We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of Le P'tit Roseau

Le P'tit Roseau
Ranked #1 of 77 Restaurants in Issoire
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $37
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed July 17, 2017

Located opposite the station and next to a park with a large covered terrace at the front. We received a friendly welcome and service was efficient throughout. Weekday lunchtimes they offer a menu du jour of 3 courses with limited choice but the food was all excellent and beautifully presented.
It is obviously popular and was full on a Thursday lunchtime with lots of regulars. We were fortunate to have booked a table and it is strongly recommended. Well worth a visit and excellent value.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Wanderer803796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 474 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2017

This is not the first time we have dined here since their relocation - and as always, our dinner was simply superb and a real bargain at the menu prices. The excellent cooking is not surprising as the chef has worked in Michelin-starred restaurants. His wife is the very pleasant head of house.

Matching the great food is the charming, friendly service in a clean, cheerful contemporary setting, complete with "pictures" with what looks like live plants on them. The only slight issue might be the limited wine list, but what was on it was pretty good at reasonable prices.

If the wine list is improved a tiny bit, this place is definitely heading for Michelin star status - though I am not sure that this is what they want as they seem very happy with the throngs of locals we have met while dining here. We live near the town of Issoire and everyone we know love this place.

Verdict: Le P'tit Roseau is awesome dining at very affordable prices. We hope this never changes.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ChrisBerlin33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2017

I have raved about this chef and his front of house wife before, but was worried that something might have been lost in the recent move from the tiny premises in the centre of town to the larger dining room of the hotel Le Parc near the station.

Not so!

The welcome was as warm as ever, with two extra waitresses, and the cooking as fine as ever, with two extra pairs in the kitchen too. Indeed, things ran more smoothly than was occasionally the case in the old days, when there was no back-up.

Incredible value for food as subtle yet ambitious as this. (34 Euros for 3 courses, I think?)

The dining room feels just a little stark at present but give them time. This “expansion” will have been a big stretch for this young couple and they are very much to be treasured by anyone passing near Issoire.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank patrickm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2016

After six or so years in their previous location, the owners of Le P'Tit have moved to a larger site. Still central Issoire, now opposite the station. The dining room is about three times the size so... you'll still need to book because it remains a very popular restaurant and for good reason. There are a few more front of house people to help with the extra covers they can now handle but the formula is the same, friendly people, fantastic food, sensible prices... I particularly liked that where any other proprietor might say "come again", they said "have you tried..." and suggested a couple of other local restaurants including the new owners of their old premises! They also, of course, said, come again, and, of course, we will!

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2015

It's very hard to find a restaurant open on a Sunday in issoire. There is a surprising shortage of restaurants anyway for a French town. In desperation we managed to cobble enough French together to ask two locals for any restaurant. They both said this restaurant est tres Bon. We nearly resorted to a pizza place against our firm convictions that you can find a good place to eat anywhere on France.
What a gem. Staff welcoming, good ambiance, prices at 31 euros pricey but it was worth it. We had four courses and three amuse Bouches between courses. We did have cheese as a extra at 3 euros 50 each. The food was imaginative, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious.we had two choices on each plat and we chose alternative ones deliberately so we could taste both. Everything was encroyable.i had the fish and my husband had the beef. One of the best meal we've had in France in more than 45 years. Go there!

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jacqui E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le P'tit Roseau also viewed

 
Issoire, Puy-de-Dome
 
Issoire, Puy-de-Dome
 

Been to Le P'tit Roseau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing