We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Des Voyageurs
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fougeres
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We were very lucky to have a room at this very central hotel. Our bedroom was very roomy and served by an excellent en suite facility. Everything there was fresh, clean and tidy. The staff helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was an excellent buffet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belvedere116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    103
    46
    9
    5
See reviews for
26
119
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The staff was very nice and actually waited for our very late arrival. The room was small but exceptionally clean, comfortable and modern. We did have a small desk with chair as well in our room. Breakfast was very nice with a good selection of breads, cheeses, fruit, yogurt, eggs, etc. My only complaint might be that at the time we arrived the parking available was down the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharibarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Five nights in any hotel is not easy especially if, like most people you cannot stay in Sofitels all of the time. Clean and new rooms with a comfortable bed, but no decent chair to rest in. As usual in Europe no fridge and no Aircon.

Breakfast acceptable but not spectacular. Location is very good but no parking. Staff friendly.

Limited guest facilities, no bar and the restaurant on-site is too up market for everyday dining.

Overall nothing to rave about but nothing unexpected.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alundj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The pictures are a little deceiving - this must have been their suite in the main photo, because ours must have been half the size, if that. My partner resorted to going for a walk whilst I was getting ready for dinner, because he was seriously claustrophobic in this room.

It was a little hot and stuffy and we didn't open the window because then you'd hear the noise from the street below (the hotel was on a roundabout).

It's not far from the main attractions (the castle and the beautiful gardens), about a 20 minute walk, but parking is not easy. The hotel has no parking - limited parking outside the hotel but this is 30 min max from 9am - 7pm.

I've given it an average rating, because to be fair, for £66 it wasn't hideously expensive. But we'd have paid a little more for a better quality of hotel, had we known. We love Best Westerns, but this one is not a place we'd go back to, unfortunately.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank whoknows12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Location was fantastic and Fougeres is a fantastic base for exploring the surrounding areas of Brittany and Normandy, especially Mont St Michel and the medieval town of Vitre. The hotel is a good standard 3 star hotel, just don't expect luxury, which at the price you pay anyway you must expect luxury. The triple room I stayed in was comfy enough, and fitted three people in well. The breakfast was good, and even included local specialities. The staff were very friendly, and were always willing to answer our questions about the area and the way to get to

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a small recently redecorated room overlooking the round about (the address is misleading as it is not a square - place) but a roundabout. It was very hot and opening the window was not really an option given the traffic. Only 2 car park spaces at the front but a car park in the back street about 100m from hotel. They have a garage where we were able to lock up our bikes. Their website shows great pictures but in reality part of the hotel is quite dated, and given it is off the street, it is not the quiet retreat one could expect

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Fougeres was an unexpected stop on our trip between Normandy & Loire - what a pleasant surprise, great little town with a castle, moat & manicured gardens! A one-night stay at this hotel was perfect - there is a great walking tour you can take from the hotel.

We found easy street parking across the street for the evening (moved the car by 9am the next day to a free parking lot about 5 minute walk away - ask front desk for directions).

Front desk staff were lovely & pleasant - helpful with any questions. I believe their reception closes at 10pm, so do email ahead of time if you think you will be arriving later.

Room was completely renovated & clean, spacious modern bathroom with rainhead shower. Wifi was free and consistent.

Soundproofed room, didn't hear a thing at night. Big comfy beds. Elevator handy for taking luggage to the room. We had a regular room with 2 queen beds.

The price is a bit higher than what I'd expect in an un-touristed town, but would be good value in any city (or an exceptional value in Paris)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ja_rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fougeres
0.1 mi away
Balzac Hotel
Balzac Hotel
#3 of 7 in Fougeres
128 reviews
1.4 mi away
Brit Hotel du Parc
Brit Hotel du Parc
#1 of 7 in Fougeres
109 reviews
0.9 mi away
Campanile Fougeres
Campanile Fougeres
#4 of 7 in Fougeres
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#1 of 1 in Saint-Brice-en-Cogles
252 reviews
16.3 mi away
Ibis Vitre Centre Ville
18.8 mi away
Best Western Le Moulin De Ducey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Des Voyageurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Des Voyageurs

Property: Best Western Hotel Des Voyageurs
Address: 10 Place Gambetta, 35300 Fougeres, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Fougeres
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fougeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Des Voyageurs 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel in the heart of Fougèresclose to Mont Saint MichelThe tranquillity, warm welcome and full range of services provide an invitation to relax and make the most of your stay in our charming hotel. Take the advice of the Michelin Guide and come and stay at the Best Western Hôtel des Voyageurs!Convenient: besides its excellent location at the foot of the castle, belfry, public gardens and town centre restaurants, the hotel is within easy reach of all the major attractions of Brittany and Normandy, via a toll-free motorway (Rennes (30 mins) Mont Saint Michel, the D-Day landing beaches, Saint-Malo etc.) Breakfast. Breakfast. The all-you-can-eat buffet breakfast includes carefully selected tasty, regional ingredients often organically produced and fair trade sourced.Our buffet breakfast is served in the dining room and comprises a wide range of hot and cold drinks (coffee, tea, herbal tea, milk, and freshly-squeezed orange juice), cornflakes, cereals, jams, ham and a large selection of cheeses, dairy products, breads and pastries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Des Voyageurs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Voyageurs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing