We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing family owned hotel in the heart of Armagnac”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Herve Garrapit

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Herve Garrapit
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mont-de-Marsan
Levanger, Norway
1 review
“An amazing family owned hotel in the heart of Armagnac”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We can honestly say that this hotel is truly in a class of its own. We picked this hotel quite at random, but we ended up at an amazing family owned hotel. The current owner is the fifth generation of the Garrapit family to run the hotel. During our time staying at the hotel we experienced amazing hospitality unlike anything we have experienced at bigger hotels during our travels. The setting of the hotel is quite romantic and relaxing, perfect for those lazy days in the sun. The hotels garden has a pool and is amazingly beautiful. They served refreshments in the garden if you wanted them to. The hotel, including the garden and the pool was perfectly clean and the food was fantastic. The owner and one of the waiters speak English. This made our stay even better as we had next to no problem getting people to understand us. Obviously there was a language barrier, but the people we met were very helpful and understanding. The hotel is situated in the middle of Armagnac so there are a lot of wine yards in all sizes. We would love to return to this place in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMEEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    13
    22
    37
See reviews for
5
57
4
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

Hello,

We stayed at this hotel in July 2010, on the phone we were told the rate would be 115€ for a double-room, however upon check-out it turned out to be 190€!! Obviously they didn't say anything about the 10€ parking either. Fortunately we didn't have dinner in their restaurent, but somewhere else..

This seems to be the common way of how they do business, unserious if you ask me.

KEEP AWAY!!

Regards

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fredrik_1979_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mont-de-Marsan hotels

London
Level Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

Situated in the corner of the main square of this rather ordinary town the Hotel Garrapit does not look much. But behind the façade the owners have done a huge amount to turn this into a well appointed four star hotel. Read on for the ‘buts’…

There is excellent parking at the back, a decent and well maintained swimming pool in the garden, and several first floor rooms with their own balconies in an extension. Our room was large, well furnished and very clean, with a massive bathroom and separate toilet. The décor was in the rather kitsch style that French bourgeois hotels seem to favour –and a pretty full on version at that. Lovely white towelling dressing gowns and flip flops made a visit to the deserted pool easy and enjoyable.

The patron’s son, who greeted us, and a young student helping, were very helpful and charming.
The proprietor bigs himself up as a chef and with some justification. There is a choice of set menus ranging from EU35 to EU65. We had the EU35 menu (the table must all have the same and there is no choice of dishes) with an excellent first course of asparagus, parmesan biscuit and a delicious sauce, followed by a perfectly cooked and very well flavoured supreme de volaille. The following clafouti was a surprising disappointment with a rather odd mix of fruits instead of the traditional cherry (the menu is titled Saveurs d’Antan) and indifferent batter – if that’s what you’d call a clafouti base. I suspect it had been frozen and microwaved which would be death to any decent clafouti.

So where does the doubly deceptive come in? The first deception is the quality of the hotel behind the façade, and the generally good quality of the cooking.
The second deception is with the very focused aim this hotel has of getting every last euro out of you. I should have smelt a rat when we arrived. Looking at the room I asked my wife “how much is this costing” and she said she thought about EU100, as that was the price on the web site, but it had not been confirmed. We were charged EU220, which was the rack rate shown in the room – they had put us in their most expensive room, although there were only a couple of other guests. Our fault for not changing room.

The menus posted in the room give the clear impression that continental breakfast is included if you have an evening meal. No, it’s another EU12 each, or 16 if you want it outside. It’s a good breakfast but EU12 is steep for continental.

The patronne sells the cocktail du maison extremely hard but was coy about saying what was in it. My wife agreed to try it and it is basically kir royal with a bit of peach juice as far as I could see. And of course madame does not tell you it is EU12 a pop. She does a brisk trade in those.

I was not surprised when choosing the cheapest regional wine on the menu at EU25 to find the patronne pulling a face and telling me it was unavailable and selling hard much higher priced wines. You can pay over EU1000 if you want, but I gave in at 40 for a pleasant enough bottle. I think their markup must be about ten times.
On the web site is indicated the menu de jour at EU25. “Pas le soir” when you get there….

When the coffee arrived with a large plate of petit fours I thought “uh oh” and sure enough this justifies the price of 5 Euros for an espresso. Not particularly great espresso either, and nor particularly great petit fours.

Finally, having been advised not to leave our car in the square when there was parking behind, I was again unsurprised that no one mentioned that this would be another ten Euros.

So a nice, if tasteless, room in a dull town with a pushy patronne and some good food came in at 406 Euros for a night. Not really my idea of good value.

As I said this is largely our fault, but arriving late after driving hundreds of miles I am rarely in the mood to do battle with pushy patronnes. And the night before we’d had such an opposite experience in a Parador I had forgotten how rapacious some French hoteliers can be.

But then, maybe they forget that we don’t have to go again. Nor recommend it to anyone unless they like to keep their wits about them at all times and check the price of everything that Madame proposes.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jandelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2005

We stayed at this little hotel for a couple of nights. I had originally
found it on the internet through the Chateaux & Hotels book.
It was terrific - we had a beautifully furnished, huge room with
equally enormous bathroom and shower with double sink unit.

The garden is very pretty with a nice pool area. We had dinner
both evenings and the food was excellent. The establishment was run by a young gentleman who was also the chef . Breakfasts were very good
and service very good.

We had a great stay - it's situated in a very small village but if you
are en route say to the coast, or travelling around, I would highly
recommend a stay here. It's extremely quiet and very restful!

  • Stayed July 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clobella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mont-de-Marsan
10.0 mi away
Villa Mirasol
Villa Mirasol
#1 of 12 in Mont-de-Marsan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Du Sablar
Hotel Du Sablar
#4 of 12 in Mont-de-Marsan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
8.5 mi away
Campanile Mont De Marsan
Campanile Mont De Marsan
#3 of 12 in Mont-de-Marsan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Le Renaissance
Le Renaissance
#2 of 12 in Mont-de-Marsan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
13.6 mi away
La Bastide
La Bastide
#1 of 13 in Barbotan-les-Thermes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
14.1 mi away
Les Pres d'Eugenie
Les Pres d'Eugenie
#1 of 4 in Eugenie Les Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herve Garrapit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herve Garrapit

Property: Herve Garrapit
Address: Place De La Boiterie, 40190 Mont-de-Marsan, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Landes > Mont-de-Marsan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mont-de-Marsan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Herve Garrapit 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Herve Garrapit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herve Garrapit Mont De Marsan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing