We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for exploring the area”
Review of Hotel Nuit et Jour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Nuit et Jour
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Cancale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I was somewhat apprehensive, given the lack of recent English language reviews and the slightly confusing website, but fear not! This is a great little hotel.

Family run, apparently owned by the same family for 20 years, no problem with communication in English and extremely honest, friendly and helpful staff.

I suppose this is what you would call "family oriented" but it was also perfect for a couple. It is not luxurious, but comfortable and clean and well-located. The pool was exactly as advertised, as were the little cabin-like rooms. My only advice regarding rooms would be that the associated patios are not all equal - some have little private patios that would see sun if it was sunny, whereas others share a small space with the adjacent unit. It is also unfortunate that they charge separately (and steeply) for the sauna/hot tub, as it would have been nice, but I wasn't about to pay the 20 Euro for 30 minutes or similar that they charge.

While Cancale is a nice little town, we used it as a base for the area - we went for driving trips most days and walked down to the beach/restaurant area several times. The walk to the beach was medium (probably 15 minutes, after a couple of times, it seemed quite short). There are a couple of large grocery stores and a bakery very near, so it was easy to grab breakfast and picnic supplies in the morning or en route to wherever.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shazza1Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 188 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

we stayed here in August for one evening on the way to the ferry at St Malo, only 15 mins away. It was our third stay and certainly won't be our last. The welcome was really good and after a long hot journey we sat outside and were served ice cold beer from the little bar. The gardens are beautiful and very well kept. We stayed in a 'cottage' in the gardens and were delighted. They sleep 4 people (we were just 2) 2 downstairs and 2 upstairs. A good size bathroom with a bath and shower, all spotlessly clean. The bed was comfortable and large. There is a private sitting out area with table and chairs. Very happy with our stay which was just 69 euros, the breakfast was 8 euros but we didn't try that.

Room Tip: we have stayed previously in the standard hotel rooms which are a little cheaper but much preferred...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jayceeYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have just returned from four nights at this hotel. Although the room was a bit small, the bed was very big and comfortable. Everything was spotlessly clean. The garden was beautiful with lots of trees and shrubs and we even went in the pool one afternoon even though the weather was a bit cool. The pool has a cover over it and so was very warm. The room where we ate a very good breakfast was very nice with views of the garden. It would be lovely in the sumer to sit out on the patio and have breakfast. Even though the hotel is on a main road it is very quiet at night. We took our bicycles and cycled along the coast to St Malo one day and on another day, cycled across country to St Malo on little roads which were marked out for cyclists. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: I would ask for a bedroom on the first floor as we did hear people's footsteps overhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoxyNormandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our second stay in this hotel. Not exactly a top location in the area, but still great value for money. The bungalow style rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet. You're not in the city center, but close enough to walk there, or just 5 minutes by car if that's what you prefer to do.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We've used this hotel twice, now, prior to catching the Saint-Malo ferry to Portsmouth - the ferry-port is about 15-20 minutes' drive away. The hotel is clean, comfortable, quiet, set in very pleasant gardens and has a friendly reception.There's also a pool and - if you want more frenetic activity - a ping-pong table.

It's a really nice 5-8min walk down to Cancale harbour for food and drink. If you don't feel like that, there's a small bar with sitting out area. Even after an evening at the harbour we spent a relaxed late-night hour with a glass or two on a hotel-garden bench under the stars, reflecting on what a lovely break we'd had down in the Charente. And it's great value for money. What's not to like?!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are quieter, whether on the ground or upper floor, but even road-facing room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jayceeYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Thibault v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Carine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancale hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Chatellier
Hotel Le Chatellier
#6 of 13 in Cancale
112 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Mere Champlain Hotel Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Le Querrien
Le Querrien
#4 of 13 in Cancale
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Manoir des Douets Fleuris
0.2 mi away
Brit Hotel Cancale - L'Alghotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Voilerie Cancale
Hotel La Voilerie Cancale
#11 of 13 in Cancale
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nuit et Jour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nuit et Jour

Address: 3 avenue de Scissy, 35260 Cancale, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Cancale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cancale
Price Range: $62 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nuit et Jour 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lies at the heart of a flower park, 1 km from the harbour and centre of Cancale. At you disposal a capacity of 30 hotel rooms and studios (double and family) for a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Nuit et Jour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nuit Et Jour Cancale, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing