We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (651)
Filter reviews
651 results
Traveler rating
290
269
66
17
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
269
66
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelprestige roomold townsecure lotsauna and steam roomsaturday marketexcellent locationsecure parkingthe room was nicepool areaminutes walk awaythe main streettwo blockssaturday morningminute walk from the hotelstayed nightsoverlooking the square
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 651 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Plaza Madeleine & Spa early June 2012. The location of the hotel is excellent. The rooms are dark but we slept like babies... very comfortable beds and pillows.
We pre-booked the car park ... this was located a couple of blocks from the hotel and very convenient. The breakfast extremely delicious and the restaurant staff very helpful.

The only down side to the hotel was the front desk reception. It was so bad that we were afraid to ask any questions.... we had a problem with the TV .... but too afraid to ask.... the lady was not helpful at all.....
When we were checking out we spoke to the owner/manager and mentioned about the lady on reception and we were told that she has had a few personal problems etc....
however, after reading a few other comments it would appear she has had a few problems for awhile so we need to mention her rudeness ... hopefully if you stay at this hotel you will get a friendly receptionist...maybe the delightful owner/manager.

Room Tip: These rooms are dark... but you will get a good sleep
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhiteFamily144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We experienced a hostile management upon arrival, a dark and depressing room, no other rooms available, and no cooperation when we wanted to leave and experience another night in the glom of the room assigned. Plus very strange, organic art on the walls - evidently an attempt to modernize the place. We cannot recommend the Plaza Madeleine. If you do decide to stay, because of the good location, insist on seeing the room first.

Room Tip: Insist on a bright room with multiple windows.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PatioPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights here in July 2011. The location is excellent..steps from the old city. If you have only a few days, try to plan to be here on market day, as the vendors are set up immediately in front of the hotel. The smells of the paella and chickens cooking is maddeningly delicious! The hotel has a fine outdoor pool that is mostly shaded in the afternoon. It is close to restaurants both in the old town and out. We had a refridgerator in the room so were able to picnic around the area. Plenty of boulangeres and patisseries nearby. Only negative is the car park is a few blocks away and maybe received a bit of untypical French attitude. Pardon ma francais!

Go here!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PapaSteveF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in January for my birthday. The room was clean, modern and tidy with a lovely view of the town square. The hotel staff were very helpful and accommodating. It's in a great location right in the centre of Sarlat with plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank echo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Hotel is traditional and impressive from the outside, and has had a pleasant enough modern recent re-fit, giving it a boutique-hotel sort of atmosphere. Room was a fair size, and we slept 2 adults and with 2 children on the sofa bed - a bit squashed but that was our choice. The sofa bed was fine, but the "double bed" was 2 singles pushed together, both of which sloped towards the middle. Not comfortable. Our room faced the pretty terrace with pool (closed) and jacuzzi (open). At night there was the noise of some machinery outside (aircon / extractors fans / boilers ?) which was irritiating and meant keeping the windows open was not possible. Bathroom was pretty basic given recent re-fit.

Breakfasst was international buffet, and generally pretty good. The bar, "Au Bureau", had a rather un-French pubby feel, but was fine. Didnt eat in the restaurant. Staff generally ok. Limited parking by the hotel, but they have a secure parking lot 3-4 minutes walk away, which I do not believe we were charged for (may be different in high season).

If I could ensure a better bed and quieter room I would return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Voyager212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews