We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable nights sleep, great location”
Review of Balzac Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Balzac Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fougeres
Reviewed May 14, 2014

friendly welcome, easy check in, parking is a bit of a find, but receptionist explanation was good, past the hotel 2nd on the left, and just turn in right before the statue of man and horse and you go in for the underground car park which is free. thought I would share that information, as when you just arrive in a new place finding parking can be a bit daunting. you wouldn't easily find it without hotel receptionist explanation.

great location positioned very well and I have also reviewed a very nice restaurant just at the end of the road going towards the square.

comfortable nights sleep in a cosy bed, we had a room at the front of the hotel with nice views, the bells didn't worry us.

don't miss going to the chateau about 10 minute walk, it is wonderful and the views from the park are absolutely stunning,

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CathS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 129 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

The room was very basic, but clean and quiet. The price was fair. The reception was friendly. We stayed on a holiday night and aprdciated the restaurant suggestions. The best things about this hotel were the excellent location and the homemade jam at breakfast which was otherwise mediocre. if we make another trip to Fougeres, we would stay there again.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank AIR12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed 2 nights here in the ground floor twin room. The room and the bathroom were very basic and the room was rather stuffy as the window opened into a grotty space at the rear of the building. The breakfast was fine and Madam was helpful and friendly. We were able to get on-street parking on the road behind the hotel and the location is excellent for both the old town and the new. It's a steep but interesting walk to the castle.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlpineTravellerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had a triple room here and stayed overnight on a Monday after visiting St Mont Michel.

We were greeted by friendly hosts and everything you needed was in the room. The rooms are older, traditional style. We didn't like the bathroom door as it was a pull across door not a solid door. The bed was too soft which was a concern for my husband. The bathroom though was large and had a very large bath tub. We couldn't get WIfi to work in the room.

We found parking on the road easily enough but could not find a restaurant in walking distance - everything seemed closed although it was Monday. We had to end up eating in a snack place .

This is a very central small hotel and it is very good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limlib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here in May and found the accomdation very comfortable. Rooms were not large, but adequate and clean. Hotel is well located, but only on street parking that proved to be no problem for us however we were there on a Sunday night. Cautiion re Sunday eve - no restaurants open in the immediate vicinity. Little corner bar was open and we had a beverage there before driving a short distance to a chain restaurant "Buffalo Grill" - amusing to see the menu etc. in french while trying to be a western USA establishment. Food was good.! I would stay there again if in the area, but would try to arrange my travel to not be there on Sunday. The couple that run it are very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Punks_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights recently. The room was very comfortable - we expected it to be small. The bathroom was nicely large and I enjoyed a nice bath after a busy day. Everything was clean and in good working order. Couldn't have asked for more. The owners were very kind and generous with their time - making dinner recommendations, answering questions... I'd recommend this hotel to friends/relatives and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

As mentioned in other reviews the rooms are small but clean and the hotel is in a very central location. The owners are friendly and Mme has speaks excellent English and the breakfast is good. There is room for motorcycles in the alley out the back.

On the down side if you want the window open for ventilation the bells from the clock are every quarter hour and are loud. You won't notice this early on Saturday mornings however when the street market starts to set up, drowning out the bells completely.

We thought that the hotel would need a bit of maintenance to get it above an average rating.

Room Tip: If there are rooms not facing the street these would be a better choice if staying on a Friday night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertJGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fougeres
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Des Voyageurs
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Bretagne
Hotel de Bretagne
#5 of 7 in Fougeres
43 reviews
1.0 mi away
Campanile Fougeres
Campanile Fougeres
#4 of 7 in Fougeres
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Brit Hotel du Parc
Brit Hotel du Parc
#1 of 7 in Fougeres
115 reviews
8.5 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#1 of 1 in Saint-Brice-en-Cogles
263 reviews
15.9 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#5 of 6 in Vitre
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balzac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balzac Hotel

Address: 15 rue Nationale, 35300 Fougeres, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Fougeres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fougeres
Price Range: $69 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Balzac Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Balzac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balzac Hotel Fougeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing