We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous oysters and happy to cater for accompanying vegetarian”
Review of Le Cancalais

Le Cancalais
Ranked #21 of 66 Restaurants in Cancale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $76
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Cuisine raffinée, élaborée sur place à partir de produits frais exclusivement locaux.Notre équipe met tout en oeuvre pour trouver les produits rares de saison et de veiller sur une qualité irréprochable .
Reviewed June 21, 2017

I'm a seafood lover with a vegetarian partner. This means that generally it's difficult to eat out in France. But lunch here was a treat. My partners enjoyed a goats cheee salad with bulgar wheat and plenty of bread (he's addicted to the stuff). I had splendid oysters and some crab legs. Service was great, lovely staff who put up with my terrible French, and spoke reasonable English. Felt A tad expensive, but the exchange rate is pretty rubbish at the moment, a few years ago I would have said it was priced well. Would recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Toni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betalioulou, Gérant at Le Cancalais, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Merci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 536 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2017 via mobile

Delicious healthy meals, very attentive and welcoming waitress, very good atmosphere. Simply the best in Cancale. I enjoyed so much my meals here. I 101% recommend this restaurant. I'll come back again

Thank VAB2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betalioulou, Gérant at Le Cancalais, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Merci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2016

Had a delightful lunch here -- both food and service were excellent (as was the atmosphere). We've enjoyed Le Cancalais for many years, and we're happy that the new owners are doing such a great job. After some nice cremant aperitifs, we were served delicious amuse-bouches of creamed tomato soup. We enjoyed entrees of soupe de poisson (very rich and tasty) and 6 no. 2 oysters. Our mains were the cod and the sea bass, the first on a bed of creamed potatoes, and the 2nd on a bed of pureed cauliflower with an accompaniment of chopped moules (quite good--and creative). They do a nice salade verte, too. Our 3rd courses were fromage and tarte tatin avec glace vanille. We wish the Paimpols well in retirement--they were always so kind and gracious toward us. We'll continue to return and highly recommend Le Cancalais to others.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank glassyraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betalioulou, Gérant at Le Cancalais, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Merci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2016

Had used before but in new ownership but not disappointed. Service and food was excellent with heavy focus on local seafood. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betalioulou, Gérant at Le Cancalais, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Merci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2016

we stopped for lunch, in a downpour!
it looked fine (when in doubt we always choose a place that has tablecloths) we went in, the maitre D' asked " have you booked? we said NO he said " no problem" and they laid a table in the glass enclosed terrace overlooking the promenade, on the busy sea-shore. The food was lovingly presented, freshest fish, brilliantly cooked. 3 courses @16 euros each, a bottle of mucadet @18, good value.

Thank venice43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betalioulou, Gérant at Le Cancalais, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Merci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cancalais also viewed

Cancale, Ille-et-Vilaine
Cancale, Ille-et-Vilaine
 
Cancale, Ille-et-Vilaine
Cancale, Ille-et-Vilaine
 
Cancale, Ille-et-Vilaine
Cancale, Ille-et-Vilaine
 

Been to Le Cancalais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing