We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clos La Boetie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clos La Boetie
Ranked #31 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We had five nights during hot weather in July. The pool and grassed area by the pool were very welcome. The staff were friendly and helpful in recommending restaurants. Car parking can be booked at €12 per night. You won't find any other parking nearby on Saturday (market day). The room was a very high standard with great bathroom and comfortable beds. Highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    33
    17
    11
    5
See reviews for
15
80
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a beautiful room with a terrace by the pool. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable of the area . We took the receptionists advice both on sightseeing and eating . She knew her stuff . Icing on the cake was the great air conditioning . Highly recommend !

Room Tip: Didn't try the restaurant or spa so can't really say. We had the room off the lobby . Very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesliecsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and it was perfectly located within five minutes walking distance to the old city. Parking was easy to find on the street and if you can't there is paid parking available. Large comfortable room and bedding, great bath, shower and nice toiletries provided, turn down service and chocolates on your pillows a nice touch. Very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. There is a pool, spa, and small gym which we didn't use as it was too wet, free wifi which was great. Breakfast can be served in the dining room or your room and I didn't think the breakfast was as fresh or as good a quality ingredients as other B and Bs we stayed in. Sarlat is such a quaint little village to wander though and the market on the weekend was fantastic.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coorie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Very nice hotel with good staff, excellent location, good for star trips. Convenient to stay on the market day
Luxurious suite with accessories-Bathrobe, slippers, magnifying mirror
Huge and comfortable bed
Room arrangement morning and night
Chocolate on the bed every night
Pleasant stay
We had a great time
It is highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank verey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a nice property well-located just outside the old town and easy walking distance, with good parking although we did not need need the hotel parking and just parked on the street. It is a 5 minute walk down the main road into town and there is a good restaurant on the corner and a self service laundromat opposite this restaurant two minutes down the road (important when travelling with children!) We were in a suite which was the smallest one we stayed in our two and a half week tour of the south but it worked OK. Our girls were 7 and 9- any bigger and two would not fit in the fold out bed in the foyer of the suite where it is located. Once it was folded out there was barely room for their bags so don't choose this room if you want to spend your days in the room relaxing. We were out sightseeing every day. The children loved the pool at the end of a day of touring that is shared with the much cheaper looking hotel adjacent that I think is owned by the same group. We did not purchase the breakfast here as it was served in a small airless and quiet room right off the crowded (its somewhat over furnished) foyer that is really the only place to sit if not on your bed in the room. The concierge was super helpful with organising lost train tickets and booking restaurants even though she was run off her feet as she was the only person there in charge of the hotel. She does a great job! The night light in the cupboard by my bed kept coming on overnight that was very annoying on the first night (I was exhausted having driven there from St Remy, Provence). After getting up, realising there was no on one reception to help in the middle of the night I worked out it had just been taped up with masking tape that had lost its 'stickiness'. There were a couple of tiny little things like that. For example, we also had to ask repeatedly for bath towels for all of us as there were not enough provided, nor were there any by the pool despite being told there where when we asked. All in all, I would try Hotel Madeliene next time but it was so easy to get in and out of the congested town from this location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is such a little gem just outside the medieval city of Sarlat in the Dordogne region of France. The hotel is on the outskirts of the village, an easy walk into the village. We stayed here 7 nights, using the hotel as our base to venture out each day, exploring the region. Great location! We walked into the village each night; discovering two Michelin starred restaurants was a nice surprise! Clos La Boetie was perfect. Lovely room, amenities and turn-down service each night. The only down side was the breakfast for $20 Eu. Skip it. Really. Not much to write home about :~}. The location cannot be beat and the surroundings of the hotel are lovely. Very quiet and serene.

Room Tip: I would imagine they are all great, it's a small hotel. Ours was Montfort (they have names, not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed there in August 2012, and while the service, etc. (and possibly, the rating itself... is the "5 star" sign on the property old?) is not five star, it nonetheless seemed from our walking around Sarlat that La Boetie is one of the best there. The room was very nice (as was the terrace, though it did overlook the busy courtyard with customers from the adjoining hotel able to stare at us while sitting in the jacuzzi); service was inconsistently competent, but eager; and, its location sits just outside of the hustle and bustle of a typical, mid-August downtown Sarlat. However, as to the things one would expect from a five star, they are sorely lacking.

I guess the BIG problem I'll note here is the fact their parking lot was located 2 blocks away, up a steep hill.
And though they offered us the adjoining hotel's indoor lot to park our bicycles, the access to that was either taking the awkward walk through the adjoining the hotel's tiny main lobby past the main desk (with that apologetic smile) to retrieve the bikes, or walking completely around the entire city block to the rear garage door entrance to walk the bikes into the garage. Note: you could not walk the bikes through the lobby, which is completely understandable; but query: why does the three star hotel adjoining the (again, somewhat dubious) five star hotel have the underground, indoor parking lot, while La Boetie clients have to hike to their cars two blocks away? I'm just asking.

Again, this is not to bash the hotel; we truly enjoyed our stay there, and as a 3 or 4 star hotel, I would have given it a "Very Good." As a five star, though??? "Average" at best.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rpierant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.2 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Selves
Hotel de Selves
#23 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
#14 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel La Villa Romaine
Hotel La Villa Romaine
#2 of 3 in Carsac-Aillac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clos La Boetie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clos La Boetie

Property: Clos La Boetie
Address: 95-97, Avenue de Selves, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Clos La Boetie 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CLOS LA BOETIE brings complete harmony with a luxurious, comfortable and romantic setting. It's modernity and peacefulness, provide and added dream-like quality to the discovery of this region of great cultural and gastronomic wealth.Located in the town centre, this charming XIXth century mansion, a genuine haven of peace, offers you accommodation in stylish decor, filled with antique family furniture and rich fabrics of glistening colours.Louis XV, armchairs, marble fire-places, pedestral tables, low fire-side chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clos La Boetie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clos La Boetie Sarlat Canéda
Clos La Boetie France/Sarlat-La-Caneda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing