We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average food”
Review of La Vie En Rose

La Vie En Rose
Ranked #16 of 113 Restaurants in Montlucon
Price range: $6 - $24
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed March 3, 2019 via mobile

This restaurant is one of the few open on a Sunday early March. The menu is not extremely appealing, the dishes are even worse: greasy, very salty, overall not good at all. We had bad wine and unfriendly service -a pepper mill was not even available. Not a place I would recommend.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank FrenchTraveller001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 277 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2018

My partner and I arrived close to 9pm, we were seated and offered (after a long while) a menu, we quickly chose an aperitif... 20 minutes later came the serveur for our menu decision. The restaurant emptied and sadly our service with it. The restaurant (manager?) preferred to chat with others in the street; after the main course was served, the service ended, no desert was offered, no service whatsoever. Three tables were in the restaurant, yet the owner(?) blamed the lack of service on it been a Saturday. FOOD 5/10, SERVICE 3/10.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Food
1  Thank ChristopherCapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbara v, Gérant at La Vie En Rose, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2018
Google Translation

Bonjour monsieur ,
On se rappelle très bien de vous , des clients pourraient même en témoigner par votre agressivité...
On est samedi soir , il y a du monde et malheureusement chaque client ne peut pas être servi en même temps ... les clients qui allaient à la nuit électro ce soir là nous l’on précise on était servi en priorité.
Désolé de vous avoir fait attendre ce soir la .En espérant vous recevoir de nouveau avec un service à votre convenance.
La direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2017

After reading the reviews we decided this was the place to go. Arrived 7:30. Lovely restaurant and think it is run maybe by husband and wife. The lady was lovely and easy to communicate with even though language barrier. Entree of Snails was good. We looked forward to the next course. One fish and one beef to put it simply. Not sure what one of the side dishes was, polenta?? It was interesting food, lacking in seasoning, flavour and presentation was 1980's which does not alter the food. The fish was over cooked. We both found the food bland and some of the sides on the plate did not complement the main food. Dessert was probably made the day before as it had been reheated and the meringue did not survive. It is all personal opinion but definitely would not return. We sat at the window and another guest sitting directly outside in our view had steak and pomme Frites and he struggled to eat even half of his, devoured the Rose wine though.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Marmite62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017

We decided for this restaurant and we were really satisfied with it.
The service is quick and friendly and I took la pièce de boeuf fumée à la fondue de camembert.
Totally loved it. The juicy meat melted the cheese in a well-balanced mix of flavors.
A good idea the meeting of these 2 local products.
We ended with a fruit tart and salted caramel ice cream, tasty and just perfect finish.
The place is vie-en-rose inspired, which is why we selected a rose wine to drink.
Lovely pictures at the wall like Doisneau to complete the atmosphere.
A really nice complement to the visit of this charming medieval French town.
Well done guys, go on this way.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Miste2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2017

We had an 3 course evening meal here. The service was very professional with timing spot on. The food was also excellent, with a reasonable choice on the carte. Price was also good value for money given the food quality.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John_Wantage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vie En Rose also viewed

Montlucon, Allier
Montlucon, Allier
 

Been to La Vie En Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing