We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice change from the large chain hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Mas del Pechs
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel is situated at the top of a fairly steep hill above the town, best to take the car in to go to dinner (the hotel just serves breakfast). It has a nice swimming pool and a lovely garden and covered terrace. Breakfast is continental only but very good. They put plastic mattress covers underneath the sheets but they are easily removed.

Room Tip: Be very careful if you use Satnav to get there. The route we were given was through an extremely na...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Mas del Pechs
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 199 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2012

I used the hotel for an overnight stay and was made very welcome. The room was clean and comfortable with patio doors opening onto a small terrace. Decor was quirkily French but immaculate. The breakfast room was very attractive and the continental breakfast ample and well presented. Reception was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My fiance and I were looking for a lovely couple of days in the Dordogne ahead of our wedding next month to de-stress and explore the region. From previous reviews, we were really excited about a lovely hotel. The hotel is very functional, but doesn't quite serve up the romantic, characterful hotel that we were looking for. It was very clean, had one of the best showers we've ever had (always a plus!), looked like it had a great pool although the weather didn't allow us to check this out and the breakfast was a lovely continental breakfast buffet. However, there wasn't much in the way of character and the rooms weren't that big for the price we were paying. Additionally, the owners, who were lovely, didn't speak much english, so we weren't able to ask the questions we wanted to.

We were aware that the hotel is at the top of a big hill and is 1km away from the centre of the town. We walked into town and thought we could get a taxi back, but were mistaken. We had to walk up this hill in the dark, which wasn't the easiest.

Saying that, this hotel is in a great location for exploring the region and had many things going for it. It just didn't meet our requirements for our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank wendover_haggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Overnight stay in December in a twin-bedded room. Access to the hotel requires a car, and the drive uphill is very steep. A traditional French hotel with clean rooms in need of a renovation. Twin beds are too narrow and uncomfortable for adults. The owner however is very friendly, gave us great tips for restaurants and prepares a breakfast buffet that got us off to a great start for a winter visit of nearby Sarlat. A good place to stay for the relaxed B&B customer, not too demanding in terms of comfort. Restaurant closed off-season.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrenchLIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

We wanted 4 nights in Sarlat, having been here before and having some time spare after a family celebration in France. We also wanted a pool, some peace and quiet and comfortable rooms to retire to after canoeing, cycling and dinner each night in Sarlat!

The location was great - not walkable back from Sarlat due to the hill, so a car is essential - but no problem if you have a car, which most poeple do who come to this region. If you stay in the town itself, you won't get a pool or peace, so you need to choose what it is you're after.

The facilities were everything we expected at this reasonable price. The rooms were spacious and clean, breakfast was good value and of good quality. As the rooms have aircon, we slept with the windows and shutters closed and got 4 excellent nights' sleep! The pool was not heated, but given the warm temperatures this was not a problem in late August. The pool area was never crowded and always quiet.

The owner and her husband were very pleasant, welcoming and very eager to help, not that we needed to ask much of them as everything was exactly as it should have been.

When we go back to the area, this hotel will be top of our booking list!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shenlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

Sarlat is a beautiful town with so much to offer and this a wonderful small hotel that really made my trip. Large rooms, very quiet location, beautiful views and a cooling pool. Add to this good staff, cheap rates and a great breakfast and you have a hotel that is much more then the 2 stars it currently has. It is a couple of minutes out of town, and only walkable if you like steep hills so a car is important. Also, get there before 9 in the evening as the owners go to bed (sorry again!). No WiFi is my only downer, but it was supposed to be a business break.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Addled_in_Ades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Stayed 3 nights at Le Mas del Pechs during a trip through southern France.

The hotel is wonderfully clean, with great helpful owners. The place has a pool which was clean and there are towels available.

Great price at around 80 euros a night, and lots of room and it is close to town. However we were backpacking so without a car it's about 1.2 km into town. Normally that isn't too bad, but it's pretty steep downhill meaning the way back is a bit rough after a big dinner and alot less lighting.

Overall a wonderful place if you're driving through the area (which is probably the way to travel it), but if you're carrying a backpack you'd probably be better served staying in town as taxis in the city are virutally non-existant (unless you feel like calling them and waiting 20 minutes each time).

Best bonus was we did ask for a cab to the train station upon departure, and the wonderful owner offered to drive us himself. It was much appreciated by us and it is a perfect reflection of the fantastic hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JFcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
659 reviews
0.8 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
561 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
375 reviews
3.5 mi away
Le Relais du Touron
Le Relais du Touron
#2 of 3 in Carsac-Aillac
204 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#19 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Mas del Pechs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Mas del Pechs

Address: 10 route des Pechs, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range: $84 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Mas del Pechs 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the hill of Sarlat and a mere 900 metres from the heart of the medieval town, the hotel Le Mas del Pechs offers you calm and peace in the comfort of 18 rooms each with bathroom and private wc, direct phone link, wifi, television, minibar and air-conditionning. You'll enjoy the private park and, of course, its swimming pool. Taste the delights of simply relaxing on the terrace which gives onto a patio. Hotel Le Mas Del Pechs is the ideal base for organizing your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Mas del Pechs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Mas Del Pechs France/Sarlat-La-Caneda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing