We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - but avoid Sarlat if you are expecting to get a taxi in or around town!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Montaigne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Montaigne
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - but avoid Sarlat if you are expecting to get a taxi in or around town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Hotel Montaigne is in an excellent location, facing onto Place Louis Pasteur, which is just where main street shops and eateries begin, is near Post Office and Gendarmerie and a few minutes walk from the tourist office and town centre, and is where intra-regional buses stop, Ophorus day tours start and there is parking.

Hotel service was distinctly uneven. Monsieur was welcoming when we arrived; we were frustrated and worn out from having to trudge the uneven / often broken up or missing footpaths the 1.1km from the station to the hotel (after phoning five of the ten taxis listed at the station and being told none were or would be free).* Monsieur was helpful during our stay and when we left, offering and taking us to the station, to Madame’s evident displeasure, after she had unsuccessfully phoned three taxi companies and told us we would have to walk.

We had booked a room with ‘grand lit’ and were given one with twin beds but we accepted these without comment. The beds were a good size and comfortable, the room and bathroom quite spacious. Our windows looked out onto the square, Place Pasteur, which gave us an outlook, and it was quiet enough that we didn’t need to close the double-glazed windows at night.

Breakfast was served by Monsieur in a pleasant room and there was a good choice.

* AVOID Sarlat as an independent tourist unless you have a car (or a bicycle on which you can carry your luggage) or are able and prepared to go into, out of and around town on foot, whether with your luggage or without. There are no local buses and taxis are not prepared to take local fares, including to meet trains.

NB: If you travel by train to Souillac and then by ‘Autocar’ (bus) from Souillac railway station to Sarlat: check with the bus driver - apparently the bus goes on from Gare SNCF at Sarlat to Place Louis Pasteur but our driver did not let us know this.

There are nine or ten taxi numbers listed on a signboard at the railway station, apparently all independent (hence individual phone calls required – at great expense if you’re using your mobile phone on ‘global roaming’) but on a Saturday afternoon none were prepared to take tourists from the railway station into town. Nor from the centre of Sarlat to the station on a Monday morning.

We were informed that the taxi drivers will take fares to other towns / villages but won’t do trips to/from local hotels and the station because the €5 fares are just not worth their while.

Other tourists we spoke to had experienced the same thing and been given the same information. Yes, “it is a small town”, but with so many tourists; presumably the vast majority of visitors either have their own transport or are on organised tours.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    94
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
23
91
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

It was our first visit to Sarlat, and we wanted something simple with no frills but near the old town. This ticked every box. The huge bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I've slept in, and while the rooms are basic they offered everything required, including a decent selection of tv channels. Everything was spotlessly clean. The owners were extremely helpful- providing maps and instructions on what to see. I can't comment on breakfast as we prefer to search out local cafes, but it is available from 8.00 in the morning. The hotel location is excellent, with parking outside so easy to enjoy this beautiful town. Would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
438 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here three nights with tour group. Nice sized rooms....we had a corner room which was nice. Great bed and clean bathroom although a bit skimpy on soap and shampoo....it was not replenished during our stay. Breakfasts were pretty average...nothing really special. The couple that run this hotel work very hard and are very accomodating.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there and a female staff was extremely rude and made me feel very unwelcome. Rooms are great and spacious and quiet. The wifi connection is good and free. Good location to go down the street.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank lil_tag89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Nice hotel in Sarlat. Comfortable king size bed. Programmable thermostat to control heating and air. Large bathroom with shower. Flat screen TV with many channels including BBC and CNN. Lockable closet and electric shutter/shade in the window. Friendly and accommodating couple are the owners of the hotel, and manage the front desk. Free parking available closeby. Highly recommend hotel at a very reasonable price. Would stay again if in the area again.

Room Tip: Nice hotel at a reasonable rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a spacious room at a reasonable price. We appreciated the large bed with a good mattress. Our room faced the public parking lot but the noise was no problem. The air-conditionning worked very well. There is wi-fi but be careful because it's available for ONLY ONE electronic device. Also the electricity is shut off when you leave the room, so one cannot recharge the computer when you're not in the room.
Our friends were not so lucky with their room. They had a smaller room in the back which faced a small ugly courtyard.
As mentioned in other reviews, the location is perfect, close to Sarlat old town.

The breakfast was good but a little pricey for 9 euros. Only one croissant was given and no pain au chocolat, which is my favorite breakfast food. The rest of the buffet items were fine.

After reading other reviews, I expected a better welcome. The owners were polite but not very friendly. They were "correcte" as they say in French. Our friends who checked in after us had the same reaction. I tried to engage the woman in a brief conversation in French and she answered politely but it was clear that she was not interested in talking.

I would recommend this hotel if you can have a room facing the street. Our friends' room was not very pleasant but I will let them write their own review.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the public parking in front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed at logis montaigne for 3 nights. I walked here from the train station. It was down hill and took about 15 minutes. I chose to take a taxi back to the station for my return since it was an uphill walk and early in the morning. The hotel clerk arranged for my taxi. My room was on the first floor and was a nice twin and large. the bathroom also was a nice size with a good size shower. Rick Steve's tour group was staying here also. My room was very clean. The hotel is located just a few blocks from the old town and the market. I would definitely stay here again. It was a good value. Ophorus tours picked up at the bus stop right outside the hotel's front door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paristx49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
#17 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Compostelle
Hotel de Compostelle
#20 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant St. Albert
Hotel Restaurant St. Albert
#34 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel de la Pagezie
Hotel de la Pagezie
#19 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montaigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montaigne

Property: Hotel Montaigne
Address: 2 Place Pasteur, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montaigne 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Montaigne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montaigne France/Sarlat-La-Caneda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing