We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seaview on a budget” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Grand Large

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Le Grand Large
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Cancale
paris
Level Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Seaview on a budget”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Located right along the bay of St Michel, Le Grand Large is a decent budget stay in the town of Cancale. The location is great and the free parking was a welcome amenity. The set-up is more a B&B than hotel, with minimal services and weak wifi reception on the top floor. Our triple room, decorated in a traditional pattern was relatively spacious and neat but minimalistic. The attached restaurant serves breakfast (8E/person), lunch and dinner, but the best meal to be had in Cancale is at the oyster market where we slurped oysters, fresh as it gets for less than 5E/dozen. An absolute must-do when in Cancale!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lafemmemange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    36
    29
    13
    18
See reviews for
24
54
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

We arrived early, but were immediately made welcome, and taken to our room, which had a great sea view. The hotel is at the end of the bay, so away from the noise and hustle and bustle of the main hotels and restaurants, but still only a short stroll to the main restaurants.
The room was very clean and well fitted out, comfortable bed, great shower - and efficient heating. Good wifi (free) connection as well.
We ate in the restaurant, and it was average - pretty much what you would expect in a 'touristy' area.
Free parking - and on a busy weekend - that counts for a lot!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Avoid this place, whatever you do. We had dinner at the restaurant, the waitress dropped half a plate of Moules Marinieres in my lap and didn't even apologize! Instead of offering me compensation for my ruined clothes, the proprietor insinuated it was all my fault and was downright rude. We changed the tablecloth ourselves, to be able to finish our meal.Everything was overpriced, the quality of the food bad and my husband received beer instead of the cider he ordered. It's the worst dining experience I've ever had in France and I totally regret setting my foot in the place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cancale hotels

London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

This was a lovely spot at the end of the sea front and the room was nicely appointed with shuttered windows that open up onto sea views. The hotel also has a restaurant. Didn't try dinner - which looked and smelled very good - but breakfast before we set off was fine. We were able to stow our bikes safely in a courtyard at the back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancale hotels
0.4 mi away
La Mere Champlain Hotel Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Le Querrien
Le Querrien
#4 of 13 in Cancale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Cancalais
Le Cancalais
#9 of 13 in Cancale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Voilerie Cancale
Hotel La Voilerie Cancale
#10 of 13 in Cancale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nuit et Jour
Hotel Nuit et Jour
#3 of 13 in Cancale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Pointe du Grouin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Large? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Large

Property: Le Grand Large
Address: 4 quai Jacques Cartier, 35260 Cancale, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Cancale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Cancale
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Grand Large reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Large Cancale, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing