We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as advertised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel des Recollets
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Avoid this place . It isn't what it says . The WIFI didn't work in our room . We were told to park on the street ( 2.50 every 2 hours ) . No a/c . Staff ( one guy ) was indifferent to the point of rudeness (maybe just the weekend guy ) . The place is a dump .

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdmiller_pcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Hotel des Recollets
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 120 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2011

Wonderful location in a medieval village with lovely restaurants. Loved our "hobbit"hole hotel room with round door. safe car parking but a bit of a walk over uneven ground. The breakfast pastries were stale-go to a local patisserie for coffee and croissants. Staff were neither rude nor friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

we were disappointed with this hotel. the access to the rooms is via very narrow staircase not recommended for anyone with mobility difficulties. the banister was incredibly dirty and decor in hotel if tired. the room was ok but dark , the sheet were ripped. the bath was very high to climb into again not recommended for someone with mobility problems and it was not possible to place the shower attachment onto holder as pipe was too short, which meant showering with shower attachment in hand. we were not allowed to eat breakfast in the courtyard even though it was not raining as lady in charge told us she had said no to everyone else. all staff were very dower. Sarlat is beautiful but don't stay in this hotel if you want a perfect holiday

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie0545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We didn't actually end up staying here but had a terrible experience with the hotel. Due to issues with train scheduling we couldn't arrive until after 9pm and they refused to keep the reception open for a measly extra hour so that we could check in. It shouldn't have been such a problem during peak season. They also refused to refund our payment. The woman on the phone was rude and unreasonable.Do not stay at this hotel.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank spacetraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Great place to stay in Sarlat. In the medieval town. This was our second stay and we'll be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisHayfork_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

I was interested by the mixed reviews of the hotel. Sarlat is a beautiful town and an excellent central location from which to explore the Perigord Noir. This is a very good spot for the visitor seeking a comfortable bed, a good breakfast to start the day and a heritage location in the medieval village. A parking spot can be rented not far from the hotel. The desk staff are courteous. One of the employees seemed a little harried, but I suspect that it had been a long summer. Yes, the hallways are in need of paint, but they get scuffed by all the travellers hauling their suitcases up the narrow stairs. I strongly recommend arriving before dark as the hotel can be difficult to find once the sun sets.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EricOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We had sewer smell coming through the bathroom sink during our stay. Since it was a Sunday, the hotel said they could not get a plumber. Upon departure we asked whether they could offer us a rebate on the room price in order to compensate for our unpleasant experience and they plainly refused.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SavepolarbearsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant St. Albert
Hotel Restaurant St. Albert
#30 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
659 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Remparts
Hotel Les Remparts
#28 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montaigne
Hotel Montaigne
#27 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
167 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Altica Sarlat
Hotel Altica Sarlat
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Recollets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Recollets

Address: 4, Rue J-J. Rousseau | Plein Coeur de la Cite Medievale de Sarlat, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range: $81 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Recollets 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel des Recollets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Recollets Hotel
Hotel Des Recollets France/Sarlat-La-Caneda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing