We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Oyat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
L'Oyat
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lacanau-Ocean
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

I'm really surprised by the comments from others, we were in two of the redecorated rooms and they were great. Everywhere was spotless, clean towels everyday and bed linen changed every other day. We had a terrific veranda which we could access to get views onto the beach, and this has to be one of the best beaches you'll ever see anywhere, it's a surfers paradise, with large rolling north atlantic surf galore.
The owners and family couldn't do enough to help, they will run around non stop to assist you and nothing was any trouble.
As for food, you're in for a real treat, they have a superb a la carte menu and specials board, where you can dine on beautifully prepared two course meals for 14 Euro, all the locals eat here as it's so good.
We would definately stay here again, and the negative comments seen on this website will disappear as they continue to refurbish the rooms. Great place.

Room Tip: Barter on the price and specifically ask for refu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Salty4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    28
    23
    29
    6
See reviews for
16
54
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

mid october- drove from medoc country- missing the west coast of canada-needed to hear and sea the ocean. we arrived with no reservation and asked to see the room first. we took the junior suite at 90E - not fancy and has the gigantique deck overlooking the beach front.
bed is also huge and comfy- couch/tv/modern shower bathroom ( no bath). well worth the price. you can spend the day in the room/deck lounging, go for long beach walks, or drive around. must be nuts during summer months.....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvianne1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

We were traveling as 3 couples, and spent our 2nd last night of our week in France in this hotel.

Highlights:
- Great location - oceanside
- Friendly staff
- Free wireless internet

Lowlights:
- We stayed in room 108. Apparently there are some renovated rooms ("charme"?), but this was definitely not one of them. I would estimate that the hotel was built sometime in the late 70's, and our room appeared to have not been updated one bit.
- The room was ridiculously small for the 75 EUR we paid, plus:
- Horrible stench of heavily perfumed chemical cleaning product, likened to a gigantic bar of cheap hotel soap.
- Walls were in desperate need of a new paint job.
- Carpet was nasty.
- Bathroom was at least functional, with a tub, but no shower curtain so one had to squat to bathe.
- Overall decor was as dated as the hotel.
- Bedside light didn't function
- Bed had a sinkhole in the middle

Overall, the experience was horrible. Quite possibly the worst hotel I've stayed in. Prior to seeing the room, we had inquired about staying a 2nd night, but needless to say, that didn't happen. I would have prefered to sleep on the beach.

We didn't care to try the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ET1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lacanau-Ocean hotels

ussex
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

OK, location is superb & the reception staff polite. However, it all goes downhill from there. Didn't read the reviews on this site prior to our visit but should have. We also got room 112 which is terrible. A 'family room' meaning long & narrow with 3 beds. A Bathroom with a tiny bath, dodgy taps & barely enough hot water for 1 bath (not good when 3 people want to clean up after a day on the beach). We had damp floor tiles and an on/off stink which smelt like a fosse septique. The windows were filthy & only just opened. The web site suggests much, much more and we were grateful it was only a one night stay. We didn't try the restaurant as the quality of the room put us off.
We would recommend Lacanau to anyone - we didn't see anyone 'chucking up' but we were in bed by 11.00pm. Streets were spotless the following morning though.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinfoilsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

Our room was a '70s throw back! We booked a double room at half board the room was long and narrow, wallpaper peeling off the wall carpet tiles peeling up it had two windows one of which wouldn't open, we would have liked to open it because you couldn't see through the grime on them. A photo of our room is definitely not on the hotel website! If you are going to this hotel don['t have room 112. The location of the hotel is excellent shame we can't say the same about our room
On the plus side food in the resturant is supberb even if it did take them three attempts to bring the correct starter! Buffet breakfast was also good.
If you're under 22yrs of age, a surfer, who likes to throw up in the street in the evening then Lacanu is the place for you!
If you're travelling in a family then stay just outside the main beach location , there are many activity places which look excellent

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cefaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacanau-Ocean
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golf Hotel Lacanau
BEST WESTERN Golf Hotel Lacanau
#2 of 4 in Lacanau-Ocean
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cote d'Argent
Hotel Cote d'Argent
#4 of 4 in Lacanau-Ocean
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vitalparc
Vitalparc
#1 of 4 in Lacanau-Ocean
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Village Club Lacanau
5.7 mi away
Residence Pierre & Vacances Les Grands Pins
0.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Bleu Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Oyat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Oyat

Property: L'Oyat
Address: Front de Mer, 33680 Lacanau-Ocean, Lacanau, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Lacanau > Lacanau-Ocean
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lacanau-Ocean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — L'Oyat 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your L'Oyat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Oyat Lacanau Ocean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing