We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but usefull”
Review of Hotel Aviation

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Aviation
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in La Bourboule
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We needed a place to sleep during a car trip through France and found in Aviation a last-minute chance to get what we've paid for. Very simple old-decorated but clean rooms, with shower and an average restaurant for dinner. The city was a very good surprise, charming and well located in a wonderful valley. The price was really fair and they allow pets.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarinaSouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 214 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2011

Arriving at the reception my 7 year old son got a severe scolding from the receptionist for taking two pea-sized candies out of a bowel on desk ... I was about to leave the hotel, but it was already late in the evening and we were tired.
On the positive side: our three bed room was quite spacious. However, the whole place is kind of dark, has a musty smell and the breakfast is very jejune.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thoiry01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I read some less than good reviews on this Hotel prior to booking myself and five friends in for a one night stay.
I don't think some of the reviews by French authors are entirely justified. I agree that breakfast was a little limited but it was fresh and perfectly ok. Maybe some of the reviewers are making comparisons to 3 or 4 star hotels?
I didn't use the pool but we stored motorcycles in the locked garage which was clean and dry.
For a two star hotel it was good, I would probably stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard36140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

We have stopped at the Aviation twice, just for one night on each occasion. It is an old hotel and the accomodation is definitley showing it's age. It is basic but clean, quiet enough and good value for money. The situation is close to the centre of the beautiful little town of La Bourboule. The breakfast is nothing special and you are restricted to the amount you can have. The hotel's one saving virtue is a small indoor swimming pool in the basement which is a fantastic place to relax after a long day driving.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siderite44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Eviter en été le 4 ieme etage sous les toits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Eviter les chambres sous mansardes lors de grosses chaleurs !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cc861302017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Bourboule
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Au Val Dore
Hotel Restaurant Au Val Dore
#2 of 16 in La Bourboule
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Parc des Fees Hotel
Le Parc des Fees Hotel
#3 of 16 in La Bourboule
197 reviews
4.8 mi away
Le Puy-Ferrand
Le Puy-Ferrand
#2 of 26 in Le Mont-Dore
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Logis Le Charlet
Logis Le Charlet
#5 of 16 in La Bourboule
194 reviews
3.4 mi away
Grand Hotel le Mont-Dore
Grand Hotel le Mont-Dore
#1 of 26 in Le Mont-Dore
432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Geneve
Hotel Le Geneve
#8 of 16 in La Bourboule
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aviation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aviation

Address: 32 rue de Metz, 63150 La Bourboule, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Puy-de-Dome > La Bourboule
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in La Bourboule
Price Range: $79 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aviation 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hôtel de l'Aviation at La Bourboule has been in the same family since 4 generations. Ideally situated at the entrance of the well known Parc Fenestre, only 300m from the Thermal Baths and 200m from the center, there is no need to take your car. Down the road, you will find a large choice of shops, cafés and restaurants. In winter, near to the main ski resorts but far enough away from agitation, our establishment offers tranquility in a cosy atmosphere. At your disposal, an indoor heated swimming pool with massage sprays, a play area ( billiard, baby-foot, table tennis and video games), fitness room, saloon/bar and private garage. WIFI connection throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Aviation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing