We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quiberon gem”
Review of La Chaumine

La Chaumine
Ranked #2 of 104 Restaurants in Quiberon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $33
Cuisines: French, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed July 14, 2018

Thank you, fellow TA reviewers, for pointing us to La Chaumine. It's not in centre ville, but well worth the walk. We enjoyed the "grande" something menu, crab or oysters as a starter, followed by excellent sole. There were other choices; even the raie on the less expensive menu looked excellent. Everything we had, the crab, the oysters, and the sole was excellent. The desserts were very good, though not quite as wonderful. We'll be returning to La Chaumine--and yes, we'll be reserving in advance.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 356 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2018

Based on the positive reviews we read in Tripadvisor we reserved 3 weeks prior and showed up a few minutes before our time. Our table was given away, no excuse was given but a denial of ever receiving our call...But they did us a favor, we went instead to a delicious diner at L'Atlantique where we were welcomed with open arms!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank becjonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2017 via mobile

Quiberon is a mixture of the worst France can offer. A thoroughly petit bourgeois mentality, the celebration of mediocrity, marred by envy.
Parking now disabled wherever possible. A sea too cold to swim. Shops trading down, and then disappearing.
A few sun rays boycott the doom. The small airport offers scenic flights, and its bar drinkable cidre and cafe. The poissonnerie Les Viviers across the church entrance is worth an expensive shopping trip. And within walking distance you may entrust your gastroenterological deficits to Madame. She can be less digestable than her fare; in the past I played with the idea of presenting her with a cactus. She warmed up recently, and I am happy to recommend her Aile de Raie beurre noisette, or the classical Turbot poche (insist on sauce hollandaise, and reject beurre Nantaise).

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank P6237QPthomasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2016

Service and atmosphere are perfect. The menu is extremely well thought out and the wine list superbly balanced to suit the food.
An absolute gem of a restaurant.... Booking recommended even off season.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thatsagoodname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2016

We went here twice on our recent trip to Quiberon.
Even though our French isn't perfect we found it very easy to understand the menus and the hostess spoke very clear French. This is a very friendly family run restaurant that clearly has many regulars. Reservations strongly advised.
3 Different menus, all full of lovely fresh fish and seafood.
Sole meuniere was the dish of the day for us, highly recommended.
A great find!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mp1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Chaumine also viewed

Quiberon, Morbihan
 
Quiberon, Morbihan
 

Been to La Chaumine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing