We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb, need I say more?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Brittany & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Brittany & Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Roscoff
Certificate of Excellence
Camberley, UK
Level Contributor
153 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Superb, need I say more?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a very good hotel but to enjoy it to the full you need not to have to worry about money or to have enough it not to gulp at cider for 29 Euros a 75cl bottle or 50 minutes in the hamman at 60 Euros per person. But even by not enjoying the sauna or massages or apple-based alcoholic drinks the hotel is well worth visiting and enjoying. The staff are studiously polite, attentive, helpful and courteous and hotel enjoys wonderful views of Roscoff’s harbour and the sea beyond. The entrance/reception is magnificent and whether you approach it from the car park (at floor one) or from the road (ground floor) you cannot fail to be impressed by the grandeur and style. Viewed from the road it is an attractive building which looks old and traditional. Old it may be but the image presented belies the rather boutique like fee of some of the rooms. We had one on the ground floor close to the swimming pool: good sized bed (comfortable too); decent bathroom, well appointed with ample up-market toiletries and a powerful shower; TV, good-sized wardrobe, sofa and desk and kettle and cups and drinks and a small ‘fridge (but nothing in it leaving you the ability to fill it yourself). No real view but the room (which was a reversed J-shape) has access to a spacious terrace which is shared by other rooms on the same level and overlooked by an apartment block. So, the room was comfortable and had a different feel to it because of the lack of a window with a view. Decent sized bar/lounge and excellent restaurant (le Yachtman) which also serves as the breakfast room. The swimming pool (about 10m x 6m with variable depth from 1.1m to just over 2m) is heated and is nicely situated in the spa complex. We had it virtually to ourselves in early April and in high season it could get busy. Not overly-equipped with loungers (about 10 I think) which would rapidly get used when busy. Good showers by the pool. The hamman was sized for 2 or three at best. Everything clean and well-maintained. Breakfast offered plenty of choice (fresh orange juice was most welcome) and there no stinting on what you could help yourself to (an impressive array of preserves and confitures). Dinner (menu starting at 46 Euros) was worth every cent. Apart from all of that what is so good about this hotel is the staffs’ attitude: helpful and attentive and with all those little touches that make you feel special like opening doors for you, seating you properly and all those other small gestures that are increasingly rare these days. It was churlish of me to make a snide dig at some of the prices. Yes, it’s not cheap but the standard is impressively high. Well worth visiting and if we’re back in Roscoff we’d stay again.

Room Tip: Smile. Front rooms face the sea and have excellent views, those at the hotel's rear less attrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaptainPicard_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    129
    48
    14
    5
See reviews for
56
468
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Overnight stay with full use of Spa facilities together with a gastronomic adventure in the evening.
This trip to celebrate multiple birthdays was enhanced by the friendliness of the staff, the incredible evening menu and wines.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms make the full experience special
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquitaine, France
Level Contributor
452 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

We stopped off here for dinner on way to the ferry to Plymouth, and then stayed a night on the way back home. It was perfect in every way. The dinner was rushed as we had limited time before the sailing, but despite a crowded restaurant the staff made sure we were well looked after in the time available. The food and service were excellent. On the way back we had pre-ordered a cold late supper for our arrival from the ferry at 10.00pm ... Again the food was interesting, varied, creative and faultless. Our room did not have a view (we arrived at 10.00pm and left at 9.00am the next day so not a priority) but had a small useable walled courtyard. The room was a reasonable size, comfortable and well equipped. The staff are well trained, pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was wonderful, unlike most hotels in France who tend to consider a croissant and 2 cigarettes as a balanced breakfast, and was full of interesting choices in the buffet as well as a la carte. We will definitely stay again, and I highly recommend it for those who are not on a tight budget. We have stayed in many Relais and Chateaux hotels and I would consider Le Brittany, and definitely the restaurant, at the better end of the group.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LesH211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have been travelling to north west France for the last twenty years, attending the Celtic Festival in Lorient and have been impressed by the consistently high standard of service we have enjoyed staying at the Le Brittany. Staff are courteous, welcoming and pleased to assist in making our stay enjoyable. The secure car park is essential when travelling overnight to or from the ferry. The wide variety of rooms are quiet, clean, comfortable and recently refurbished to a high specification. Some rooms have a private patio with sunbeds leading to the spa and swimming pool. The restaurant has a spendid view over a little sandy beach and the bay of Roscoff with small islands and fishing boats moored in the harbour of the town. The cuisine is excellent, selecting local Breton produce with superb fresh sea food. The chef will also prepare vegetarian options, by request, which is appreciated.We have also enjoyed this year visiting Chez Janey, a restaurant linked to the hotel overlooking the promenade. Looking forward to our next trip in 2013. Guy&Janet R.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We booked this hotel through Brittany Ferries and it was a reasonable price. We had no idea it was so good until we got there. We probably had the cheapest room there but it was good though not huge. We had a sort of side room attached through which we could access a patio area. This was useful. Bathroom lovely and gorgeous freebies. Lovely position slightly outside the town centre so nice and quiet. Old part of the hotel is like a castle! The restaurant looks over the sea - a view to die for. Breakfast is in there and was excellent. Restaurant staff were just about perfect. We had dinner there one night - it was expensive but worth it for a special occasion. We will go back, probably booking through Brittany Ferries again to make the price reasonable. There was a spa and pool though we did not use them

Room Tip: A sea view would be nice but probably very expensive. Our room in the new part was fine but only wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

love this hotel in my motherland. i happened to stay in this hotel few months ago and i have enjoyed my stay with your hotel. rooms are very clean, service is excellent. and foods are fantastic. love this hotel and do not hesitate to recommend this hotel to any of my friends in other countries..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

our 2 nd stay at this hotel and again such a treat! wonderful staff gorgeous rooms a spa and beautiful indoor swimming pool. iys a wonderful location 2 mins from the ship and right by a lovely little beach, we love it here and are already booking to come back :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roscoff
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel de la Mer Roscoff
0.7 mi away
Le Temps de Vivre
Le Temps de Vivre
#5 of 12 in Roscoff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Thalasstonic de Roscoff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Logis De La Butte
Logis De La Butte
#1 of 1 in Plouider
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel aux Tamaris
Hotel aux Tamaris
#3 of 12 in Roscoff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Residence des Artistes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brittany & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brittany & Spa

Property: Hotel Brittany & Spa
Address: Boulevard Sainte Barbe, 29680 Roscoff, France
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Roscoff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Roscoff
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Roscoff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Roscoff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brittany & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brittany & Spa is a 17th century manor by the sea, completly renovated, with indoor swimming pool, spa and very closed acces to the beach. Juste 5 mns walking from the Marina and Ferries port. 23 Rooms and apartments ensuite, satellite tv, free wifi, coffee and tea maker... Our Restaurant (Le Yachtman) with as executive chef Loic Le Bail. Wonderful views on the all harbour and Isle of Batz. You will appreciate the wonderful sunset from the restaurant or on the terrace. We offer you a free access to our indoor heated swimming pool and private acces to our spa with suplt. For your security, we offer you private and safe car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Brittany & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Brittany Hotel
Le Brittany Roscoff
Hotel Brittany & Spa Roscoff, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing