We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check the weather before you go”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of montee du Sancy

montee du Sancy
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Limoges, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Check the weather before you go”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Went on the reopening day on 1st May. Once at the top we were told not to go any further as the snow was too unstable. The fog was so thick we couldn't see a meter away. We had spent 5 minutes there when the cable car attendante told us it was too dangerous to stay any longer; so the 10 people who had chosen the same day to explore the Sancywent back on the cable car and we proceeded to go back down the station.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank traduction87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    95
    14
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toongabbie, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Hiking up Mont du Sancy from the cable car station at the bottom.”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Amazing views from the top, but we enjoyed our hike up more. Very scenic, wildflowers everywhere - we also spotted some marmots! Still some snow patches around. There was a herd of cows that was very photogenic, and we got to appreciate the scale of the mountain! The sheer height of the climb is spectacular, but there are many interesting rock formations and jagged outcrops as well. If you have the fitness and the time, I highly recommend walking from the bottom.

It is only three kilometres from the cable car station (where there is free parking) to the top of Mont du Sancy, but every step is uphill. We left at 10am and got back to our car at 2pm, but we did stop quite a lot for photos. It is a demanding hike, and there are a few places where the footing is quite poor (lose slippery rocks). I am of average fitness and I was huffing and puffing quite a bit! Also there are quite a few leeches around so you might want to carry some matches. Wear good shoes. Many people had crampons.

If you do elect to take the cable car, you still need to walk up the 800 or so steps to the top. These are wooden and have hand railings - sometimes the spacing between steps is irregular and annoying, but in general it is an easy trip for those of normal fitness.

If unsure of the route, visit the tourist office in Le Mont-Dore. They have free maps of the town and Mont du Sancy, and explain the route to you. They also have hiking maps you can buy of the region, but the free one was more than enough for this trip.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank LivandZac87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baneuil
Level Contributor
146 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“What a view”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Great challenge to walk to the top from the cable car station. Cable car station located at about 1760 m and walking to the top is ONLY another 126 m, but the hardest walk I have ever done. It was a dry sunny day but the winds were very strong on the peak and you felt like you had to struggle to stay upright on the wooden stepped path which, unfortunately, did not have railings all the way up and a number of steps needed repair. It took me quite a while to make it to the top and I needed a few stops on the way. Great view from the top and was able to see the Puy de Dome in the distance. Great views over countryside. The walk down was considerably easier. Well worth the effort. Cost of the return cable car trip was just under 10 euros. You could, if fit enough, walk up and down.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great views, great walking, amazing terrain.”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We visited in summer; the views are outstanding and the precipitous valleys take the breath away.

Those would would like a little more of a walk than the 20-30 minutes to the top of Puy de Sancy might be interested in the circular route that we took from Le Mont-Dore. It's possible to buy a combined ticket (Ticket Duo) which allows one-way travel up the cable car, and one-way travel down the Capucin Funicular. Between the two is an exhilarating ridge-walk - just turn right on the ridge below Puy de Sancy and follow the GR30 all the way down. We were walking slowly, and it took us about 3 hours; gently (or less-gently) downhill.

Near the top there are one or two exposed moments. This route needs proper walking boots, and wouldn't be advisable with very young children or for those with a real fear of heights. But after that, it's a lovely ramble through high meadows with excellent and ever-changing views.

The only downside is the difficulty of completing the loop back to the cable car once you've descended to Le Mont-Dore. There is a bus service which runs from Le Mont-Dore to the cable car and back, but only in the afternoons. Which means you have to do one of the following:

- drive up to the cable car, do the walk, then get the bus from Le Mont-Dore back to the cable car to pick up your car

- do the whole thing the other way round: go up the funicular, walk *uphill* for three hours, come down the cable car and catch the bus back

- take a taxi (€10) to the cable car and leave the car at home. This is the option we chose!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank amgriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good trip”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The cable car is a great ride, but you can walk up and down by different routes, all well signposted. The 800 + wooden steps to the summit from the cable car are worth it for the view.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Radnor_Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed montee du Sancy also viewed

Le Mont-Dore, Puy-de-Dome
 
Le Mont-Dore, Puy-de-Dome
 

Been to montee du Sancy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing