 of 32 in Vannes
603 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kyriad Vannes Centre Ville
0.2 mi away
Golfe Hotel
Golfe Hotel
#7 of 32 in Vannes
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Vannes Le Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Vannes Le Port

Address: 19 rue Daniel Gilard | Le Parc du Golfe, 56000, Vannes, France
Location: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Vannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vannes
Price Range: $81 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Vannes Le Port 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short stroll from the jetty where you can visit the Morbihan gulf . 1Km from the Cathedral and its ramparts and the Museum "La Cohue". A/C luxury rooms. Regional cuisine. Meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Vannes Le Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Carnac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing