We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2010

When you return from a trip to the Dordogne region of France and the first thing you rave about to all your friends and family is not the beautiful crystal caves, the incredible prehistoric cave paintings, the canoe trip down the Dordogne River, the beautiful castles & chateau's, the amazing scenery, or some of the best food in the world, but the B&B you stayed at, you know Les Cordeliers is really something special.
It started even before our arrival with Amanda helping me with transportation questions and reservations, and continued non-stop until, as we were checking out on Saturday after doing some food shopping at the market, we mentioned to Chris we'd be stopping for a picnic on our way back to Toulouse. He ran and got us plates, cups, and napkins to take with us.
All the wonderful things you’ve read about in previous posts, the great location, the giant rooms, comfortable beds, fantastic breakfast, the kitchenette, laundry, and most of all the service, may seem too good to be true, but let me assure you they are all true.
Sarlat-la-Caneda is the perfect home base for a trip to the Dordogne and Les Cordeliers is the perfect place to stay.
Chris, Amanda, Danny, and Sandy, even after reading all the great reviews, you exceeded all expectations. We can’t thank you enough for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dkmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 599 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2010

It has all been said in previous reviews but I just want to add to the very deserved accolades. Les Cordeliers was PERFECT in fact "Heaven on a stick". Amanda gave me so much advice via email prior to our arrival from how best to travel from Paris to where to pick up our hire car etc. It all went like clockwork. Then we arrived and found Chris to welcome us at the front door and being such a gentleman he insisted on carrying my bag up to the room. Then I realised how lucky we really were. The ROOM the view the furniture the bed the bathroom and the special kitchen for guests with drinks and a coffee machine, they had thought of everything to make their guests comfortable. Chris and Amanda have created a dream come true for the traveller. The photos and reviews are totally real. Hard to imagine when most photos of hotels etc. are made to look better than they are trust me I know from experience. If you go to the Dordogne this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debiCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We have just returned from three lovely nights at Les Cordeliers. Chris and his small, friendly and helpful team of Amanda, Sandie and Danny couldn't have been nicer. Our room, number 6, was large, spacious and light with the best bed we have slept in, besides our own, for a long time. A larger mirror in the bathroom is the only improvement we could suggest.
The little kitchen, with free drinks and snacks, was most appreciated. We loved the breakfast, each seperate component was of the highest quality and thanks Chris for perfect soft poached eggs and hot fresh teapots of earl grey. My husband was also amused by the wondeful orange juice extractor that reminded him of something from Wallis and Gromitt! Whatever - it makes superb juice!
We were also impressed with the location, just a few strides from the old town with its myriad of small winding streets, great bars and restaurants.
All in all, if you are looking for an outstanding place to relax and unwind then Les Cordeliers will fit the bill perfectly.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hardtoplease3155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Les Cordeliers is truly a gem in Sarlat. We stayed there for two nights and found our stay truly relaxing and comfortable. The room is extremely spacious, with fully functional air conditioner and American standard queen-sized bed. The facilities in the bathroom are very modern. The owner Chris and his staff helped us with our luggages, and even provided advice in parking. So for two days, we were able to park our 9-seater van in a safe spot completely free of charge. The breakfast absolutely was worth more than what we paid for because the food provided by the owners was very generous. Sarlat is a quaint, beautiful and touristic town. We wish Chris and Amanda all the best with their business. We will definitely pass the good words around.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and should have made it a week. Our experience was extremely positive with friendly owners and staff who were keen to ensure our stay was a real holiday.Friendly english owners who went out of there way to help us with directions,luggage,car parking.I loved the rooms with the view into the square,the extras of air con made it very pleasant and the breakfast room was delightful ,fantastic choices with fresh orange juice made infront of you!
I enjoyed this hotel and location so much I am going to visit again next year.A delightful and beautifully appointed hotel with a very high standard of service.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katjanethom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We usually don't write the review until after we have left the residence, but in this case an exception is required. Les Cordeliers is a truly extraordinary “B&B” as we say in the USA. The room was exceptionally large and so clean. We have stayed in hotels where the air conditioning was only an ON/OFF button to make you feel good. The A/C here really worked. Our hosts, Chris and Amanda – aided by Danny made this a wonderful stay. We originally booked for 3 nights, but the location, amenities and staff were so great we decided to cancel another part of our trip and stay here for 3 extr days. Rick Steves’ book is right on the mark on this hotel. 4 star lodgings at a 2 star price. The breakfast is overwhelming and cooked to order. For English speakers this is an ideal place. We hope they get overwhelmed with visitors.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pwp1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

My 15 year old daughter & I stayed for 1 week at Les Cordeliers in July. I booked this B&B after reading all the fantastic reviews on Trip Advisor. It turned out to be everything I was hoping for and more. Chris and Amanda are wonderful hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them, they go out of their way to make guests feel comfortable without being intrusive. It was also lovely to meet their friend Danny who is staying with them for a while and helping out.
Les Cordeliers is perfectly situated just outside the Old Town. Everything is within walking distance. Our room was very spacious, comfortable, quiet and had a lovely view of the small garden square outside. The room also thankfully had air conditioning as it was extremely hot the week we were there.
As mentioned in previous reviews the breakfasts are amazing and the kitchenette very handy for refreshments. Amanda did a couple of loads of washing for us which we were very appreciative for.
Sarlat is a wonderful base for seeing the Dordogne area. There are many lovely villages and castles to visit and we really enjoyed driving in the countryside as it is a truly beautiful part of France to visit. We especially enjoyed canoeing the picturesque Dordogne River which was recommended to us by Chris.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wonderhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
671 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
581 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#18 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
382 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de la Pagezie
Hotel de la Pagezie
#21 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast

Address: 51 rue des Cordeliers, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range: $97 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Cordeliers is a luxury bed and breakfast overlooking the beautiful memorial square in the centre of the famous medieval town of Sarlat-la-Caneda. The rooms are spacious and air conditioned with ensuite bathrooms. Two of the rooms have super king size beds. Four double bedrooms, one with private roof terrace. Three twin bed rooms , two with views over the beautiful garden square. Free tea and coffee making facilities. International breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Cordeliers Hotel
Les Cordeliers b&b
Les Cordeliers Bed And Breakfast France/Sarlat-La-Caneda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing