We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An good example of how great service with a smile is worth so much!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Le Duguesclin
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Saint-Brieuc
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“An good example of how great service with a smile is worth so much!”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Not the fanciest, nor by any means the roomiest of hotels, but situated in a great spot with a staff who went out of their way to try to make everything work. Rooms are clean and comfortable although very small, breakfast was very good, with eggs involved. Location bang in the centre of everything.
All in all a pleasant stay

Room Tip: there are some larger rooms and suites so worth checking if you need more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pheephox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    88
    41
    10
    0
See reviews for
14
107
5
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for two nights in the annexe of the hotel on the third floor looking out over the square. The first room I was given smelled of cigarette smoke, despite a no-smoking policy in the hotel. However the very helpful receptionist immediately moved me to another room opposite which had no smell. The room was clean, comfortable and the bathroom was particuarly spacious. The free wifi wasn't working when I first arrived, but someone was working on it already and had fixed it within half an hour of my arrival.

I had no problems in the annexe, and it was always possible to go to the main building (despite the Breton rain!) for assistance if necessary. My only problem was with the noisy locals in the square at night. On both nights of my stay I was kept awake by young people shouting, screaming and carrying on in the square directly underneath my window. Despite being on the third floor and keeping my window closed I still was able to hear the noise from the square.

Of course my only complaint has nothing to do with the hotel itself, but if you're considering this hotel, perhaps ask for a room facing away from the square. I stayed on a Thursday and Friday night so maybe it would be quieter on other nights.

Enjoyed the hotel, just not the noise from the square!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TravellingScot12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in August 2012, as it happened the warmest week of the year! We booked because of the reviews on here and the Best Western reputation.
Our room was in the front of the main hotel, not the annex. Unfortunately the area in front of the hotel was the meeting place for the local drunks each night! As it was so warm we had our window open and the noise outside woke us up each night from about 3am.
The restaurant on the front of the hotel is of excellent quality, with good service and seating inside or out. Varied menu choices, including local seafood and typical French meat dishes.
Free wifi is available but wasn't on all the time we were there; probably just a glitch!
Room wasn't too bad, not as nice as their website suggests, but bathroom bright and clean.
Overall, not too bad, but could be better for the money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuernseyTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

First class Best Western hotel in wonderful town. Rooms were great, first class items such as blankets, towels, toiletries, etc. Breakfast was included and incredible, beyond the norm. Parking provided in guarded basement of shopping center across the way. Interesting church nearby, lots of street restaurants nearby also. Cost was about $75 a night. There are two parts to the hotel, with access card controlled to the newer branch. The management, especially Sophie, were really helpful, including when the wi-fi server wasn't working properly. They stopped what they were doing and came fright over to fix it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank overbid2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceredigion
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Stayed with group on a town twinning trip. Excellent location, great food, helpful, professional hotel staff. Stayed in the hotel annexe- rooms spacious and very comfortable. Spotlessly clean- good facilities. Would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western L, Responsable réception at Best Western Le Duguesclin, responded to this review, August 19, 2015
Google Translation
Chers clients,

Je vous remercie vivement pour votre enthousiasme et votre adorable commentaire. Des commentaires clairs et positifs comme le vôtre nous motivent tous les jours et nous aident à nous dépasser en fournissant constamment des prestations de qualités à nos clients.

En espérant avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir lors d'un prochain séjour à St Brieuc,

bien cordialement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Brieuc hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edgar
Hotel Edgar
#3 of 9 in Saint-Brieuc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Clisson
Hotel de Clisson
#1 of 9 in Saint-Brieuc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Saint-Brieuc Gare Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ker Izel Hotel
Ker Izel Hotel
#2 of 9 in Saint-Brieuc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Champ de Mars
Hotel du Champ de Mars
#6 of 9 in Saint-Brieuc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
3.0 mi away
Relais de Beaucemaine
Relais de Beaucemaine
#7 of 9 in Saint-Brieuc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Le Duguesclin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Le Duguesclin

Property: Best Western Le Duguesclin
Address: 2 Place Duguesclin, 22000 Saint-Brieuc, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Le Duguesclin)
Location: France > Brittany > Cotes-d'Armor > Saint-Brieuc
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Saint-Brieuc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Le Duguesclin 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Le Duguesclin in Saint-Brieuc Bay is the ideal place to stay as a base to explore Brittany. With a central location on the regional map, we are the right location for trips to the main tourist spots which are all within 100 kilometers, such as Dinard, Saint-Malo, Perros-Guirec, Brehat, and Cap Frehel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Le Duguesclin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing