We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like being at home!”
Review of Le Jardin Sarlat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Jardin Sarlat
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Feels like being at home!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We recently spent 5 nights with Wendy and David, it was nothing short of excellent. This was our first time in a B&B and we were thrilled with the warm reception and local tips.
Le Jardin is located about a 5 minute walk from the centre of Sarlat, very easy access to shops and restaurants.
The rooms and house are very comfortable, clean and warm. There is fantastic reception for the fast wifi. Breakfast every morning is a highlight, each day is a different cooked option; ranging from eggs benedict, cheese on toast to scrambled eggs on toast.
We would recommend this B&B to anyone wanting to use Sarlat as a base for exploring the wider region or Sarlat itself.
Wendy and David are great people who we enjoying chatting with and getting to know.
We unreservedly recommend Le Jardin.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Wyverneers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    25
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
333
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We visited Le Jardin again before Christmas. Mainly because we had stayed previously and know what high standards David & Wendy give to their guests. Yet again they exceeded all expectations. This is no ordinary B&B it is there home which they love to share with their guests. We are house hunting and it was great at the end of the day to share a drink with our hosts whilst telling them our adventures. They gave us plenty of advice and help . Sarlat was buzzing with the Christmas markets and there were plenty of places open to eat and drink. Great time of year to visit as the town is filled with locals who are very friendly. We loved the latest addition of bath robes especially after a soak in the bath. We love this area and will certainly be back until we find the house we are looking for. Hope to see you both again soon and thanks for making our visit a memorable one.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AESH999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

In October 2013 we had an excellent stay of 5 nights at Le Jardin. We stayed in the Milandes bedroom - a bit small but very nice and comfortable. Our hosts David and Wendy were wonderful and gave us great advice on what to see and do in the Dordognes. Breakfasts were tasty, bounteous, and interesting. The grounds are beautiful, relaxing, and peaceful -- a very short, level walk to the medieval part of Sarlat. We had dinner 2 nights on the front porch with local takeout and those were as memorable as the great dinners we had in town. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eleanor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We've stayed twice and thoroughly enjoyed both times. All the excellent comments are true. The best recommendation is the number of returning guests - all a delight as well.
Le Jardin is perfect for visiting the magnificient Sarlat (the old town is exceptional) and as a base for the surrounding area (where no matter which way you look there is a historic castle; or just for relaxing. Wendy and David are perfect hosts.
Yes, we will be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin_and_SallyACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We chose Le Jardin because the B&B looked delightful and (if we stayed for 7 days) they would collect us from Brive Airport - we had no transport. David was at the airport to meet us which started a great holiday.
Wendy and David are attentive and genial hosts (ask about the broom!) and the different daily cooked breakfasts (e.g. Eggs Benedict with homemade Hollandaise Sauce), as well as the buffet, were just perfect.
Le Jardin is a 200 year old property set in a wooded garden which belies the fact that it is only 5 minutes walk from the amazing centre of medieval Sarlat.
We hope to return.
Roy and Wendy - who run a B&B on the Isle of Man

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Boateye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wendy and David are incredible hosts who welcome you a glass of wine! David's breakfasts were a excellent start od the day and Wendy has a wealth of knowledge about the area! The location was good, just a quick 5 min walk to the centre of the old town. There were six of us and all agreed that Le Jardin was the best accommodation . We highly recommend it!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bpostca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howick, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for five nights from the start to the end David and Wendy. we're helpful with points of interest and sites to see.
Helpful with any questions and what a lovely charming B+B and we enjoyed David's breakfast and Wendy's hostess just a great stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Doug1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
636 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
547 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
390 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#8 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
932 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Altica Sarlat
Hotel Altica Sarlat
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jardin Sarlat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin Sarlat

Property: Le Jardin Sarlat
Address: 14 rue du Jardin de Madame, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Jardin is situated in one of the finest locations for a bed and breakfast in the Dordogne. Just a 500 metre level stroll from the very heart of the beautiful medieval town of Sarlat-La Caneda, and yet set in a large tranquil garden with plunge pool.It has 4 lovely ensuite bedrooms 2 of them have baths as well as showers. Complimentary toiletries, hairdryer and free tea/coffee making facilities in all rooms. Free WIFI which works all over the house and equally well in the garden, plus we have a guest PC situated in our guest sitting room for those who dont have their own.We also cater for all dietary requirements.This charming chambres d’hotes is the perfect base for your stay in the Dordogne. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Jardin Sarlat Hotel
Le Jardin Sarlat France/Sarlat-La-Caneda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing