We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An Absolute Gem in South West France”
Beautiful historic home brought to life, ensuite bedrooms, private pool, WIFI, parking, UK TV.......
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful historic home brought to life, ensuite bedrooms, private pool, WIFI, parking, UK TV.......
Sarlat holiday home -view from the pool towards the house & outside dining area with gas BBQ & shade Main house - King double, dual aspect windows, ensuite shower room, ceiling fan, heating, wood floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Beautiful historic home brought to life, ensuite bedrooms, private pool, WIFI, parking, UK TV.......
Sarlat holiday home -view from the pool towards the house & outside dining area with gas BBQ & shade
Main house - King double, dual aspect windows, ensuite shower room, ceiling fan, heating, wood floor
10x4m South facing heated salt water pool with Roman End - no added chlorine & better for your s
Beautiful south facing house located in a tranquil setting on the edge of Sarlat & Beynac.
Full size chef designed kitchen, granite worktops, stone floor, range cooker, full size dishwasher..
Ensuite shower room for the twin bedroom with expose chimney breast & oak beams.
Sarlat holiday home - wonderful space and views. South facing terrace with parasols if required.
Apartment kitchen looking through to living room
Comfortable living area with exposed stone walls, oak beams, oak flooring, log burner, British TV
Ensuite shower room for the twin/superking room with a walk in shower, toilet & sink.
House King bedroom with comfortable 5ft memory foam pocket spring mattress & ensuite shower room
Quality fully fitted solid wood kitchen, granite tops, dishwasher, waste disposal, range cooker.....
Apartment kitchen
Apartment ensuite shower room
Apartment ensuite shower room
Ensuite shower room
Swimming pool with shallow & deep ends, south facing stone terracing, 6 sun loungers & paras
Beautiful Beynac, Sarlat, La Roque Gageac, Castelnaud & Domme are all within a 3-10 minute drive
The Dordogne river - a day spent canoe past the Chateaux is a must or take a leisurely boat trip.
Magnificent Beynac
Our nearby secret river swimming & picnic spot, virtually empty even in July & August!
Sarlat holiday home - comfortable accommodation for your friends & family in a spacious 16thC home
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
P_J_Onthe...
Regina, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An Absolute Gem in South West France”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at La Buguette June 28-July 5, 2015 and it exceeded our expectations from the moment we arrived! The driving directions we received from the owners, Hamish and Xanthe, were excellent and we had no trouble finding the house. We arrived early Sunday evening and were greeted almost immediately by Hamish who gave us a quick overview. He later brought over a bottle of cold sparkling wine which we so appreciated given how hot it was in the region. The location was so tranquil and beautiful and our girls (13 and 7) loved the chickens, cat, and especially the two dogs Jack and Truffle who came for regular visits. It was so nice having Hamish and Xanthe right next door - they were very mindful of our privacy but were also always available when we needed them. The kitchen was gorgeous and equipped with everything we needed including a salad spinner! We loved the supply of board games and took time every evening after dinner to play one before heading to the pool for a before bed swim. We also appreciated the amazing work of renovating the house - it was modern yet maintained its 16th century charm. Because it was so hot during our week long stay (averaging 35 degrees each day) we spent almost every afternoon and evening swimming in the pool which was kept immaculate by Hamish. The loungers, umbrella and pool itself made us feel like we were at a resort less the people - it was perfect and we really relaxed! We also loved the proximity to amazing sites such as Beynac, the caves at Lascaux, Chateau Losse, and of course the amazing outdoor market right in old Sarlat. Overall, this was one of the most amazing weeks of vacation we have taken over the years.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBeat42...
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An ideal vacation rental home—neat & clean, good value, helpful owners.”
Reviewed July 1, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My wife and I stayed at this property with another couple and we were completely satisfied with our first experience with a vacation rental property. In fact, in many ways it exceeded our expectations.

As I suggested in the headline, the property was immaculate—clean and tidy with everything in proper working order. The owners were exceedingly helpful. They provided lots of information on the area, including a well-curated list of restaurants and activities. On our first morning, they even surprised us with a delivery of some farm-fresh eggs.

The location was great as a base for touring a much larger area. During our eight days there we ventured as far as Saint-Emilion to the west and Padarac to the east. Those names might not be familiar, but my point is that the location works well for sightseeing the attractions of southwest France.

The booking process was simple. The owners, who are originally from England, are hands-on and communicate clearly and quickly via email. If you're coming from the U.S., Canada, or Oceania, not having to overcome a language barrier can be a welcome surprise.

The value is great compared to staying in a hotel, especially if you have a family with children or are traveling with friends, as we were. If you have ever considered trying a vacation rental, this is a great property to try. I don't think you will be disappointed.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having the comforts of home on a vacation.
Liked least: Driving on country roads.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTbibi
Clinton, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charm and comfort on steroids...”
Reviewed June 27, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We were seeking both the charm of the French countryside AND the comforts of home and happily found all and more that we hoped for at this lovely vacation rental. Our hosts, Xanthe and Hammish (and their charming son, Rory) were incredibly welcoming and helpful. We so enjoyed visiting with them, and loved their help with suggestions about sites to visit or experiences to have ( local markets, canoe trip on the river, restaurants, etc.). Having Jack the dog or Mac the cat, or even the pack of free wandering chickens there to greet us after a days exploration made our evening 'sundowners' at our very own garden spot all the more pleasurable. The home itself was terrific. Bedrooms and ensuite bathrooms allowed us (ourselves and our friends from CA) to rest well and the remainder of the house (great kitchen and open space for friendly casual visiting) was just what is needed for convivial shared times. Quick access to Sarlat meant that dashes to a market for provisions ( fresh croissants in the morning) was easy, another wonderful asset to a self catering holiday. Friendly, special hosts, a great house, a stunning location - what's not to love? It was WONDERFUL.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle...
2 reviews
“Absolute Perfection!”
Reviewed June 24, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I stayed in this home with our 3 children (24, 13 and 12) and a family friend for 7 days. The area and the house was perfect for all of us. The house is located countryside which was quiet and a perfect way to end a day full of activities in the surrounding villages. Sarlat, Domme, Beynac were all within a few minutes drive, as well as many other wonderful towns.

From booking to the day we left, Xanthe and Hamish made every experience for us go as smoothly as possible and assisted in anyway they could to ensure our stay was perfect!

The house itself is large, bedrooms all have en suites (including a toilet in each), bedding is plush, very comfortable and everything was very clean. Kitchen was fully stocked with any appliance you could need.

In the mornings, we had a great time collecting eggs from their 13 or so roaming chickens for our breakfast!! In the evening, playing ball with the terrier, Jack (who if we were allowed, would have taken back to the states with us) or cuddling with Mac the cat were all things that made us feel comfortable and at home.

Our whole experience with this rental was perfection and we would highly recommend staying here! Looking forward to staying here again one day!

Thanks Hamish and Xanthe for a week of a lifetime :)

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of home.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobsW2190...
Encinitas, California
1 review
“An Idyllic Setting”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This beautiful, recently renovated property is ideally located just a few minutes from the city of Sarlat-la-Caneda. The 16c dwelling looks out on a lush meadow surrounded by wooded hills. The tranquility and quiet is wonderful.

The house has top-quality amenities including en-suite bathrooms, a full kitchen and lovely great room. The outside seating area provides a great place to review the day's adventures over a glass of wine.
The owners make all formalities of renting as smooth as possible and response to requests immediately. Truly an enjoyable experience.

Date of stay: April 2015
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProfNat
East Linton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday property, location and hosts - What more do you want?”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We couldn't have been made to feel more welcome in this beautifully and tastefully renovated 16th Century property - with lots of character features as well as the modern conveniences needed for comfort. Fabulous location for exploring the Dordogne region, and very close to the medieval towns of Sarlat and Beynac. We only had a week, but we felt like we had filled each and every day with something new and interesting. Apart from how clean and spacious it is, we also appreciated the lovely big wood-burner stove (which supplemented the radiators on the cooler early April nights we had whilst there), the lovely open plan kitchen/living space, with big windows looking out to the wonderful views all around, we were very pleased to have all of the essentials in the fully kitted out kitchen, skybox and squashy sofas/chairs (for our teenage boy), a swimming pool (we dipped our toes but April too chilly for full immersion), sun patio area ( I burned my nose when the sun did come out), and BBQ. We also loved meeting the chickens free-ranging around the paddocks, Jack the dog's lovely little character and welcome when we returned back in the evening and parked our hire car in the safety of the garage, and our wonderful hosts Xanthe and Hamish and their younger son, Rory. Hamish and Xanthe are warm and generous landlords. They are on site, but have the experience required to know when to come and chat without being invasive. They were amazingly helpful to us - from the support they gave us with trying to locate our lost luggage, Rory sorted out our Sat Nav so it spoke English to us, Hamish booked local restaurants and went above and beyond with finding me a dentist for an emergency appt to deal with a painful back tooth, and Xanthe even took me to meet some 'horsey' friends of hers, so that I could learn more about the area and what it had to offer. I am sure they are much relieved to see the back of us, and all our dramas! We can't thank them enough for a great time, and are happy to recommend this wonderful holiday home to families and couples who want a country location within easy access to all that the Dordogne had to offer.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, Hosts, Character property, central location for sites.
Liked least: We loved all of it!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Family0fF...
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Can we move in permanently?”
Reviewed October 16, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

From the moment our family of five pulled up outside 'La Buguette' we had the most fantastic holiday. The house is absolutely beautiful (and I am very fussy!).There is a large kitchen / dining / living room downstairs and two large bedrooms, both with comfortable beds and ensuites, upstairs. The level of the renovation is more in keeping with someone's prized home than a holiday rental. The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed to enjoy the wonderful produce we brought home from the markets. The aspect from the house looks on to beautiful fields and woods. I spent hours by the pool just staring at the beautiful building and the surrounding fields. Seeing hot air balloons flying over the fields in the early evening, whilst sipping local wine, was entrancing. Xanthe and Hamish (the owners) were friendly, easy-going and very helpful. Xanthe sent detailed information on everything we needed to know prior to our visit. Our kids fell in love with their little dog Jack, and loved collecting eggs from the free-range chickens. They spent half of each day in the lovely pool, only to be dragged away to the wonderful markets in nearby Sarlat (an exquisite town). We really appreciated being in the countryside - great for jogging down a winding lane and for the kids to run around as much as they desired. Canoeing with children is easy and close-by and gives another perspective on the fairytale landscape.Anyone looking for a wonderful holiday home in the most beautiful part of the Dordogne - look no further!

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - it is a beautiful and well appointed home in a great location
Liked least: That we had to leave at the end of our holiday....
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing