We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food to die for...”
Review of Hotel l'Ander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel l'Ander
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Saint-Flour
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food to die for...”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

A typical Logis de France in that the room is pleasant and comfortable. The food, however, is something else... I honestly can't remember when I last had such an excellent meal - cooking and presentation were both quite exceptional, a total gastronomic pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennijay10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    48
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
22
53
2
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Have to agree with most of the reviews I've seen. Yes, it looks a touch grim on the outside (overlooking an unsurfaced car park), but it's fine inside. Obliging & friendly management, who put a put-me-up bed in our double room for our 8 year old. The room was modern and clean and everything worked and was just what you need from a hotel room, basically.
General consensus was that buffet breakfast left just a little to be desired (not a huge choice) but it was still acceptable.

It's a short walk to the steps up to the old town, and handy for the main roads out of town when you leave.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Having read the other rather scary reviews of hotels in St Flour we chose the Ander and were not disappointed. The hotel is clearly signposted and the car park is quite large. Although we asked for a space in the garage this was discouraged by Madame who said they had never had any burglaries. After one other attempt we nervously gave up and the car, full of wine, was luckily fine. We had booked a suite (Eur 82) because we had quite a bit of luggage and it was clean and tidy with that sometimes quirky French decor (c. late 1970's?). Bathroom modern with good shower and towels. Only thing was our windows overlooked the street at the rear of the hotel and we had to shut them not so much for traffic noise but the smell of their exhausts. Better to have a room facing the car park.

The average rating reflects the hotel not the restaurant. This was well run by Madame and one rather tearful waitress and large with a fire going (welcome in late September up here). Monsieur is in the kitchen and very capable too. We chose a menu reflecting local produce and had a great meal. Everything was well cooked and very good quality and although I see what one previous review means about slight fussiness we didn't mind because it all tasted so good. Portions were large, be warned, but leave room for pudding. The aged Cantal cheese was the best I have had. We also tried a local aperitif called a Volcan, which we recommend for the adventurous! Service was excellent and informative.

Breakfast next day in the bar was fine with lots of home made jams and good bread and butter. When will French hotels learn that boiling water is essential for good tea, not fancy tea bags?!
St Flour Haute is an interesting town to visit and the cathedral belies its rather dour exterior.

Room Tip: Take a room looking onto the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We had booked for 1 night as part of a three day trip down to the south, after having checked TripAdvisor (as usual). The reviews suggested that the hotel was average but with a good restaurant and that is pretty much what we thought, but with some reservations. The rooms are basic but were clean and fairly quiet. The price was OK. The location was OK. St Flour (the high town) is another hidden gem...very pretty and unusual..worth another visit, we thought. Our only reservation was the restaurant. Our dinner was OK. There was nothing actually WRONG with it... but it seemed like a chef trying much too hard, the dishes were far too complex and fussy. The chef (the hotel is run by a husband and wife team..both fairly friendly...husband is the chef), obviously knows what he is doing, but in our opinion needs to simply the dishes a bit. Anyway, just a little criticism of a stay which was generally OK. It might be interesting to explore other hotels/restaurants in the area and especially in the high town, though?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GomezandMorticia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico
Level Contributor
216 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The relative low rate charged reflects the value that you receive: Unpretentious, clean and well maintained accommodation and amenities. The property located aside a main road on the base of St. Flour’s hill makes it convenient as a base for visiting the region. For an overnight stay we saw other options at the town’s entrance but according to other reviews they apparently do not offer a service as good as the L’Ander. Given our late arrival we could not try the restaurant that looked very attractive and more important than the hotel itself.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlgtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We had planned a three night stay to see the Auvergne region and were delighted to discover that our hotel was one of its best features. The bedroom even had a small kettle and sweets, the wetroom was modern and had every amenity, but the meals were a revelation. We were given half-board on account of our stay of three nights (minimum) which didn't allow us a choice from the menu. We were doubtful as my husband is quite 'particular' about what he eats. We were assured that if the daily menu wasn't to his taste then something else would be suggested. We accepted the first night's menu without question (rump steak in a raspberry sauce) but what amazed us was the amuse-bouche which preceded it. After this we looked forward to each meal and were never disappointed. My husband is a keen chef and she suggested he might like to book a course in the kitchen!! Perhaps next time??

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We pulled up on spec, traveling through France, and for that it was OK. Staff & owners were nice and friendly, breakfast was OK, nothing special and the room was basic and quite compact. All that said the bed was comfortable and shower hot and room clean so basics were very good. Also accommodated us travelling with our dogs. If you end up in St Flour, you will be fine here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoniStubbs-Thrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Flour hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel l'Etape
Grand Hotel l'Etape
#2 of 10 in Saint-Flour
127 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Cantal Cottages
Hotel Cantal Cottages
#1 of 10 in Saint-Flour
304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Planchettes
Les Planchettes
#4 of 10 in Saint-Flour
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant du Pont-Vieux
Hotel Restaurant du Pont-Vieux
#5 of 10 in Saint-Flour
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Logis Auberge de la Providence
Logis Auberge de la Providence
#6 of 10 in Saint-Flour
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Inter-Hotel Saint-Jacques
#7 of 10 in Saint-Flour
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Ander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Ander

Property: Hotel l'Ander
Address: 8 avenue du Commandant Delorme, 15100 Saint-Flour, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Cantal > Saint-Flour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Saint-Flour
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel l'Ander 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel l'Ander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Ander Saint-Flour, France, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing