We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly no frills hotel”
Review of Hotel d'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel d'Angleterre
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Roscoff
Hartlepool, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly no frills hotel”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have stayed here 3 or 4 times now. If you want 4* go elsewhere, but if you want a friendly, comfortable and full of character hotel this is the place!
The food is excellent and everything is reasonably priced. The Plat du Jour was Euro 9.50 and excellent.

The lady gave us a guided tour of the stained glass explaining the different motifs in the centre which varied according to the original use of the room, so the smoking room had pipes and cigars, the dining room foods etc.

We love it!

Room Tip: room 17 was fine, but it's down the corridor to the toilet, about 7 metres. There's a basin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ralph-Gabbatiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    25
    20
    14
    18
See reviews for
17
35
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have just returned from my most recent visit to the Hotel D'Angleterre in Roscoff. As usual the welcome was warm and my room clean, comfortable and most affordable , the most reasonably priced in Roscoff. Being exhausted from a long day of travel I retired immediately with the window wide open , it being off the beaten track away from the bars and nightlife and yet conveniently located for beaches , church and a stones throw away from the main street. One is not troubled with noise and the tranquility and fresh coastal Breton air is wonderful, ensuring a good nights sleep . Breakfast after a bracing walk at dawn along the sea front, a very short walk from the hotel , consisted of piping hot fresh french coffee (au lait pour mois) as much as you can drink , orange juice , petit pains and croissant with butter and a selection of conserves , (some of which were home made ) there was also breton cake ( a buttery fresh madeira style ) , yoghurt and fresh fruit available . The hotel is full of old world Breton charm and history, the secret garden is worth discovering and I helped myself to fresh blackcurrants at no charge :) Having stayed here previously and having availed myself of a most enjoyable Breton fish supper on that occasion, I decided upon taking lunch here, which was entirely the right decision . Whilst the village and its restaurants were swarming with tourists being fleeced with the standard fare on offer, all busy and noisy and cramped to full capacity, I enjoyed the cool calm of the restaurant of the hotel , sharing it with some 3 retired French couples , who appeared to know something of food and wine , enjoying the provenance of the day with a choice selection from the wine list in the cool Breton charm. The dining room is an oasis of sanity on a hot afternoon, drinking in the past splendour and history which is quite apparent, it is like stepping back in time to a more tranquil and civilised age . For my lunch, I chose the chicken pate which was most flavoursome , fresh and home made with french bread and tasty garnishes . I followed this with the fish dish of the day, which was Salmon Fricasse , the cream sauce was an incredible and delightful assault on the senses . The waitress did not hesitate in replenishing my bread basket, I succumbed to a second glass of the dry white wine recommended by my hostess. For dessert I chose a caramel ice cream topped with whipped cream , it was full of flavour and icy entirely and definitely the correct decision for a hot afternoon . There were ample choices on the menu , either a la carte , table d'hote or a snack of spaghetti bolgnesia for a mere Euros 6.50 for those on a low budget. I cannot recommend this hotel and its restaurant enough , it has to be Roscoff's best kept secret , I should not really be singing its praises so highly as if it becomes as popular as I suspect it will , I may have difficulty in booking for my next trip , which cannot come soon enough .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank majical1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

A lovely building from the outside and Madam was most welcoming but......
Room 9 was terrible. The carpet was very badly stained and the furniture was a complete mishmash of red and blue painted chipboard and stainless steel cafe-type chairs.
The sheets were clean and fresh and the bed was comfortable.
My advice would be check your room before paying - Madam offered to show us but we declined! From previous reviews it appears that some of the other rooms are much better.
We arrived of the late ferry and left at 7am for the long drive down to the Charente so didn't try the food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlottetheharlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Roscoff hotels

Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed one night in Hotel d'Angleterre. We walked from the port to the hotel and found it very easy to find. Upon arriving we were impressed with outside appearance of the building, very French and very charming. Check in was a piece of cake, "Madame" was very polite and very efficient. Our room was spacious and extremely clean. The only fault was the toilet, after flushing it i would fill up all night due to a small leak, however me and my partner are deep sleepers so the noise didn't bother us at all. "Madame" also arranged a taxi for us for the following morning which arrived on time and was surprisingly cheap! The hotel had a restaurant too which we didn't eat in but smelt very good! Everything was a short walk from the hotel and in the evening there is a lovely conservatory with sofas and a pool table. There is no bar but "Madame" will dig out some beers and wines if you ask nicely! On the whole great value for money, would stay there again if I was in Roscoff!

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 12 and 13, they had a washroom with hand basin and toilet, the shower and bath wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sej69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My favourite hotel in Roscoff, this building has so much charm and history and is authentic Bretagne , a friendly welcome, a good nights rest , and affordable accommodation , I never stay anywhere else when in Roscoff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank majical1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

If you want a luxury hotel with modern decore-----stay away.

If you want charm and a place that just oooozes with old world character give Hotel d'Angleterre a chance.
It's obvious the place is shabby. Upon first arrival you can't help but notice the smell of onions, the halls are gloomy, the soft furnishing mismatched and frankly quite out of date.
So why such a good review?
The place is cheap, very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
And for better or worse...it is so very very French. The dining hall hails from a romantic era long lost, The garden is gorgeously lush, and when wandering around its foliage, one cannot help but feel time has stood still.
It's like staying at your french pen pal's great grandmother's.......warts, charm and all.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChippyFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This hotel is bursting with character from the outside, and full of "furniture through the ages" inside... But it all comes together rather sweetly, combining 70's kitsch with a look from grander eras. The room was clean and comfortable, the owners/manager were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was typical continental, and we had a lovely time. Only negative comment is: the pillows were the size of postage stamps!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an extra pillow whatever room you are in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzyhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roscoff hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Roscoff Bord de Mer
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel de la Mer Roscoff
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#12 of 12 in Roscoff
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Chez Janie
0.1 mi away
Hotel aux Tamaris
Hotel aux Tamaris
#2 of 12 in Roscoff
452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Residence des Artistes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre

Property: Hotel d'Angleterre
Address: 28 rue Albert de Mun, 29680 Roscoff, France
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Roscoff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Roscoff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel d'Angleterre 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new team of the Hotel d'Angleterre will be happy to welcome you to its recently renovated establishment (April 2017). New bedding. An aperitif will be offered the evening of your arrival in its new bar lounge or in its park of 2000m ² full west with the shelter of the glances. We will put everything in place to make your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Angleterre Hotel Roscoff
Hotel D'Angleterre Roscoff, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing