We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth a stopover”
Review of Hotel de Paris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de Paris
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Moulins
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a stopover”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Travelling back through France we stayed at the hotel for one night. We had a Prestige Room (recommended room 201) - fantastic accommodation and bathroom. Food in the restaurant was excellent. I'd say that the downstairs of the hotel needs a little bit more work - the restaurant decor was a little tired (but the food made up for this). May require a couple more members of staff as the reception staff were also manning the bar, but made every effort to get us drinks quickly. Definitely would stay again for a stopover.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    94
    38
    8
    4
See reviews for
37
106
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The Hôtel de Paris is a 4-star hotel, meaning you get 24-hour room service, thick doors that click smoothly, nicely decorated rooms, wonderful bathrooms and amenities of the kind.

The room I was in (103) was, in theory, small and for one person only but it could have easily accommodated two for a night, except perhaps for the quite limited closet, especially in terms of hanging space. The adequate length to hang a coat or raincoat was simply nowhere to be found, but luckily I had neither as it was the beginning of Summer. The window opened on a very boring and uninteresting courtyard, bordering on ugly and the flat-screen TV was definitely not of the highest quality and definition. The ventilation in the bathroom was loud, I had to close the door —heavy and thick, as sais above, so that once closed, the noise was almost imperceptible. Two last things; the little fridge could have been more full of goodies (no alcohol except two cans of beer and no munchies), and even though the hotel's literature mentioned the existence of a "complimentary welcome basket", none was in sight.

Except for those little things (which may or may not bother you, depending on your attention to detail), everything was fine, good quality bedding, good quality products in the bathroom (in too limited quantity maybe), immaculate cleanliness, faucets and plugs polished and shiny, wifi super easy to connect to and fast, noiseless but efficient air conditioning (without the usual ugly grilles), desk personnel adequate if not genuinely warm, fast checkout.

The breakfast, at 12 euros, was served in a very large but somewhat shabby room, a clear couple of steps down from the decoration and ambiance of the main dining room. The breakfast room opens on a little terrace with some tables by the hotel pool (quite small too), but it was not really warm enough to eat outside. There was bacon and nice English sausages, but no scrambled eggs (hard to forgive their absence in a 4-star establishment). The viennoiseries were light and very tasty but the tea, as usual, was weak (use two teabags if you're used to UK standards).

This overall very nice hotel made itself available for an amazingly low price: 80 euros for that single bedroom (booked via internet) was a real bargain, compared to the 67 euros I spent the night before at a 2-star, nondescript Kyriad. It was definitely worth it, even though the regular price of the room, as posted on the back of the door, was 120 euros, which made the deal definitely less attractive, particularly in light of the shortcoming I pointed out above.

The Hôtel de Paris is a very good place to stay, to be recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blue_439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

One of the best hotels I've stayed in for a while. My room was extremely comfortable, well-equipped, very quiet, with a fantastic shower. Breakfast, although expensive, was excellent, with an extensive selection of things to choose from. The secure parking was good and the staff very friendly and attentive. Overall, excellent value for money. You would expect to pay considerably more for a place like this.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardM71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We stayed at this hotel and enjoyed the stay in small town of Moulins as well as the Hotel, it was partly renovated... but the staff ensured that we never felt that renovations were in progress....
The room was excellent in terms of cleanliness and light... nice french windows.
The staff were ready to assist at all times and also spoke English!

Would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swetham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mclean VA
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

We enjoyed our one night stay at Hotel de Paris very much. There is an extensive building and remodeling project in progress that will last many more months and result in a spa facility among other things. Our suite (401 I believe) was in an out building. It was totally renovated. The colors and fabrics were lovely. There were electric shades to block out all light at night. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. The bathroom had a separate toilet room in traditional european style, beautiful glass shower and separate bathtub. The main house has much charm. We loved the bar area which has comfortable black leather club chairs and the pretty bar. Breakfast was attentively served in a large room. The hotel is close to the cathedral, hence, very well located. We walked everywhere. This is a place to return to.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank myjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Old hotel undergoing facelift , mostly H&S improvments, staff very good very helpfull, walking distance of town centre, interesting stopover

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carbostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ile de France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

If you want soulless modern, then stay away from the Hotel de Paris. This hotel has character, charm, history, service. It lacks air conditioning, but we Europeans are used to that! We arrived at 10pm and were greeted with warmth and courtesy. Despite the late hour a hurried recommendation for eating in Moulins was made. The last renovation gave large bathrooms and could have left more room in the bedroom, but we were sleeping there, not giving a reception. The bathroom was the size of most hotels' double rooms and perfectly clean. The double bed was, however, small to someone used to a kingsized bed. Breakfast in a majestic dining room was good. The hotel is currently being renovated and upgraded to 4* with spa; should be worth returning. Oh, and the hotel has its own carpark. The only negative point was no internet connection.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lagatine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moulins
0.5 mi away
Le Clos de Bourgogne
Le Clos de Bourgogne
#3 of 8 in Moulins
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Moulins Centre
0.0 mi away
Campanile Moulins - Avermes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Parc
1.8 mi away
Ibis Moulins Sud
Ibis Moulins Sud
#4 of 8 in Moulins
218 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Le Chalet Montegut
Hotel Le Chalet Montegut
#1 of 1 in Coulandon
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris

Property: Hotel de Paris
Address: 21 rue de Paris, 03000 Moulins, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Allier > Moulins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Moulins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing