We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, central hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spent two nights here and were very happy with the location, facilities and value for money. The room was a tad small but perfectly adequate. Free wifi and small pool were a plus. The hotel is within walking distance of all shops, restaurants and attractions in this lovely town. The market each Saturday takes place right outside the hotel and all along the main streets, it is one of the best markets we have been to - a mixture of food, clothes, jewellery and gifts and all of good quality. We were not told on booking that it is necessary to book car parking, so on arrival the hotel parking was full. However, we parked a five minute walk away in a large, free car park which was perfectly acceptable and saved us €30!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cat063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
There are newer reviews for Plaza Madeleine & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 560 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

Situated at the start of the pedestrian quarter of Sarlat, this hotel is an excellent value for money.It has AC in the room, beds are comfy and staff friendly and helpfull.Highly recommended in this great city of Sarlat.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Fantastic Hotel, which lives up to it's claim of being a luxury hotel. We stayed in a Prestige Room which was just pure luxury. We could not fault our view of the room and hotel ammenities. The pool and hot tub were fantastic and had we wished the steam room and sauna, but we chose not to use it, mainly because the lovely August weather kept us poolside. We have seen other reviews about the hotel and it's claim of being a spa hotel and I would agree that we were also under the impression from their website that they would have an indoor pool and full spa facilities which would normally include massage and perhaps other spa treatments.

Breakfast was very disorganised because food was laid out in different areas and some of the staff could do with a lesson in smiling !! But the quality of the food and choice was essentially very good.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Prestige Room which carried a higher tarrif especially during high season, but it tic...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YORKY209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The whole Hotel is very modern which may not appeal everybody but we liked it. The AC was wonderful and managed to keep the room cool throughout the four nights we stayed there with outside temperature well above 30 C. Wifi is free, two logins per room. Breakfast was very nice with a choice to sit outside and watch the city come to life in the morning. One of the waitresses was a bit surly...

Parking, which you can book in advance, is 10€ and a couple of blocks from the hotel but very secure and under roof. Expect lots of tourists in august with traffic jams on most main roads leading to and from Sarlat and major sights in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Only stayed for one night but wish it had been two. Very well positioned, well run hotel. Parking was away from the hotel but secure. We had a nice room overlooking the front but well sound proofed. Pool at the hotel but we did not use as limited time for us.Good breakfast with choice of breads and freshly squeezed orange juice. Would return to this hotel. Sarlat is a lovely place with lots going on, well worth a stay. Duck with everything!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Secure car parking couple of streets away. Really lovely hotel unfortunately we were only here one night would have loved to have stayed longer. Very clean and lovely comfortable bed.

Breakfast was excellent although one of the waitresses wasn't very pleasant but the other one more than made up for it.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LindaWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here last year and returned again on our travels as we had enjoyed it so much. We were assigned the same room that overlooked the swimming pool. We noticed this had been improved even more and now had a water feature as well. The rooms as last time were airy, clean, well-maintained and had all the expected amenities. Shower could have been a bit more powerful, but that is a minor point. The breakfast was of a high standard, freshly squeezed orange juice, and a wide selection on offer. The hotel has a bar which is managed by a friendly staff, and they have started a wine-tasting bar. The hotel's situation is at the end of the high street and very accessible. On Saturdays the whole town is taken over by a huge market. A wonderful sight to consider building into your stay. [This causes diversions around the town, so not the best day to consider checking out on if you have a car!] The hotel has a secure garage at €10 a day. Definitely worth the money as parking is scarce. We would return again, as we love the hotel and the town. The only slight disappointment was that there was no longer a full restaurant running at the hotel, only a snack/tapas menu. However staying this the town is brimming with restaurants so you will not go hungry.

Room Tip: Rooms at back quieter as not on road or overlooking town.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suffolk07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
659 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#20 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#8 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
943 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
375 reviews
4.3 mi away
Le Relais du Touron
Le Relais du Touron
#2 of 3 in Carsac-Aillac
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Madeleine & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Madeleine & Spa

Address: 1 Place Petite Rigaudie, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range: $152 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Madeleine & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL PLAZA MADELEINE Hotel & Spa is an exclusive 4-star hotel in the center of the city. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of Sarlat with direct access to the medieval city with its mansions & monuments, markets, shops & restaurants, shows & events streets .... PLAZA MADELEINE Hotel & Spa is the privilege of the city center a wellness area with heated pool, jacuzzi, Hamman, sauna, solarium ... The property is fully air conditioned and offers free high-speed WiFi. The hotel also offers a garage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Plaza Madeleine & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Madeleine Hotel
Plaza Madeleine And Spa
De La Madeleine Hotel
Plaza Madeleine & Spa France/Sarlat-La-Caneda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing