We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant/hotel with magnificent coastal view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Restaurant Pointe du Grouin
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Cancale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Do you enjoy coastal beauty and fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere, this is the place to stay. The hotel is situated smack in the middle of the beautiful scenery of Pointe du Grouin and is well worth a detour. If you like hiking, there is a Grande Randonnée following the coast line to get your appetite up for dinner. The Simon family are great hosts and will make your stay comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoySweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 194 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2011

We ate dinner at the restaurant Pointe du Grouin after finding their advertisement in a Cancale guidebook during a four-day stay in early October. It was a fine experience after a long day exploring the coast to the west all the way to Cap Frehel.

The main dining room is elegant, pleasant and calm, with spectacular views of the bay provided by three walls of windows. Despite being two-thirds full – mainly with locals rather than tourists – the noise level was quite low. In addition to perfect service, our meal was notable for the local sourcing of many ingredients and for artistry in presentation of the dishes. It was also an excellent value at around 140 Euros, including drinks and wine.

We began our meal with two single-malts, accompanied by a delicious smoked-salmon spread and toasts. This was followed by an amuse bouche of cream of cauliflower soup; we saw farmers just west of the restaurant harvesting cauliflower that morning. Our first courses were luscious foie gras pate with a fig chutney and raw Belon oysters, which are cultivated locally, served in full shell. If you have not had Belons before, they are truly a treat: flat, not knobby, they open like jewel cases – just flip up the lid!

For our main courses, we had a beef dish with delicious scalloped potatoes and mushrooms and a warm lobster and grilled scallops salad with gorgeous greens and viniagrette. The lobster claw meat was outstanding, and this salad main course easily takes the prize for the most inventive dish experienced during three weeks in the Loire/Loir valleys and Brittany. We drank an excellent Menetou-Salon for the wine.

Too full for dessert or cheese, we contented ourselves with the gourmandise (mini-sweets) that accompanied our coffees.

This was a much better meal than we had at the nearby Michelin-starred restaurant Le Cocquillage, part of the Chateau Richeux empire. We will seek out Restaurant Pointe du Grouin on our next trip.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank GHgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

This review concerns the cafe only. I ordered a fried egg. What was served did not resemble an egg in taste. After one bite, I tried to attract a server's attention. This took close to 10 minutes. The cafe refused to replace the poor dish, nor remove it from the bill. They were simply not interested in behaving reputably.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank J_T_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed four nights in this hotel. The location is perfect and the views all around the hotel are stunning. One can see Mont St Michel across the bay. The food at the restaurant is top quality and the overall athmosphere of the dining room very homely. The only possible drawback of some rooms ( ours certainly ), is the size of the bathroom and the early traffic to the point. Other than that the place is great and recommendable.

Room Tip: search for a decent size bathroom !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andresonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

This is my first time leaving comments on such a web site... and I do it because I do not want other people to have another bad experience with that hotel.
For the money paid (84EUR for a double room + 8.50EUR/pers. for the breakfast), I remained very unsatisfied: I could not sleep well because of a very poor mattress (it had probably been used for over 15-20 years; the worse experience I have had for several years) and the breakfast was very limited... I had to ask for more bread and for a fruit... they reluctantly gave me a small banana and a yogurt... I wanted some milk... I never saw the waitress again, so I had to do without.
Add to this critique the fact that:
1. They advertise on the web site a Wi-Fi access (http://www.hotelpointedugrouin.com/frMer.php); well, the receptionist told me that Wi-Fi was not installed and had never been... seems like misleading advertising, doesn't it?
2. The room and bathroom were very small; the bathroom was so badly conceived that after taking your shower, you almost fell onto the water-closet and did not have enough space and hangers to hang your towels.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maxvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

This was a last minute reservation so did not do much investigation prior to booking, other than TripAdvisor reviews (which is why I am writing). This was a great spot for enjoying the views of the sea and getting distance from the villages of Concale and St. Malo. The hostess was extremely friendly and helpful. She also spoke English beautifully -- a nice treat! We stayed in a mid-size room -- I think all have views of the sea. We did not eat in the restaurant (are appetites did not arrive until after they were done serving, about 9pm) but it smelled fantastic and it was full of what appeared to be local people. Good sign!
For exercise enthusiasts, it is located along a wonderful coastal trail. We woke in the morning and went for an exhilarating jog along coast -- great way to start the day.
If you are looking for lots of nightlife, don't go here to find it. If you want a beautiful & quaint location on the sea, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timeisprecious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2008

A nice hotel on a beautiful spot allmost surrounded by sea. Entrance with lots of shining bras, deep blue carpets. We had a perfect room with lits of purple and pink, deep red thick carpet going on in the batroom and the toilet. We chosse this hotel for it's location, from the room you can see the Mont Saint Michel which must be about 35 kilometres away, and it wasn't even a very clear day. Offcourse we will not forget teh walk around Point-du-Groin. There is a good beach "Port Mer" which is a 10 minute walk from this hotel. The breakfast was real French (basic) and served in the back of the big restaurant, it would have been nicer to sit by the windows and have breakfast with a spectacular view.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeroenStruyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancale hotels
2.6 mi away
La Mere Champlain Hotel Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Manoir des Douets Fleuris
2.3 mi away
Hotel Le Chatellier
Hotel Le Chatellier
#6 of 13 in Cancale
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Le Continental
Le Continental
#10 of 13 in Cancale
103 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Nuit et Jour
Hotel Nuit et Jour
#2 of 13 in Cancale
188 reviews
2.6 mi away
Le Cancalais
Le Cancalais
#9 of 13 in Cancale
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Pointe du Grouin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Pointe du Grouin

Address: Pointe du Grouin, 35260 Cancale, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Cancale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Cancale
Price Range: $116 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Pointe du Grouin 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Pointe du Grouin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pointe Du Grouin
Hotel Restaurant Pointe Du Grouin Cancale, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing