We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate hotel for ferry stopovers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Armen Le Triton
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Roscoff
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were here for 2 nights and it was a little unusual, or maybe we have been lucky with our hotel choices before-usually researching TA more than I did when we booked this.

The hotel is clean, in a good position for walking into Roscoff in about 10 minutes and parking is easy. It just seems a bit basic. Reception was an issue for us as it was rarely manned and although the owner was helpful and spoke good English no-one else seemed to, so asking for the tea/coffee tray inc kettle that the room brochure said was available free from reception proved very difficult, even when I went back to the room to fetch the brochure and pointed to the French translation! (Sad to say but my French language skills are pathetic)
There are no public rooms and the only time we saw other residents was at breakfast, even though the hotel seemed pretty full. There is a garden but nothing to sit on.
The lift only goes up to the second floor, we were on the third in a fairly small room, made worse by the sloping ceiling. The bathroom was long and thin and a struggle to negotiate around the bidet and basin to get to the loo. A bath but no shower, carpets and a lot of pink tiles.

So, overall it was ok but could have been a lot better.

Room Tip: Didn't see any others but ours was 42, on top floor with a nice view but not of sea, no balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Merriott-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 381 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

Roscoff is the most delightful town in northern Brittany; it is well worth visiting on its own merits but it is also the point for further travel to the amazing Ile de Batz as well as for returning to the UK with the wonderful Brittany Ferries. There are some first rate hotels and Michelin starred restaurants in Roscoff - again worth the visit. Sadly, this hotel is nowhere near those high standards. We needed somewhere to stay at very short notice in Roskoff and thanks to the Tour de France a voile there were very few spaces to stay. Hotel Armen did have space. Perhaps there was a reason for this availability. OK so we were only there for one night but the room was very basic to say the least - seemed to be styled on Romanian 1950's chic - and not worth the 96 Euros by any means. The double bed was very small, the TV in our room did not work - very basic and over-priced!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MartinJSDyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

An ideal French style small hotel in a quiet area close to all amenities. The room had everything we needed, even tea and coffee making facilities were available if needed. This used to be just B & B but now the thoughtful proprietors do a small selection of snacks for a light evening meal despite there being plenty of good restaurants close to hand. Very peaceful an comfortable night followed by a breakfast with plenty of choice, French style - delicious patisserie and good quality coffee with an assortment of cold meat, cheese, crepes, yoghurt and fruit. We did the 3 night ferry break and made the right choice of hotel here - although we have stayed here before. Staff extremely friendly and plenty of information for tourists available. Nice large garden with plenty of parking. WE had a pleasant stay and would be quite happy here for a longer time.

Room Tip: There are superior rooms on the west side of the hotel with small balconies which would catch the af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yachties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We have stayed in Roscoff on many occasions, for short breaks, but this was the first time at this hotel and we were pleasantly surprised. The owner was friendly, helpful and spoke good English. Our room on the first floor was a good size, clean and nicely decorated, with good sized TV (which had BBC World channel); comfortable and large double bed; and separate loo (always a bonus!). If we stayed here again, we would ask for a room with a stand-alone shower, as although there was a shower spray in the small bath, it couldn't be fixed up high and there was no shower curtain anyway. Breakfast was good - normal continental with everything you would expect - nice croissants and bread, fresh fruit and freshly made coffee. There is no restaurant, but the hotel is only a few minutes walk away from all the restaurants in Roscoff. Plenty of on-site parking too. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel, and no doubt will stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KernowTravellers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I booked the Roscoff 3 night break to this hotel which was an over night sailing on the Thursday evening and 2 nights in this hotel. Unfortunately our break was cut short and we had to come back a day early due to ferry being cancelled because of the weather so we only actually stayed for one night. I booked 3 double rooms and when we arrived we were given 3 keys and went upstairs to our rooms. My room was lovely (room 11) but the other two rooms were very dated. One of the party asked to change rooms which they did but we're asked to pay for an upgrade which was very odd because the upgraded room was the same standard as our room which we didn't have to pay extra for. The hotel seems a little run down but was clean and the owner was very pleasant. The continental breakfast was very nice, cheese, ham, croissants, yoghurts etc and as much as you could eat. Roscoff itself is a lovely town which we have always bypassed when coming off the ferry but I would definitely visit again. I would stay at this hotel for a stop over but wouldn't book a lengthy stay. The rooms need to be upgraded unless you pick room 11 or any of the rooms on the second floor which all seemed to be refurbished.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank katielaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a pleasant location within easy walking distance of the beach, harbour and town. There are amenities for children and the rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. Anyone coming in or going out in a car on the ferry would find this convenient and there is plenty if parking space.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JANICE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were met with a very warm welcome, my husband tried his best French however the owner spoke very good English which made things a lot easier! The room wasn't ready but that wasn't a problem as we had to go into Roscoff to book a restaurant for later. The room was clean and comfortable, the bathroom does require a little work as it was a little shabby but was also very clean, well equipped and I had a lovely soak in the little French bath (I'm short so was ideal for me), it has an over bath shower. The décor was bright orange, which made us laugh as soon as we walked in! I had one of the best nights sleep that I have ever had when in a hotel, the bed was just right, not too soft. Breakfast was a continental breakfast, plenty of choice and of good quality. This hotel is basic but it is clean and comfortable and we would use it again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2014_Yorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roscoff hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel de la Mer Roscoff
0.2 mi away
Ibis Roscoff Bord de Mer
0.2 mi away
Hotel aux Tamaris
Hotel aux Tamaris
#1 of 12 in Roscoff
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre
Hotel d'Angleterre
#11 of 12 in Roscoff
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Residence des Artistes
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Chez Janie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Armen Le Triton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Armen Le Triton

Address: Rue du Docteur Bagot, 29681 Roscoff, France
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Roscoff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Roscoff
Price Range: $66 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Armen Le Triton 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Armen Le Triton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armen Le Triton Hotel
Hotel Armen Le Triton Roscoff, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing