We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A tranquil haven in an unspoilt part of the...”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Chantagrele

The lovely gites at Chantagrele, can be booked together to sleep up to 11, perfect for relaxing
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lovely gites at Chantagrele, can be booked together to sleep up to 11, perfect for relaxing
Tucked away, the gorgeous secluded hamlet of Chantagrele The pretty second double bedroom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
The lovely gites at Chantagrele, can be booked together to sleep up to 11, perfect for relaxing
Tucked away, the gorgeous secluded hamlet of Chantagrele
The pretty second double bedroom.
The lovely light spacious lounge dinning room
The lovely avenue to Chateau Liberty at Chantagrele just a short 5 minute stroll from the gite.
The view from both lounges, watch the deer grazing, if you're up early enough!
Summer house and garden plenty of shade!
Just right for cooling off
The lovely uninterrupted view from the lounge
admiring the view from Usson where there is a beautiful restaurant, just a short drive from Chantagr
Kayaking on the lake, just a short drive away.
The wonderfull view, just a short stroll away of the snow capped Puy De Sancy
The flower meadows in spring and early summer are spectacular
Wisteria and lavender clad, a haven for butterflies and bees.
Winter is crisp and clear, wrap up warm for an invigorating walk!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Issoire, Puy-de-Dome, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mike L
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A tranquil haven in an unspoilt part of the Auvergne.”
Reviewed February 6, 2013 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We have been coming to this delightful hamlet for over 10 years. It is quiet, peaceful, and a joy to visit. We have been in all seasons as there is so much to do. We are keen walkers,cyclists, horse riders, and skiers, we can do all in this region.
We love the local cuisine, especially Chez Marthes at Condat Les Montboissier, wonderful country cooking, Restaurant de la Marie in Sauxillanges is very very good.
Elaine and Richard are truly excellent hosts, do try there meal on arrival, it is very very good!
All in all a wonderful place to spend a holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole area of the Livradois Foret
Liked least: Unpredictable weather!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan P
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic gite”
Reviewed August 26, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

It would be hard to over-praise this beautiful spot. The scenery is fantasy France - sort of what you expect the Dordogne to be but isn't. Hills and woods, good for walking and biking, fantastic (and very reasonable) local restaurants, and very kind and obliging hosts. Within spitting distance of lots of good things - mountains and lakes, historic abbeys etc - it is also a great place just to hang out. There is a nice raised swimming pool which was a big hit with all the kids while we were staying.

The gite itself is very comfortable and has everything you could need including British TV. Elaine and Richard couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful and the pictures don't really do justice to the sheer charm of the location. We had a great week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the hosts, the pool.
Liked least: We liked everything
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
etmick
kilkenny, ireland
1 review
“Lovely quiet setting, perfect for relaxing with everything there that we needed. Great for young children to play.”
Reviewed July 30, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

From when we arrived (4 adults and 2 children) to when we left our hosts, Elaine and Richard, did everything they could to make us feel welcome and provide us with everything we needed for our 6 month old and our 1 year old. The gite is situated in a lovely hamlet about 15 minutes away from the nearest village.It is lovely and peaceful with stunning views of the beautiful auvergne countryside. There are lovely mountain roads to explore by foot or by car with small quaint villages dotted along the way. If anything we would say that the photos do not do justice to the gite and surrounding area and seeing it in the flesh is the only way to appreciate how beautiful it is. It was exactly what we were looking for and we would definitely recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful rural setting
Liked least: the internet connection was a bit hit and miss
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed July 3, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - in the middle of the Livradois-Forez park
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mari02009
Milan, Italy
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
Google Translation

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$95
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing