We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveler rating
298
65
19
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
65
19
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsle coquillagemont stmichelin staroystersservice was impeccablewonderful hotelbeautiful locationthe cottagesthe cliffdessert trolleysitting outsidesea viewan easy driveexcellent restaurantset menustayed two nightswonderful view
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 391 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2010

Back to France with a visit to Mont Saint Michel. We wanted to stay here in Cancale because of Chef Roellinger's cuisine. Our stay is really perfect. Very nice location. Roellinger's spices are a real experience. The accomodation is perfect. Service with high standards.

Cancale at this period of the year is very romantic. By the way it is the best period for oysters!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mikmaffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Les Gite Marins August 2010
Our stay at Les Remains de Bricourt was better than we had imagined. Our cottage, Bigorneau, had two bedrooms and a large bathroom with shower over tub, upstairs, and a living room, kitchen and powder bath downstairs. It was spacious, clean and luxurious and in the most beautiful of locations, just a few hundred yards from the sea. It is decorated with a seafarer’s theme. The grounds are tranquil and lush and even have a garden that you are welcome to pick from to prepare your meals. There was a patio with furniture for sitting outside and a barbeque. This cottage could easily house a family with three children or two couples wishing to share the space. The kitchen came complete with pots and pans, coffee maker, teapot, juicer, plates, mugs and silverware. The pantry was stocked with coffee, tea, sugar, and salt. The refrigerator was full of eggs, butter, jams, milk, wine, beer and cidre. Everything we would need to complete a meal with the basket of breakfast foods that was delivered to our door each morning or to prepare other meals with ingredients bought at the local farmers market on Sundays. The daily basket of crepes, croissant, bread and cakes were all delicious and it was so great to be able to have breakfast in our pajamas and not rush out each morning to eat.
The congierge, Fany, was super helpful and very friendly and helped to make our stay even better than expected.
The wi-fi at the cottage worked great and that was a big plus for me.
The location is perfect for walking into town or a little further to the port to find restaurants and shopping. Cancale is also a great hub for visiting Mont St. Michel, Dinan, Dinard, Fougere and St. Malo…all just a 30 minute drive away in all different directions.
Our biggest disappointment was our dinner at the Chateau Richeux, big hype, big bucks for just ok food.
I would highly recommend this spot to anyone wishing to see this lovely corner of Brittany.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank diane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

Chateau Richeux is perfect. We stayed in the main chateau. I had a garden view and my parents had a sea view room. Both rooms were exquisite -- large, well-furnished, with modern amenities, and a lot of local style.

Views of the bay are lovely but don't expect pristine beaches. This area isn't really known for it's beaches. It is known for it's tidal waters, mud flats, and abundant sea food. If you are looking for these, you will not be disappointed.

My favorite things about the property:

- opportunity to stay in a lovely historical building
- modern conveniences (good plumbing, heating, free wireless internet, etc.)
- friendly staff (not stuffy at all)
- beautiful views of the bay
- numerous places to walk on the grounds of the property: an herb garden, stable with donkeys and sheep, the beach, etc.
- benches / sitting spaces located throughout. Easy to just roam, find a view point, and sit for a bit

In addition to the above, the in-house restaurant is exceptional. The restaurant gets one Michelin star but we enjoyed the food at dinner even more than Taillevent in Paris (a two star). The service wasn't quite as good but the food was creative and the chefs do a wonderful job of showcasing local and seasonal ingredients. Though not cheap, the restaurant offers very good value for the quality level.

Be forewarned, this property is a 40 minute drive away from Mont Saint Michel. It is, technically, visible from the property on a clear day but the famous Mont is a good 40-50km away so don't expect to have amazing views of it from the hotel itself. The photos on the hotel's website are a bit misleading on this but the map is very clear if you look at it.

Also, note that because the restaurant is very popular (and there aren't a lot of alternatives close by), you should book dinner with the property in advance. We pre-booked for our first night but were then unable to book for our second night. A little disappointing that they don't hold a block of tables for guests but the restaurant isn't large and you can't really blame them for not wanting to leave tables unfilled.

I highly recommend Chateau Richeux and certainly plan to return when I am back in the region. This is a great base for exploring the region and would be an easy place to just lounge for a few days.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Japan_Gaijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

We stayed in the cottages, not the main house. It was wonderful. A large room with a sitting area and a balcony overlooking the garden. Service great. Breakfast wonderful. Views of the bay terrific. I can not say a bad thing about this hotel, except it was a little hard to find even with our GSP. We had dinner at their main house. Their driver picked us up and returned us to our cottager. The meal was wonderful, excellent. This was a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkfCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

This hotel is fantastic, the food, room and everything else are amazing. However, the one serious complaint I have about it is that the website give the distinct impression that it is very close to Mont St. Michel. It is not! It is a 45 minute drive away. If you take a taxi it will cost you around 110 Euros if they wait for you for 2 hours while you visit Mont St. Michel and more if you don't get them to wait. You can see Mont St. Michel way way way in the distance across the bay. But the photos on the hotel website make it look like it is about a half an hour walk away. Very misleading.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VioletEffingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews